We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coshieville House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 19 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend, both in our mid to late 20s, stayed here for one night on our tour around Scotland. With a postcode the B&B was easy to find and there was plenty of parking. We were welcomed by Cathy who showed us to our room and gave us a fantastic tip for dinner (the courtyard in Kenmore). We were impressed by our double ensuite room, it was beautifully decorated, clean and had the added bonus of tv and tea making facilities! The bed was ridiculously comfortable, we had trouble getting up for breakfast in the morning. Fortunately we did, as the food was delicious! A vast choice, which included the usual fryup but add to this fresh fruit, porridge, smoked salmon and eggs amongst others, we were full until dinner!! In short however I would happily recommend this for a nights stay or longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nice house, there is a kitchen for guests although the owner doesn't make you feel like you should use it too much. When I booked the owner sounded nice, when we arrived within 20 mins we wanted to leave. She is very abrupt, matter of fact, made us feel watched and unwelcome. Told me to stop the kids from moving about the lower half of the house and keep them quiet in case we disturb anyone (only saw one other couple and the kids were 1 and 3yrs)! The breakfasts were OK, not great. Porridge was thick and cold, my sons scrambled eggs were like rubber. She pressed us for a time for breakfast as soon as we arrived, the next morning at the table our breakfast came 25 mins late by which time the kids were fractous. Late breakfast the next morning too. Constantly felt watched and unwelcome, thank god her husband was a nice friendly man that was the only thing that made our stay bareable. Worst experience in a b&b to date. There was also an altrication with the price, ended up paying twice what I was expecting. Go somewhere else where they want your business.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoshievilleHouse, Owner at Coshieville House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

In response to this review we feel compelled to present our version of this family's stay and address all of the criticisms made.
The family arrived with the father in the early stages of what appeared to be food poisoning and the mother with a bad cold and the children presented - not as the 'baby & 2 year old' that was stated when booking but as a boisterous 1 year old toldler and an 'energetic' 3 year old.
The father took to his bed and remained there until the mornong of depature leaving the mother to deal with the children.
Unfortunately she only took her children out for a total of 2 hours in the whole of their stay - the rest of the time they were left to behave in the way that bored, active, poorly supervised young children do.
I did not ask the mother to stop her kids moving around , but rather to stop them running around from room to room slamming glass doors between them out of regard for their safety (as our house is not toddler proofed) as well as for the comfort of other guests - of which there was 10 and not just a couple as stated in the review.
The kitchen is provided for guests use and many enjoy making up packed lunches and preparing evening meals. This family however used it constantly during the day for lunch and snacks making it difficult for other guests to use.
Regarding the breakfasts we can only say that our breakfasts recently scored a five star rating by visit Scotland quality assurance and have received nothing by praise by other guests. Timing is a puzzle as we constantly monitor guests at breakfast to ensure their cooked options are delivered freashly cooked at the appropriate time for them. This is even more important to us when children are involved as we don't want their parents or other guests to be disturbed by hungry or bored youngsters.
On the 1st morning we offered this family an early departure without paying for the 2nd night as we appreciated the father would probably be more comfortable in his own bed at home. This offer was turned down which questions the comment about wanting to leave with 20 minutes of arrival.
The confusion over pricing was entirely the mother's fault. I clearly stated the price was £75 for 2 nights when she booked over the phone and this is shown also backed up on our website in the tariffs section. Clearly a family of 4 staying for 2 nights in July would be more that £37.50 per night in total!
We feel the comments of being 'un welcoming and Abrupt' were unfair especially when this family had a total disregard for the comfort of other guests and our house itself.
Unfortunately this whole experience has caused us to change our policy with regard to young children out of the concern for the majority of our guests who come here for to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing stay. We will no longer be accepting children under 5 year old.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Amazing place, gorgeous food and very welcoming . Stayed Wednesday till Saturday morning and will defo be back . Breakfasts are to die for. Great kitchen for making your own food as well . He loved the Black Watch flooring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzziiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The house was very clean and very welcoming. We were lucky enough to get room 1. The room with its own balcony. The room was beautiful and fresh. The bed is massive, a family of 4 could all sleep in it. The views from the balcony at evening sunset were stunning and again first thing in the morning with the mist rolling down the glen. A very nice touch was the pieces of cake that was on the table with the tea and coffee in the room. The breakfast was first class with a great choice to get stuck into. The full Scottish was superb and it beat me and my partner into submission.
Thank you very much for an unforgettable stay at your wonderful house.
In the words of Arnie; " I'll be back " .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsladShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights as I was attending a local cake decorating course in Kenmore.

I was on my own and just arrived off a flight from Australia so was keen for a quick check in and warm shower. The B&B was easy to find, parking available and I was greeted quickly and warmly (despite some of the unfortunate reviews on here) and shown to my room, given my key and a demonstration of the tv then asked to fill in the breakfast form before heading out for dinner.

The room was clean, large and the bathroom floor nice and warm (i think the hot water pipes must run under there). I had a great sleep and woke up to an amazing breakfast! I only wish i'd had more room in my tummy!

The area is beautiful, only downside was having to drive into Kenmore for dinner at night as there is no where you can walk too, but it's very very close. I'd definately stay here again and recommend it to others - as I said in the title - if only for the breakfast!

Angus the dog is super friendly and always up for a pat :) and I entirely love the boxes for putting dirty shoes in!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korinamcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed in this guest house mid august, booked a twin room for 2 nights after reading all the previous reviews! couldn't agree with them more. This place was excellent, excellent location but also excellent service. Lovely room, spaceous and great to have tv with built in dvd player especially as they have a wide variety of dvds for you to borrow! Breakfast was brilliant and you'd never go hungry - lots of fresh fruit and yoghurt and also a choice of hot food. They have a guest lounge which had comfy sofas and a wide variety of books, cds, dvds and games! Also having the guest kitchen meant we could leave things in the fridge to make up packed lunches - however they do also provide these which we hadn't realised until we arrived. Really lovely guest house, would definitely return and recommend to all!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Reading the other reviews we note that there is an abundance of "excellent" and we agree! We wanted to enjoy a B&B in the country and this was a perfect choice. It is a lovely old home and the room we had was quite spacious with a large modern bathroom. There really isn't much we can say that hasn't already been said. We were well looked after, breakfast was very good and suggestions on where to go and what to see pointed us on the road to some lovely scenery and stops along the way. Well worth a stop....!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
2.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
923 reviews
5.0 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,747 reviews
9.8 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
726 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
103 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coshieville House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coshieville House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Coshieville by Aberfeldy Perthshire, Aberfeldy PH15 2NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range: £78 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coshieville House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Coshieville House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coshieville House Bed & Breakfast Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing