We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyable weekend!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant

The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 32 Restaurants in Aberfeldy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Arriving in Aberfeldy for a girlie "spa" weekend, we popped into the Black Watch and ended up spending most of our time there! The weather was fantastic so their beer garden which caught the sun all day was fab. The staff and the regulars made us feel really welcome and were very friendly. We had lunch outside on our second day and can't fault it. Will def be visiting the next time we are in Aberfeldy. Thanks everyone, Tracey and Sharon :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traceytheblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a good weekend away and that the sun was out for you to enjoy our beer garden. It also pleases us to hear you were made to feel welcome while here and that you also enjoyed your lunch with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    139
    52
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a salad meal, but the only salad was the crayfish salad starter, so we asked the young waitress if we could have 2 of these but in main course versions. However, 2 starter portions were brought by the restaurant manager, who said she didn't know we'd asked for larger ones. She took them away and brought them back with more crayfish but very little salad at all - a bit of lettuce under the fish, 2 pieces of tomato and 2 slices of cucumber. When we got the bill later, we saw we had been charges for 2 'catch of the day' at £5 more than the crayfish each! When we queried this, we were told crayfish were very expensive. But I argued that we had paid extra for a side order of new potatoes and a main course would have had vegetables included, and the 'salad' (what we really wanted) was minimal! She did agree to reduce the price and we were happy with what we eventually paid, but this blatant attempt to fleece the tourist left a nasty taste.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tourmaline118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I would like to start by saying it is never our intention to 'fleece the tourist' , we aim to provide good quality food at reasonable prices for locals and tourists alike. I have looked into this matter and it appears you requested two starters for your main meal, we get this a lot as some people like a small portion of food so can maybe have a dessert to finish, had you said you would like two crayfish starters to be made up as main meals then we would have doubled the portions and obviously also the prices. It appears to just be a misunderstanding which our waiting staff immediately rectified. If you come again then just ask if the kitchen team can do a salad for you as we always try, whenever possible, to give the customer what they want. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great to mingle with the locals who are all very friendly. You must book at the restaurant otherwise you miss out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank strudel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks for your review, we are glad you had a good time mixing with our friendly locals and hope to see you again in the future. It is not always necessary to book but always advise to do so during the summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We went into the public bar and were more then a little disappointed by the general decour and ambience. The bar lady was not very friendly and did not want to be engaged in conversation. However we then went into the The Croft restaurant and what a difference. The decour was very welcoming as were the friendly and attentive staff. We ordered the roast of the day. Three of us had the beef and my wife the chicken. The food, with full marks to the chef, was very pleasantly presented. It was fresh, hot and very well cooked and filling. The sweets were delicious and freshly made. I can recommend the apple strudel and the sticky toffee pudding. the bill for four with wine, a G&T and 4 beers was a shade over £15 per head which was worth every penny. Our young waitress was lovely and took pride in her very attentive waitressing skills. Over all a very pleasant experience which we will repeat when we return in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Sgt411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Many thanks for your review, we were sorry to hear you didn't feel very welcome in our public bar, all of our staff are usually very friendly and attentive as you found out in the restaurant, we will look into the reason for this and can only assume the bar lady was busy. It pleases us to hear you enjoyed your meal and found our prices to be very reasonable and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent,will defo call back when in the area again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very pleasent waiting & bar staff,very helpfull. The food was amazing & the sticky toffee pudding is to die for,we will defo be calling back to this establishment

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Selina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your dining experience with us. It pleases us to hear you were happy with your meal and were made to feel welcome by our staff. Our homemade sticky toffee pudding is probably our best selling dessert so is always very popular. We hope to see you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing