We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely coffee & cakes and great wool shop too!”
Review of Karelia House

Karelia House
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Aberfeldy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: We are a family run craft and coffee shop based in-between Aberfeldy and Kenmore. We have a large selection of Yarns, Quilting Fabrics, Brother Sewing Machines and accessories. Our Coffee Shop sells a lovely variety of Homemade Cakes and light lunches which are locally sourced. Last orders in our cafe are 3pm Monday to Saturday and our Winter Hours are as advertised.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a family run craft and coffee shop based in-between Aberfeldy and Kenmore. We have a large selection of Yarns, Quilting Fabrics, Brother Sewing Machines and accessories. Our Coffee Shop sells a lovely variety of Homemade Cakes and light lunches which are locally sourced. Last orders in our cafe are 3pm Monday to Saturday and our Winter Hours are as advertised.
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely coffee, delicious fresh scones (still warm) and my daughter loved the chocolate and smarties biscuit. All served with beautiful views and friendly staff.

Really great Wool shop too with some great sale bargains.
Highly recommended.

1  Thank Harriet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KareliaHouse, Owner at Karelia House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

So glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to review - always appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Karelia House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent the day here yesterday at one of Karelia House's courses - a felt workshop by Canadian artist, Jennifer Budd - and what a fabulous day!
The food is lovely and special effort was made for vegan diet, the soup and homebaking are out of this world. The staff are so kind, taking extra time to advise on any aspect of the crafts (yarn, sewing, etc) that they sell in the shop.
Karelia House is warm, welcoming and an Aladdin's cave of craft goodies.

I highly recommend the day courses at this small piece of heaven and want to thank Kaye and her staff for making our day out so special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SunnyDay203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KareliaHouse, Owner at Karelia House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

It was a wonderful workshop - Jennifer is very talented and will be back. Thank you so much for the review and I hope you will continue to enjoy our workshops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great café bar, comfortable seating, warm and bright and one of the best stocked shops I have seen. A good modern feel

1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Happened upon this place on a drive round from Aberfeldy to Kenmore.

So glad we dropped in the place is a dream for anyone who likes to get involved in any form of craft work particularly needlework and tapestry etc

If we had not long had breakfast then we most certainly would have sampled the delights of the coffee shop. The homemade cakes etc on display took a LOT of discipline to ignore!!

Thank ScotlandFramed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KareliaHouse, Manager at Karelia House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for your kind review. We look forward to your visit again and maybe we can tempt you with our lovely selection of homemade cakes and Helen's delicious Scones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Fabby coffee and our scone was fresh and home made served with home made raspberry jam. We sat on soft leather sofas in front of a log fire, doesn't get much better on a cold wet winter's day! Definitely would go back next time we are in the area.

Thank LynneMorris2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KareliaHouse, Manager at Karelia House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for your kind feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit - hopefully the weather will be more kind next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karelia House also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Karelia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing