We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 22:00
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Splash White Water Rafting tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Splash White Water Rafting
from US$53.13
More Info
from US$59.77
More Info
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
335
29
3
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
29
3
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river bugging the river great fun stag do wet suits safety briefing these guys fantastic morning big thanks brilliant experience safe hands great guide an adventure great value for money rapids tay kevin
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Sunday 2nd July, 13:00 start.

So we were a stag party group and my best man did the pre-organisation bit; which from what he told me was always professional and timely, no matter the query or time of day. Our splash arranged minibus arrived on-time and collected us swiftly from Edinburgh Haymarket without a hitch.

The guides were super organised at getting us kitted out in gear, (that was well looked after too) and covering safety briefings.

But let's be honest you really want to know what the rafting was like. :-)

Our guides Bonnie and Jen, were an absolute stars! (Pete, give those girls a pay rise!) Our group was made up of bodies ( I mean bodies at this point... it was a stag do ) that had a range of confidence levels in the water and Bonnie (whom was captain of the rig) ensured we all got the most out of the trip. Jen made sure that no-one stayed dry and that all rules were enforced! :-)

The River Tay is a calm river so I'd suggest to groups wanting a more of a "Meryl Streep, River Wild" experience should book to do the River Tummel, but this didn't stop us having a lot of fun and anyone with a group complete novices/aquaphobes should be fine in my opinion, on the Tay.

We were never bored; banter was always in good supply and although we had a couple of team members who were very nervous I think Bonnie and Jen have won them over to white water rafting.

Definitely the best day of the stag trip, Thank you girls !

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank RocketDog_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverlife, Owner at Splash White Water Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a wee review and let us know how the Stag event went. Sounds like everyone had a great time and Jen and Bonnie made sure all the abilities in the group were looked after. Many thanks for trusting Splash with your stag event, we know these events can be challenging for you to organise and we try hard to help. Hope to see you in our Splash world in Scotland or overseas in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

The experience began with the initial telephone contact to book the rafting. Staff were very friendly and professional. Email confirmations were sent when they said they would be and detailed everything you need to know from what to wear to where to go. The staff even called the week of the booking to confirm numbers.
On arrival at the river we were greeted by staff and shown all the safety equipment/ rafting gear. A couple of small points to note: there are no changing rooms. There is a van for girls to change in if they wish and nothing for guys. This didn't bother me and my group at all but it may bother some. The other slight negative point is that we had to wait on 2 people (who never showed) as they were part of the same booking slot. This meant it ate into our actual rafting time. Nice of the staff to give those people a chance but negatively impacted us as a result.
After getting suited up the verbal training was funny and informative in equal measures. Ours was delivered by James (a big lad with a brilliant dark sense of humour!)
After this came the actual rafting. Half of my group went with James while my half got Big Ian. Big Ian is appropriately named - a big lad capable of carrying half the raft single-handed (took me and a mate struggling to carry the other half) From the moment we pushed off into the river it was clear we were in professional hands. Ian went over the basics, ran through some drills then ensured we knew the instructions before hitting every rapid. He was also a nice friendly guy who chatted away to us in the raft during calmer waters. A good day made better with a good guide.
At the end of the session you carry your boat back out the river, get dried, changed and go. Photgraphs of your session are taken along the way and uploaded to the rafting website for you to download - a nice touch!
In a nutshell: great day, great staff (from initial call to rafting), great photos, great experience (which we plan to repeat).

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Judgemental_Jedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverlife, Owner at Splash White Water Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Sounds like you were on the River Tummel at Pitlochry as our changing rooms are at the River Tay at Aberfeldy. Sounds like Ian look after you well and you had a good day on the River Tummel. Sorry about the delay with the other customers not showing. I am afraid that does happen on occasion, we do call and give people a chance to make the booking time as sometimes people take the wrong turn or get held in traffic but on this occasion they were no shows and not answering our calls. Many thanks for trusting Splash with your adventure and we hope to see you again maybe in the canyons or on teh river bugs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We spent a day with Splash end of June, canyoning in the morning and water rafting in the afternoon. James, Alex and Bonnie was a great team ensuring our safety and lots of fun. Canyoning is definitely for those looking for adrenaline rush! Although my daughter and I sat out a couple of the last jumps bc the water was too cold, we had fun and it's definitely an experience to talk about.
We did rafting in the afternoon with them again and Alex was our guide. It was great fun and we wish it could be a longer ride. They provide free photos for us to download after the trip which is a bonus.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Mrs_Buffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverlife, Owner at Splash White Water Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Great to hear that the family had a good fun adventure day with the Splash team and that the canyoning and rafting provided all the thrills and spills you were looking for. Many thanks for trusting Splash with your family adventure day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Went Canyoning with Splash at Aberfeldy. We had the best experience ever thanks to our brilliant guides Jen and Bonnie! A little bit terrifying but wholly exhilarating, left us feeling high and happy with a real sense of achievement! Superb!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank MJBo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverlife, Owner at Splash White Water Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Fantastic that you enjoyed your canyoning experience with Splash and our guides Jen and Bonnie. Many thanks for trusting Splash with your adventure and for letting us know how it went.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic day yesterday in the pouring rain. We were meant to be canyoning but due to the river level we were switched to river bugging on the Tummell.
The switch in activity left us a little disappointed at the time, but our guides - Andy and Avers - came up with a plan B which didn't disappoint. We headed back to the centre to load up with some river bugs and headed straight back out, it was seemless.
With the rivers so high there was plenty of white water for us to drop down. Awesome experience and not an activity I would have thought to book previously. Will definitely do again!
We had a mixed ability group but our guides managed to keep us all engaged at our own levels. Everybody left with a big grin on their faces!
Our guides were excellent - friendly and experienced. Andy even managed to make the safety talk fun!
My 2 teenage boys (13,14) had a ball - we are going back tomorrow for the rafting:-)

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank richarddP1494BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverlife, Owner at Splash White Water Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Great to hear that the team came up with a solution that ensured everyone had a great adventure day out. The splash team are trained not to take any chances with the canyons if the water level is too high and hence the change of plan. Hope the rafting was a blast as well. Many thanks for trusting Splash with your adventure day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews