We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch.”
Review of The Tudor - CLOSED

The Tudor
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Having been in the restaurant before for morning coffee, I knew how lovely the staff were and how welcoming, even though I am not from the area. Therefore it was with confidence that I took some Canadian visitors for lunch today...and what a great choice it proved to be. Every one of them enjoyed their meal, which was freshly made with extremely generous portions. The place was very busy - so best to reserve a table - with a mixture of locals and others. Everyone seemed to be treated with the best hospitality possible. It's just a shame it wasn't cold enough for the open fire to be lit...well worth a winter visit! The restaurant is a real credit to the lady who owns and runs it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WizardofOz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    13
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent gem where quality and service are first class”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Accompanied sister and brother- in- law who have been on a couple of occasion. They were treated like long lost friends by the owner. The food was excellent; real home cooking presented immaculately - no frozen chips or fish here. The staff were friendly and polite and could not have been more helpful. Drinks were served with meal rather the 10 minutes before it. The owner, I think she is originally from Aberdeen, circulated and ensured that everyone was made welcome and their needs were met. Everything was clean and the decor was original old world. I can see why the Tudor is so popular with locals, including celebrities. Thoroughly recommend and well worth coming of the A9 for a snack or lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnieb0fa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“What a Great Find”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

On a trip to visit the Inverpeffray Library and Chapel, my family and I were advised to visit the Tudor in the High Street of Auchterarder - and what a super recommendation it turned out to be.
We chose to have the sandwiches, including roast beef and horseradish, and cornonation chicken. The sandwiches arrived beautifully presented, completely fresh, and in quantities that proved too much for some of the ladies present. No problem - the gentlemen simply gobbled any left-overs. The sandwiches were delicious, provided a lunch in themselves, AND at £5 a platter proved a hardly credible bargain. Add delicious coffees and teas, and this turned out to be an unexpected lunch to remember.

The ladies running the restaurant were great fun... one of the ladies, with a great sense of humour, spending 15 minutes on her I-pad helping us locate and find directions to our next point of interest.

I can't speak highly enough of the Tudor, so next time you're in Auchterarder make a point of dropping in even if it's only for refreshments. You won't be disappointed - you'll be delighted. We were!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonmore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stopped for lunch here on our way from Speyside to Kirkcudbright. We took the soup and sandwich option - pea and ham soup and sandwiches so generously filled they were almost impossible to eat. The soup was exceptionally good, surroundings interesting and comfortable and the service beyond criticism. Highly ecommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“On our 'Must Go Back' list”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We visited The Tudor for a late lunch and although there were a couple of dishes off the menu (testimony to their popularity and freshness) we had an excellent lunch. 2 in our party ordered the fish - fresh of course and great chips - and because the fish was smaller than the usual size they serve, they charged £1 less per plate - how often do you see that! We also ordered tea for 4 and were given 2 excellent large pots of tea - perfect! A very friendly place, we didn't feel like strangers or visitors, will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IreneRosiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tudor also viewed

Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing