We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The golf is superb - but there is so much more too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleneagles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gleneagles
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The golf is superb - but there is so much more too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my family and loved it. The whole place oozes class, but it is not stuffy. The kids loved 'The Zone' where they could get away from parents and enjoy the company of other kids playing pool, skeet, x-box etc. Outside there is loads to do - superb golf courses obviously, but also horse riding, tennis, falconry, croquet, shooting, fishing etc. You could easily spend a week here and not get bored. The breakfast is something to behold - best ever - right down to the perfectly mixed bloody mary. It's not cheap, but it is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,287
    387
    158
    58
    22
See reviews for
685
1,303
42
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Glenmor for our annual week and as always everything was superb. Arrangements all done, house beautiful and ready exactly as requested. The activities are great fun, not cheap but definitely worth it. The family did between them: horse riding; fishing; argocats; golf; and Segway.

Staff at Glenmor and the hotel fantastic as always. We particularly liked the Braid Cafe and had a great lunch at Deseo.

One suggestion, advertise the Segway activity more, that was great fun.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Gleneagles certainly lived up to its reputation as a world class golf resort. The hotel was everything you would expect from a five star hotel; the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were lovely, the bed was huge and very comfortable.
The breakfast was possibly the best I have ever experienced, there was so much choice of food and it was all excellent. As steak and chips and champagne was included in the price I felt it would be rude not to have it on one morning, it wasn't the best steak I've ever had but it was the first time I've ever had it for breakfast (definitely not the last). The golfing facilities were excellent, my favourite course was queens course, immaculate greens and beautiful surroundings.
Overall there is very little I can fault with this hotel, it is everything you would expect from a hotel of its reputation, I will go back but only if Scotland vote against independence.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Another perfect stay at Gleneagles!

We arrived at 12pm not expecting to get checked in so early but we pleasantly surprised to be handed our keys and directed to our room. We had an estate room overlooking the main entrance and loved sipping our champagne, people watching in our robes!

We had pre-booked afternoon tea in the main bar for 12.30pm which was fantastic again, always worth the money. We enjoyed a cocktail or two and them went for a walk around the vast grounds, including visiting the gun dogs and falconry school birds.

We retired back to our room to relax prior to our dinner reservation in the Strathearn restaurant (which was outstanding)

My most favourite thing about staying at the hotel is the breakfast. We always go down about 9am and have never had a bad experience. The staff go above and beyond. My husband prefers the buffet style breakfast but I tend to get something off the menu, usually the steak and chips then some smoked salmon and a glass of chilled champagne.

It won't be long until we're back again!

Well worth the price paid.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay extra for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L_peeps84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

5 Star indeed, could not fault a thing! The staff could not be more attentive, the room was lovely and all the food we had was fantastic but the very best part of our stay was dining at Andrew Fairlie! We chose the dégustation menu and every course was just exquisite and the staff could not have been more knowledgable and engaging.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have been coming here since I was 5, first by my Parents for holidays ( Easter- October back then) then for my wedding many years past and every year at least once since. John McGillivary on the floor and Billy Lynch, all passed on now, and the service is not a patch of the former days. To quote an old retainer, now retired, they let people in as customers now that would not get across the door before.. The rooms are tired in places and corridors stale. It is heartbreaking to see for myself how standard have dropped. When I asked a duty Manager ' Don't people miss the dancing in the bar these days' The reply was " No, because those that do are all dead !
Food average, service poor. It is such a tragedy

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Gleneagles for a couple of days in May, at least one day the weather was suitable for golf but you can't review the weather.
The Hotel is always great with only minor complaints, took a Michelin Magic package which included an upgrade, breakfast and Andrew Fairlie's.
No sockets near the brightly light bathroom as we had our own extension for the hairdryer (obviously not for me) and no sockets in the bathroom. The alternative was the desk and mirror but the light was hopeless so had to make shift a table near as socket in the hall, not ideal.
Breakfast with room service had a delivery charge even though it was included and sadly the coffee was cold and the toast brick hard (frozen bread).
Don't let that put you off though everything else was fine and Andrew Fairlie's is simply the best Scotland has to offer.

Room Tip: Get the the best room with the upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
1.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
7.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
7.3 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles

Property: Gleneagles
Address: Gleneagles Auchterarder | Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic country estate set beneath the beautiful Ochil Hills, The Gleneagles Hotel has been a luxury destination for nearly a century. Located just one hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh airports and with its own railway station, Gleneagles offers the perfect retreat for those looking for relaxation, fun and adventure. Three championship courses have established Gleneagles' reputation as a golfer's paradise but the hotel offers so much more than golf. The 850-acre estate epitomises the rugged natural beauty for which Scotland is famed and offers guests a glorious playground of country pursuits and activities. Whether you come to fly a Harris' Hawk, ride horses, play tennis, go off-roading, train gundogs, shoot game, fish, enjoy Michelin-starred dining, or relax in an award-winning spa, Gleneagles offers a world of unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland
Gleneagles Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing