We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Spring Break!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
J6658HXjo...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Spring Break!”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A thoroughly enjoyable stay at 'Rainbow Lodge'.

The minute we arrived we noticed a relaxing comfortable environment in pristine accommodation. The lodge has gorgeous views across the Lochan which change by the hour.

Glengoulandie is a great base location from which to access the many activities available in this wonderful area of Perthshire.

The lodge itself is quite simply excellent! Beautifully furnished and laid out with everything you need for a short and relaxing vacation.

The hosts, Russell & Sandy, have exacting standards and set the conditions for a great vacation...including a welcome pack of provisions...a great touch!

Thank you for a most relaxing and comfortable break and we will be back!
John, Kate & Ben Couttie

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Dear John, Kate and Ben, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave it for us. We are both pleased that you really enjoyed your stay and that the Lodge exceeded your expectations. We both very much look forward to having you all return in the near future.
Kind Regards, Russell and Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve C
2 reviews
“Great location, first class warm accommodation gives you everything it says in the description.”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a great three generation family break and Glengoulandie lodge was just what we wanted. Watching the dear come down from the hills every evening was spellbinding for the kids. The Lodge was spacious and very comfortable. We would not hesitate to return

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Dear Steve, Thank you very much for your review, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Glengoulandie Lodges On The Waterfront. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. Kind Regards, Russell & Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustineC1...
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is our second visit to Glengoulandie but first time in Rainbow Lodge but it was just perfect. Just pure luxury....didn't want to leave or venture out of the log cabin it's that good ! We even arrived to some nice goodies, wine, biscuits etc which was also a lovely surprise. We will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone. Lots of walks and places to visit within an easy driving distance. Justine, Paul, Tom (15) & Owen (11)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Dear Justine,
Thank you very much for your super review and we are pleased your first time staying at our Lodge exceeded your expectations, we like to create a 'Home away from Home' experience. We look forward to your return, many thanks again!
Kind Regards,
Russell & Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H
Swanbourne
2 reviews
“Luxury meets tranquility in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A beautiful accommodation with everything thought of in detail to provide a comfortable and luxurious feel, easy to self cater and ideal for sharing the spacious living with family/friends. Lovely to wake to views across the loch from the bedroom. Very friendly and helpful customer service from the owners, tucked away yet still some local outings to the towns, and wildlife centre for deer feeding, many stunning walks round the countryside. And so happy we got snow on New Year's Day!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Hi Kelly, Thank you very much for your review. There is a tremendous amount of wonderful wild life to experience here and it is great you saw so much. We are delighted you had such a lovely time. Best wishes for 2016 and many thanks again, Russell & Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“First class accommodation in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I cannot recommend this property highly enough. The lodge is so clean, comfortable, beautifully furnished and huge! Much bigger than I had thought from the photos. There were 5 of us - four adults and a teenager - but there was more than enough room for everyone to relax in. The welcome pack is very generous and thoughtful and certainly did make us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We also appreciated that the kitchen cupboards were stocked with cooking basics (oils, vinegars etc) and that nice toiletries were provided. Russell and Sandy have thought of everything, and were in touch before we arrived to make sure everything would go smoothly with our trip. The setting is beautiful too and we loved just spending time relaxing in the lodge. But the location is also great for getting out and about. Walks in the mountains, forests and by the river are all accessible within 15 minutes, as is Aberfeldy with its nice coffee shops and restaurants and also now its cinema. Plenty to do even if the weather isn't as nice as we experienced.
We had a fabulous time and I am already planning a return trip. Thank you Russell and Sandy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accommodation, the view and the access to wonderful walks
Liked least: can't fault anything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Dear Margaret and Family,
We are delighted you had a wonderful family time in our Lodge. It gives us such pleasure to hear your compliments.
Now you know that the location is great and that there are so many further areas afield to explore. All the different Seasons bring such exciting changes to the canvas!
We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Russell and Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy P
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation in stunning countryside”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our Christmas holiday week at Glengoulandie was most memorable! Our family of four had a very enjoyable, relaxing time complete with snow on Christmas Eve and a white Christmas morning. A week was too short to enjoy everything the lodges & surrounding area have to offer - we would love to return for much longer! It was a pleasure to arrive at Rainbow Lodge and well worth the long drive up from Oxfordshire. Russell's excellent directions and travel advice were really helpful and on arrival Rainbow Lodge was very welcoming thanks to Russell & Sandy's thoughtful personal touches & attention to detail: we were greeted by warmth, Christmas lights and a lovely gift box packed full of treats! Rainbow Lodge has beautiful views, is very well-maintained & decorated, very clean, spacious, good quality furnishings & bedding, comfortable beds & excellent bathrooms. It is one of the best places we have stayed at in the UK. The surrounding countryside is stunning - we enjoyed an amazing walk at Schiehallion in bright sunshine surrounded by snowy mountains - Glengoulandie is ideally situated within reach of all the beautiful and interesting places Scotland has to offer - we even drove to Ben Nevis through stunning Glencoe and were back before supper! we would definitely recommend Rainbow Lodge to everyone. Thanks Sandy & Russell for your friendliness & hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Hi Cindy, Craig and the boys, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write and submit your wonderful review. It is very much appreciated and It really helps us to know what you appreciated about the Lodge and that we were able to get your holiday off to such a great start. Having stayed originally here ourselves as guests and then to end up taking over the business, we wish to continue running the Lodges from a guest's perspective. We would be delighted to accommodate you all once again and we look forward to your return. One of the great benefits of this business is meeting great people like yourselves! do keep in touch, Kind Regards, Russell and Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda Y
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very relaxing break in a wonderful lochside lodge”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We are a family of five (children aged 15, 13, 11) and chose this property because of its quiet setting on the water. Having read previous reviews we were really looking forward to our stay. We were not disappointed. The property is immaculate, the cleanest self catering property we have ever stayed in. It is beautifully decorated with a comfortable sitting room, TV, DVDs and games. The kitchen has everything you could need - a real home from home. The three bedrooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable, each with its own bathroom. Our three children loved this property too, so much so that we have booked another 6 days in August. Russell, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful, with helpful tips on local eateries and things to do. On arrival, there was milk in the fridge, tea, coffee and beautiful homemade shortbread which was a really nice touch. Thank you Russell and Sandy, we will recommend to all our friends.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Dear Brenda and Family, We are really delighted to have received your review and thank you very much for such wonderful comments. It was super to receive your return summer booking, I guess before you even had a chance to unpack the car :-) Sandy and I have thoroughly enjoyed our first year as hosts and we enjoy making our Families' stay a comfortable and happy experience. We welcome your feedback and your returned summer booking shows that you really enjoyed the area and the quality we aim to provide at our Lodges. The summer time here is magical with amazing colours and light with sunsets that go on until late into the evening. We are encouraging all our Guests to visit our new website, as we have included a comprehensive photo collection of our Lodges and surrounding area throughout the four seasons. Thank you once again and we look forward to your return in the summer. Best wishes Russell & Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing