We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Checheks

Checheks
Ranked #16 of 32 Restaurants in Aberfeldy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spotted this place tucked in beside the Tourist Information and enjoyed a takeaway from here, takeaway menu was mostly kebabs etc but owner was very obliging and we were able to get something from the main menu to take away.

Food was nice, a bit different to the sort of thing you find in the average Scottish town though I did feel my dish was mostly rice and split peas and not enough meat and aubergine.

Kebabs looked good, with flat bread made on the premises - but not so easy to eat!

If it was in London it would probably be 3 blobs, but they get an extra one for charm and being in such a surprising place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aubergine_ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    55
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Middle eastern fusion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a small bistro style restaurant run by a Persian man, offering lots of different middle eastern dishes. The metze are excellent & the Iranian chicken dish I had was delicious. They cater well for both meat eaters & vegetarians, prices are reasonable & there's kids meals/portions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Strange little place...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Food and service was Ok. The owner was keen to ensure we had a good experience and the take out pizza we had while looking a bit dodgy tasted OK. I was glad we hadn't sat down for a meal. The decor is terribly dated and not particularly clean - the whole place seemed a bit of a mismatched mess. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

A lovely tiny restaurant with great quality food,a very pleasant owner.unexpected find in little aberfeldy. Very good pizza and Lebanese specials.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

A lovely mezze starter followed by delicately flavoured chicken. The owner is attentive and keen to ensure that you enjoy your meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Checheks also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Checheks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing