We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gleneagles - King's, Queen's, Wee and PGA Centenary Courses
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Golfing Heaven”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I played both the Kings and Queens courses and found them in terrific condition for the time of the year. Normally course maintenance is delayed by long, cold winters until early April but the mild weather persisting throughout January and February enabled green-keeping staff to complete the work much earlier this year. Greens were obviously not at there very best but offered a relatively true surface that allowed the ball to run out. Both these courses provide a great variety of short holes with some tough par 4's into the prevailing westerly winds. The views of Glen Devon and the surrounding hills are simply wonderful - how many times did I pause to admire the scenery at the expense of focused shot-making? Who cares, this is "golfing heaven".

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    35
    13
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“PGA Centenary”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Like many I played this on a stay at the hotel just to say I'd played the Ryder Cup course. It's a lovely course to play, we've had a lot of rain this winter and the course was a little spongy underfoot in some areas but that is to be expected and overall is in beautiful condition. Thankfully for me the course was not overly difficult they were just in the process of reducing the fairways and increasing the rough when I played, if you strayed of the the tee you could generally still find your self with a shot. All the greens on the PGA centenary are undersoil heated so despite the rains they were still fast for your below average club golfer like myself. I played with a local caddie which was the best decision I could have made, his knowledge of the course along with the shift he put in made it a truly memorable experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Having played Centenary, now for the Ryder Cup”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Unfortunately only got to play once as the Friday was a wash out with the poor weather and continuous rain but I played on the Saturday and loved it.
It's long for any club golfer, especially through the middle holes and a great test of golf. For sure you have to drive it straight and long.
Shame the greens had just been dressed heavily but perfectly understandable why.
Can't wait to come back and watch the pros play in the Ryder Cup, it sure looks like a great stadium course to watch from
Thanks
Mark

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarkieJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callander, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“You cannot beat these courses”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Been a member at Gleneagles for about 8 years and I think that my favourite course is The Queens, followed by the Kings and the PGA Centenary Course, which is of course the Ryder Cup Course this year. On a nice day you cannot beat the quality of the courses and of course the location, which is second to none!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Markeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Golfing splendour.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Four of us took advantage of the spring offer to stay in the hotel and play golf. The courses are splendid, although it was too early in the year to see them at their best. Greens had been recently repaired and treated and thus played poorly. This did not detract too much from enjoying the impressive design and stunning scenery all around as we played the Kings and Queens courses.
We had electric trolleys supplied by the club and they were very erratic, cutting out up to a dozen times during the round. This is not good enough for such a venue. Surely all equipment should have been checked over and returned to tip top condition for the start of the season.
The hotel is a very special place to stay, and we enjoyed the luxury of the rooms and the spa pool and facilities. We dined in the Strathearn restaurant, and it seems clear that the prices reflect the surroundings, the ambiance and the service rather than the quality of the food. It was good but not enough to justify the cost.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gleneagles - King's, Queen's, Wee and PGA Centenary Courses also viewed

Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 
Blackford, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Gleneagles - King's, Queen's, Wee and PGA Centenary Courses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing