We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing 2nd stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Cottage
Island Pond
Outdoor wood burning sauna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kath B
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing 2nd stay”
Reviewed 8 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Well what can I say this cottage is amazing ,this was our 2nd stay at the ferry and what a difficult year it has been for us this was the tonic we much needed picture this ,chocolate box cottage stunning ,sat in a jacuzzi sipping your favoured tipple over looking the river Tay with the sauna close at hand bliss,the cottage is fitted with every thing you could possibly want ,if you want a truly chill out this is the place to be ,we adore this place and have booked our 3 stay next year can't wait .

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.Always nice to have repeat business as it means we are doing something right.
Looking forward to seeing you again next year.
All the best
John and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fi-W-Scot...
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful wee corner of Perthshire”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Spent a fabulous three nights at Ferry Cottage at start of December 2017. About 3 miles from Aberfeldy this cottage is perfectly placed for a good range of days out with lovely walks, followed by cosy quiet evenings back at base. Despite the freezing weather the cottage was really cosy and both the log fire and the hot tub made it even more so. We didn’t try the sauna but only because we were so chilled we didn’t want to move. The cottage is right on the banks of the river and nothing beats sitting in the hot tub in the dark watching the stars and listening to the birds. Just perfect. Cottage is really well equipped with two double bedrooms and two bathrooms, a lounge with open fire and a big dining room with wood burning stove and snooker table. John is just next door if you need him but not remotely intrusive. You could easily forget there’s a house next door.

No hesitation in recommending. Had a lovely relaxing time and hope to be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are glad you enjoyed everything and hope the next time that you can use the sauna- nothing beats a log fired sauna.
Kind regards
John and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oh, what a beautiful place !!!”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just spent an absolutely great 3 nights at 'The Ferry House'.
The moment we arrive John (the owner) was there to introduce himself, show us around the cottage and then the gardens (explaining how everything worked - in fine detail).
On the occasion when I couldn't get the fire lighted in the sauna, John was easily contactable and resolved the issue in seconds (great peace of mind to have him living so close to the cottage).
Also felt that the bottle of complimentary wine and carafe of whisky were great touches.
Location of the cottage was spot on, right on the banks of the River Tay - total peace and quiet (plus lots of great countryside to see).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We aim to stay out of the way as much as possible but always on hand to help out should the need arise.
Hope to see you again.
kind regards
John and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIANScotl...
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just returned from a short break feeling very rested. The whole place and facilities were perfect. Spent time fishing, using the immaculately clean hot tub, also impressed by the wood fired sauna. Lovely surrounding land and walks. And to finish it off at the end of the evening with an open fire or woodburning fire, sublime. John the owner was very welcoming and very busy. We would well recommend this place to people, we go away on breaks a lot and this one has been our favourite so far. Thank you John and Ursula for a fantastic break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We strive hard to keep our cottage and grounds in the best possible condition and have now had new windows fitted to kitchen to improve things.
Glad you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again.
Regards
John and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful tranquil cottage”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just returned from 3 night stay at this wonderful cottage. The setting, right on the banks of the silvery River Tay, is sublime. The cottage is so well equipped that all you need to take is some food, drinks and a bathing suit for the hot tub and sauna. The owner, John, is always on hand if needed otherwise you would never know he was in the next door cottage. He keeps the grounds absolutely beautifully and the hot tub and sauna are pristine. We had such a lovely relaxing time there. Lots of movies, books, and games for those rainy days - although we didn't have any. Kitchen has all the utensils you need and the bathrooms even have liquid soap, body lotion, cotton buds, make up remover pads etc. Never had that detail out with a hotel. So much though has gone into looking after the guests. The log fire just add to the lovely atmosphere. Nearby Aberfeldy is lovely and a walk up the Birks of Aberfeldy is a must. Although quite steep, it is well worth it, the waterfalls are stunning. Our wee do loved it too!
We will be returning and next time with friends so they can share this special place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your amazing review, it makes all the hard work worth it. We are glad you enjoyed all the facilities including our new hot tub.
Hopefully we will see you again.
Regards
John and Ursula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
696victor...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant short break”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just returned from a 3 night stay, 2 adults and our well behaved labradoodle, the cottage is lovely set by the river Tay in beautiful surroundings, very clean and had everything you need, hot tub was really good as was the fire pit and garden area, pool table was brilliant fun, loads of walks in surrounding area also aberfeldy very dog friendly in pubs and cafes, will definatly be returning for another break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thanks for your fantastic review. Glad you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again.
regards
John and Ursula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiggy1907
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Blissful Cottage Retreat”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed for my husband's big birthday. The cottage is so romantic.. fireplace/wood burning stove.The rooms are spotlessly clean. The cottage setting by the banks of the Tay with lots of private ground are just what you need to relax and chill. The hot-tub and sauna are the icing on the cake.

We took our two well behaved labradors. There are lots of breathtaking walks locally and Aberfeldy has lots of lovely coffee shops. Everything is also open on a Sunday.

I can't recommend the cottage enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you chose our cottage for your husband's big birthday and that you enjoyed all the facilities and the new hot tub. We look forward to seeing you later again in the year.
Kind regards
John and Ursula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing