We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleneagles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gleneagles
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Heard so much about this hotel but it was a let down. Stayed one night for a business meeting and yes the building is beautiful inside and the staff are very friendly, however if it wasn't for the golf then I'm not sure what this hotel has to offer. The room was nice but no air con or fans which gave me a restless sleep due to the heat in the room even with all the windows open. The whole hotel was like this. Service behind the bar was very slow on this night I think there was a conference on and only 3 barmen on. It took 30 minutes to get served! Not what I expect from a hotel of this standard. I appreciate that prices go up in these establishment but a vodka & fresh orange and a gin and tonic for £21.95 is day light robbery! On a positive note the food is lovely and although I didn't use the spa facilities they did look impressive. Overall I can see why people like this hotel it's got character however I do think it's overpriced for what you get.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank divajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,286
    387
    158
    58
    22
See reviews for
685
1,302
42
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Went with friends, got a special deal through Golfbreaks, so despite it being a wonderful room it was over looking a roof and I assume it was near the kitchen as I could smell food cooking. We only stayed the one night and played the Kings course which was terrific. All the Staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. Gleneagles is a beautiful building and very tastefully decorated but is priced for the very rich. A small bottle of water £2.75.......

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marsy50Portishead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

if you win the lottery, this is the place to go(or alternatively, even a corporate jaunt will do). Set in one of the most picturesque locations in the heart of Scotland and the location of the next Ryder up. The accommodation and food are at the top of the range.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malxmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was my 65th BIrthday surprise going to Gleneagles in Scotland, how I remember my 60th so well at Ashford Castle,Cong, Ireland...the latter yes a wonderful memory, wonderful food, wonderful people. Gleneagles was not a good time at all....well I should not be too harsh, the arrival was memorable, valet parking, luggage gone, etc, as one would expect and strangely enough the departure was also great, lovely gentlemen with kilts, car brought around luggage down from room..... Back a bit: we arrived about 12 noon...and had been given an upgrade apparently that was fine, the view out to the gardens was lovely. However, I was not awe struck by the room, vis a vis for one example, Ritz Carlton in Wexford, room to die for...Anyway we decided to walk across the grounds to the Golf Club restaurant Dormy, had couple glasses of bubbles followed by a good lunch (not great but good) and nice wine (thank you Richard for your professionalism and courtesy and involving your Guest relations manager read more soon)... Decided to telephone (from the club restaurant) one and only son and heir in USA, 'Happy Birthday Mother, did you enjoy your surprises?' Sorry son don't know what you mean. He had organised champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for my room on arrival and a 2 hour spa....well of course I almost cried, but thanks to Richard, he made a few calls and all was corrected by the time we dandered back over to our room, and I did not miss my Spa time thankfully and the girls were lovely, but you know dear Trip advisors, the edge had gone off, and I felt sorry for my son's endeavours to give his mother a real good surprise... Yes the strawberries and champagne were in the room when we strolled back across from luncheon, but no time to enjoy as after my spa and nap, it was time for dinner....another story check out my review for Andrew Fairlie thanks....so champers came home with me and strawberry plate put in little fridge overnight and taken down to breakfast....which if I may say was memorable, so glass of champagne, smoked salmon and scrambled egg and followed by chocolate covered strawberries lol all in all was a good way to depart....I was left feeling very mixed emotions about this hotel, really wish I had gone to Manoir aux Quat' saisons Oxfordshire and Raymond Blanc (which was an option thank you husband), I think that would have been memorable, so on the wish list...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fair_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGleneaglesHotel, Manager at Gleneagles, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took to leave feedback following your recent stay at Gleneagles and I am immensely saddened that your experience fell short of expectation. Please rest assured that I have looked at your concerns in some detail to help me understand how we could have avoided the described shortcomings.
When you arrived just before 12pm we wanted to recognise the occasion of your birthday by extending a complimentary upgrade to our Estate room category. Although this was done with the best intentions, regrettably the change of allocation and allowing access to the room prior to our official check in time, meant that the prearranged bottle of champagne, the strawberries as well as the gift from the hotel had not yet made their way to the room. Having spoken to both Richard as well as Iris from Guest Relations, I understand that this was the cause of significant distress after you had spoken to your son. While we can only humbly apologise, I am still relived that both managers helped explain the situation at the time.
Your spa treatment had been booked less than 24h prior to arrival which meant it was not part of the pre-printed itinerary you would have received at the time of check. Regrettably we did not know that this was a surprise arrangement of which you had not been made aware of. Again I was relieved to learn that this was clarified long before the actual appointment time and you had the opportunity to enjoy the treatments in full.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment following your recent stay and we do hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Andreas Porias
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The grounds at this time of the year are beautiful with the neatly trimmed grass and the colourful azaleas and rhododendrums. Afternoon tea produced an interesting variety of savouries and sweets in the form of sandwiches and cakes, but most impressive was the welcome and attention of the staff from the moment we stepped up to the front door. Everyone showed an interest and were most helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for three nights here recently and had a very positive experience. The hotel is beautifully located at the head of a valley in meticulously kept grounds including several golf courses. We had a few minor quibbles beginning with check-in. On arrival we were informed that the computer at the desk showed us booked in for one night only. Instead of checking us in and correcting the matter later we were held in reception with our bags until inquiries were made and the system corrected. We were finally allocated a room on the 4th floor which had a low ceiling and was very warm even with the window permanently open. However the bathroom was fabulous with beautiful period features and a modern walk-in shower room. The hotel is comfortable and luxurious and dinner and breakfast in the main dining room was a treat. Apart from our check-in experience the service was impeccable, A most enjoyable stay - even the golf was good!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noddy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Went for afternoon tea recently for a special birthday treat and was assured by our waitress that, as we hadn't had it before, that we were in for something really special. Unfortunately, was a little disappointed....there was plenty to eat and the tea and coffee kept getting topped up but for what they charge, have to say not really worth it and was nothing 'special'. The Bar was looking a bit tired too. Oh, and the toilets needed attended to, lots of paper lying on the floor, water splashed on floor and over sink areas.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jbskyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
1.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
7.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
7.3 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles

Property: Gleneagles
Address: Gleneagles Auchterarder | Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic country estate set beneath the beautiful Ochil Hills, The Gleneagles Hotel has been a luxury destination for nearly a century. Located just one hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh airports and with its own railway station, Gleneagles offers the perfect retreat for those looking for relaxation, fun and adventure. Three championship courses have established Gleneagles' reputation as a golfer's paradise but the hotel offers so much more than golf. The 850-acre estate epitomises the rugged natural beauty for which Scotland is famed and offers guests a glorious playground of country pursuits and activities. Whether you come to fly a Harris' Hawk, ride horses, play tennis, go off-roading, train gundogs, shoot game, fish, enjoy Michelin-starred dining, or relax in an award-winning spa, Gleneagles offers a world of unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland
Gleneagles Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing