We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 32 Restaurants in Aberfeldy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Black Watch Inn and Croft Restaurant is Aberfeldys oldest bar which serves food daily in either the bar, restaurant or outside seating area.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Loved the restaurant. Food was fresh and home made. It was very busy and we hadn't booked but they told us to sit in the bar and wait and they would come and get us when they had a table available. We only waited 10 minutes to get a table. The staff where all lovely and the food was great. Would defo go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suzisiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Many thanks for your review. We always advise booking , especially during the summer season , but are happy to hear you did not have to wait too long for a table on this occasion, hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    155
    55
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food , outstanding service .”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

On Friday the 8th of August along with my wife , daughter and grandson , we were treated to one of the best nights we have ever had .
From the minute we were shown to the table till the minute we left the restaurant .
The staff were very welcoming and friendly , but not intrusive .
My wife and myself chose steak as our main course , done to perfection for the both of us , my daughters choice of haddock , again was an excellent choice , and then our grandson .
Well his choice was a big surprise to everyone , Tuna steak (he is only 6years old) which he consumed with delight .
The dessert menu then followed , and after a period of time to savour the main course we were presented with a choice that can only be described as magnificent .

To summarise ,
Service was friendly , warm and professional .
Food quality and choice , excellent .
Drinks , plenty of choice .
Value overall 5 star .
We will certainly use The Black Watch Restaurant again and we are more than happy to highly recommend it .
George , Janice , Karoline and Dillon
Glasgow .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for your kind comments, they have put a smile on the faces of all of our team here. We aim to provide a great overall dining experience to all of our customers and to receive such positive feedback is lovely to hear. We hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Value on Steak Night”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We happened to drop in to the Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant on "Steak Night".

So that's what we ordered. And it was good value for an honest pub meal.

The décor and atmosphere are great and we had an enjoyable time.

The service was good too.

Would be happy to go back one day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Many thanks for your positive feedback, our Friday steak night is always very busy and we are happy to hear you had a good time. We look forward to your return in the foreseeable future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely ”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are just back from a few days in aberfeldy and love the black watch! Beer garden is lovely and food is nice! Service is excellent! Will be returning next summer.

Helpful?
Thank Fionah-25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for your review, we are so glad to hear you had a lovely holiday and were made to feel welcome here and , in our sister pub, The Fountain Bar. We look forward to your return next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We ate in the croft for my birthday meal with my 3 children ! The meal was lovely with plenty on our plates , the staff were great with the kids when asked if we could add extra to their meals ! Restaurant was fairly busy but didn't have to wait long for a meals! Staff were very friendly & attentive , nothing we asked was a problem to them !
We have eaten here a few times now & have never had any problems & always recommend to friends !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babs855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are happy to hear your family enjoyed their meal and the kids were well looked after. It is always nice to hear when any of our customers give us their recommendation and that you are a regular diner yourself, many thanks and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing