We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation”
Review of Schiehallion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schiehallion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Booked this hotel at the last minute and it had clearly had a recent facelit. The rooms were very tastefully done up with nice little touches. Staff were lovely and the breakfast was of a very high standard. All in all a great place to stay. Thank-you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    33
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
84
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberlour, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stopped here on Hogmanay as a last minute booking and were immediately made very welcome. Excellent service, good food and brilliant room. Just cannot speak highly enough of our stay from start to finish. We will definitely be repeat residents!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGiftFromScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with my husband. Room was huge and spotless. Bathroom wow. Huge bathtub and walk in shower. Staff very friendly. Access from rooms straight to bar so you don't even need to go outside. Couldn't fault this hotel at all. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay25823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geordie land
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Phoned to make a late booking after being let down at the last moment by another local hotel. The staff (Monty) cheerfully rearranged room bookings to give us two nights in the same room. Room and ensuite was brand new and very comfortable. Breakfast excellent, all staff very friendly and would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 8 only has a small window due to roof pitch and therefor does not receive a lot of natural ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank col-sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend getaway , quite a find !
Room was clean and very comfortable , great breakfast and superb evening in bar with local singer providing entertainment was great fun and very reasonably priced , would recommend if anyone wanted a quiet stay !

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rhsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Schiehallion was a great overnight stop. Perched at the end of the main street of Aberfeldy, the place looks like a fairly standard country town boozer. Inside is a bit like the Tardis, everything is a bit bigger and better. The rooms have all been renovated and the outcome is a success. Great beds, great bathrooms and all the normal facilities you look for.
We were there on the weekend of the local Games, and we thought that downstairs would be noisy and unbearable. It was a pleasant surprise to find that it was a wee bit loud, but very bearable. We enjoyed a very good dinner, surrounded by young men in kilts and hoodies, or full highland dress. Upstairs again, and the noise from the bar faded away and the room was very enjoyable.
Just one little thing. When its a bit cool and drizzly, the smokers still have to go outside, and outside takes them straight under some of the room windows. Not a huge issue, but it would have been nice to have the window open that night. Overall - great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartMac1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Recently refurbished to a good standard, this was a very comfortable 2 night stay in Sept 2013. Friendly staff. Pub food better that average, breakfast good with plenty of choice. Bar area a bit off-putting in terms of clientele early in evening but better once meals got under way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
0.3 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,531 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
91 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,238 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Errichel House and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schiehallion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schiehallion Hotel

Property: Schiehallion Hotel
Address: 6 Dunkeld Street | Tigh na Braich, Aberfeldy PH15 2AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Schiehallion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now locally owned and managed, after an extensive renovation programme we are delighted to open the doors of the Schiehallion Hotel and extend a warm welcome to our guests. We offer a range of spacious ensuite rooms furnished to a standard expected of 4-star accommodation. With a lively bistro and Bar atmosphere, our Hotel provides the ideal base to explore the Aberfeldy area. Highland Perthshire has so much to offer whether your're visiting castles, distilleries or enjoying the great outdoors walking, golfing, fishing, cycling or even trying your hand at an adrenaline activity such as white water rafting or bungee jumping ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Schiehallion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiehallion Hotel Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing