We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 22:00
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Splash White Water Rafting tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Splash White Water Rafting
from US$53.11
More Info
from US$59.75
More Info
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
335
29
3
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
29
3
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river bugging the river great fun stag do wet suits safety briefing these guys fantastic morning big thanks brilliant experience safe hands great guide an adventure great value for money rapids tay kevin
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Having previously done the Tummel (and had immense fun on very high water i.e. white water), we opted to visit Splash to take the kids for their first experience. I'm from the area, so knew that the Tay would be an adventure for the kids. Andy R., our guide, was fantastic with all the kids in our raft (as young as 5) and kept them amused throughout the trip. It was a wonderful experience. The highlight for our two boys (13 and 10 yrs) was 'getting stuck on a rock' while going through Grandtully rapids. They loved it. Thanks to Splash and particularly Andy for an entertaining afternoon. Roll on the day when both boys are 16 yrs old and we can take them down the Tummel.

If you're looking for family fun, the Tay is the place. If you want something slightly more 'white water', book for the Tummel. You'll enjoy it, whatever the weather! (we started out in heavy rain). Great fun from Splash! Thank you.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank dht240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverlife, Owner at Splash White Water Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Hi

Many thanks for trusting Splash with your family day out on the River Tay. Also a return guest from having been on the River Tummel with us.

So that rain dance we have all been doing every night is starting to pay of if you had rain at the start of your trip! We like everyone else love the hot sunny days we have been having but we also need the rain for obvious reasons. Great to hear Andy R looked after you all well we have several Andy's and several Kevin's so we have to use a initial. Look forward to taking your family down the Tummel when they are old enough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I received a gift voucher for white water rafting for my 30th birthday, so i booked with Splash. unfortunately the voucher company had gone bust owing Splash a lot of money.

once i got the voucher thing sorted out, we were good to go. we booked well in advance and chose the tummel rafting, which was meant to be a little more extreme than the river tay.

we arrived to a lovely and amusing welcome from all the guides who were donning hilarious facial hair for the weekend.

there was a large stag do doing the rafting at the same time as our small (4 people) group, which was a little unnerving for the 2 girls. However, our small were put into a raft with a guide and none of the stags.

our guide was very entertaining and although he said he was having an off day, it was really great fun, especially the waterfall near the end.

The only disappointing thing for us was the lack of water. i had called in advance to make sure there would be enough water, given our recent dry spell. the splash rep confirmed that there is always water here due to it being a hydro dam. Unfortunately, the guide was telling us that the power company were not keen to let more water out of the dam - which meant our raft was really slow and getting stuck on shallow rocks.

Overall, highly recommend splash! i would just advise using a "natural" river and maybe when there's been a bit of rain (easy in Scotland) to get the most of the experience.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank CharlieBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverlife, Owner at Splash White Water Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Hi Great that you got your voucher issues sorted out. It seems to be a yearly thing with voucher companies going bust which is unfortunate as many of our guests think the voucher belong to us where in fact the were sold by other companies. We only get paid well after you have been with us if we collect the voucher and submit it to the company and never ever for the face value!

I see the guides were in one of their drag weekends and great that you found amusing, sometimes I wonder what our overseas guest think when they turn up and the guides are in drag!.

It has been a dry summer no doubt about that it it does have an impact on the rivers. On the tummel we have a meeting with the Hydro Board before the season starts and the swear that they release the same water every weekend no matter what the weather conditions. However, experience tells us that it does on occasion change. We hope to negotiate more water from them in the future.

Many thanks for trusting splash with your day out

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My boyfriend and I have had the most amazing morning today canyoning with splash! We had never done it before but love all adrenalin filled activities and we certainly weren't disappointed! We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived at splash & were sorted out with our gear very quickly. Big thanks to Chris our guide who was super knowledgable and gave us a fantastic experience! I was a bit worried i'd get cold but the wetsuit kept me fine and cosy! I wasn't entirely sure what canyoning entailed but climbing, sliding down rocks and jumping into plunge pools definitely kept the adrenalin going from start to finish! We enjoyed it so much we're coming back next week! Thanks again, Lyndsey & Stewart xx

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank PinkPenguin87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverlife, Owner at Splash White Water Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Hi Guys

Great to hear that Chris looked after you guys in the Canyon and that you had a great time. Canyon is a bit strange for those who have never done it to understand what it is all about but the vast majority who give it a go love it and want to do more. We have guests in Canyons in Scotland, Spain and Morocco and although all different feedback is good. Off to explore some more in Jordan this winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Myself and my girlfriend went rafting on the River Tummel with Splash on the 7th July. The guides were welcoming and friendly. The introduction and safety was very useful and the trip itself great fun starting with some smaller rapids and gradually building to the final water fall. Kevin our guide was really helpful and friendly and definately made the trip more enjoyable. We would definately recommend the trip and company to anyone considering it. We will definately be looking to book other activities with them in the future.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Brooms263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverlife, Owner at Splash White Water Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Many thanks for trusting Splash with your groups rafting trip on the River Tummel and also for taking the time to write a few notes about it. It is great to hear the feedback that your group had a great day out and Kevin looked after you.

Look forward to seeing you on another Splash adventure in Scotland or abroad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

This canyon is an absolute must for Splash goers. The canyon itself is incredibly beautiful and really takes your breath away in the moments when you just stop and look around you. The canyoning activities are brilliant fun, with long slides, jumps and abseils keeping you entertained. As ever, the excellent guides keep you safe, confident and deliver an excellent experience, regardless of your level of skill or nerve!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank 185jenniferm185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverlife, Owner at Splash White Water Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

No doubt about it Acharn Canyon does require our guest to have a wee bit more nerve and also trust in us as we know it can be intimidating. However, as you experienced it rewards those that attempt it in spades. Many thanks for stepping up and having a go and great that you had a canyon experience to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews