We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent HOtel”
Review of Schiehallion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schiehallion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a warm welcome
We were very impressed with our deluxe double room bath and shower were brilliant
We didn't have dinner in hotel as the eating area is not separated from the bar with the football on tv bit too loud for us
The hotel was spotless the bed was very comfortable
Our breakfast was served very quick and was excellent
The only blip was the wifi was not working properly seems to be an ongoing prob
The above was our only complaint 9 and a half out of ten
We will definitely be back and will recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is a hotel were you can get everything.Excellent rooms,a pub just down the stairs,a very nice little village and an amazing landscape around the village.Good food in the pub. In the morning you get a very good breakfast.We can really recommened this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pialil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had an overnight stay in the Schiehallion with our two little grandaughters, and had a large, comfortable family room with a bed settee for the children to sleep in, which was spacious and very comfortable. The room was front-facing and had two windows, so was light and had interesting views of the village. We all enjoyed a first class, freshly cooked breakfast from a varied menu, served by a friendly and helpful member of staff.The hotel was bright and clean and our room had all the facilities we could wish for, and the price was very reasonable. We will certainly return to this delightful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We arrived in Aberfeldy having walked over 20 miles from Kinloch Rannoch and we were tired and looking forward to a bit of luxury. We arrived and were a bit worried that it looked like a pub and there were a number of men who looked a little worse for wear standing outside smoking. We entered fearing the place may be a little rough, but needn't have worried. Staff greeted us kindly and showed me to our rooms, which were fantastic. This has obviously all been done up recently in a modern style with nice bedding, fantastic bathrooms and a nice lounge area for general use with fruit out in bowls. The rooms are quite warm.
We ate in the pub downstairs and the food was good, filling and very good value.
There is a little noise from the pub in the rooms, but it didn't disturb us. We could hear the people next door to our room through a stud partition wall; this wasn't a problem for us, but could be with different guests.
The breakfast was amazing - so much to eat and such lovely staff.
They kindly stored our heavy packs in the cellar for the day for us whilst we explored the town before picking them up in the evening.
This was one of the nicest nights we had in our two weeks trekking around Scotland and I would definitely recommend it and go back myself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Aberfeldy is a beautiful part of Perthshire and the hotel is well positioned and handy for all local amenities. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. The hotel rooms were clean and tidy with good furnishings and we would consider coming again as long as we booked a non attic room further away from the bar (see blow) or on a non football season weekend.
Wifi was off most of the time so making it difficult to look up places of interest, the man in the bar rebooted twice on request, but outside opening hours it was off all the time.
Parking is on street and we had to park a distance away and carry our cases back, since found out there is a public car a little nearer..
Room allocated was in the attic with a tiny window looking onto a building site, meant having to kneel on floor and look up and to the side to get a view.
Very hot and uncomfortable, could not keep window open as the Hotel had a rowdy pub below full of drunken football supporters.
There was a continual flow of smokers standing underneath our windows shouting and arguing and the stench of smoke flowing in our window was unbearable before we closed it. For just under £200 for two nights we expected a lot better for my wife's birthday treat and believe this particular room should be at a budget price only. Photos show two lage windows and a bath as well as shower, we had neither, hence unrealistic photos.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in room 9 or any attic room above smokers from pub below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Renovated in Dec 12, this hotel is still nice and fresh and new. Our room was spacious and light, with windows that open to provide fresh air. The bathroom was a great size and the shower the best we have had in three weeks in the UK. The large heated towel rail should be great for drying clothes during the colder weather.

Staff were extremely helpful , both in the hotel (even printing out our airline boarding passes) and the friendly local bar downstairs. Food is good - prices about average.

There is no onsite parking - but free parking is available across the street.

WiFi is a bit weak on the 2nd floor - but works fine down in the bar.

Have a walk in the Aberfeldy Birks ( go up the left side for the best views) while you are there - you might see red squirrels :-)

Also check out the Dewars Aberfeldy Distillery, or take a short drive to Kenmore and the Castle - stop to look at the local version of Stonehenge (N56 36.111 W3 57.622) on the way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The room we stayed in was really nice. It was very warm due to the weather but the staff put in a fan and switched it on for us, also thank goodness the skylight was opened.

Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, decent breakfast, I would have been quite happy to stay here a couple more nights but the price was at the top of my range.

The bar was a bit of a contrast to the hotel but the prices were cheap and pool was only 50p a game.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MulchyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
0.3 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,792 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
1 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
296 reviews
0 mi away
Station House
Station House
#4 of 19 in Aberfeldy
146 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schiehallion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schiehallion Hotel

Address: 6 Dunkeld Street | Tigh na Braich, Aberfeldy PH15 2AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range: £77 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schiehallion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now locally owned and managed, after an extensive renovation programme we are delighted to open the doors of the Schiehallion Hotel and extend a warm welcome to our guests. We offer a range of spacious ensuite rooms furnished to a standard expected of 4-star accommodation. With a lively bistro and Bar atmosphere, our Hotel provides the ideal base to explore the Aberfeldy area. Highland Perthshire has so much to offer whether your're visiting castles, distilleries or enjoying the great outdoors walking, golfing, fishing, cycling or even trying your hand at an adrenaline activity such as white water rafting or bungee jumping ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Schiehallion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiehallion Hotel Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing