We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf break at Gleneagles”
Review of Gleneagles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleneagles
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've read some of the other reviews - all understate how fantastic this hotel is. What make this hotel the best,above all else including magnificent facilities, food, rooms, etc., is the staff. Each did much more than we'd hoped to make our stay at Gleneagles memorable, including arrangements for having our dog stay at the hotel.
Here's to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,397 - 2,403 of 3,610 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

As a wedding present we were given a voucher for afternoon tea at Gleneagles Hotel. So we decided with the bank holiday coming up to make it a special day out and set off for the 40 minute drive to Gleneagles which is a lovely drive through the Perthshire countryside before arriving at the Gleaneagles hotel. Having already played golf there I knew my way around but it was special to be a customer of the Diagio owned hotel. At one time it had its own single line train service to the hotel but that was some time ago.
The effect as you park the car is the sight of the very imposing and beautiful building that is Gleneagles Hotel. You are made welcome as you approach the entrance with the greeters in highland dress making it a very warm and welcoming introduction. From there you have to look around as the wee shops wind their way as if in a shopping corridor with them selling everything from Gleneagles whisky to high fashion and extremely expensive jewellery. It all adds to the flavour of Gleneagles that all things are high quality. If you go further into the hotel you will come across the health spa with everything you need to relax and get some exercise.
Anyway we were there for afternoon tea and we were shown into the dining room where we were lucky enough to get a window table and enough people in the room to make it atmospheric though the whole room was done in art deco style. We then had a constant stream of plates of sandwiches, cakes, scones, along with as much tea as you could drink. The service was brilliant and we were looked after royally by the very pleasant staff. The handmade petit fours were just perfect. We had a very happy two and a half hours just sitting and people watching and felt very lucky that we had a wonderful time indulging our passion for food. Thanks so much to everyone involved and especially Tom and Mary for the superb treat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JockstarScotlandwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A hotel that will not dDissapointed - A great welcome, great accommodation, such comfortable beds, amazing facilities on offer from many excellent F and B outlets to an amazing choice of activities. Service is excellent and whether you are here with family and friends or as an individual, staff try very hard to ensure your expectations are met and you're comfortable.

Happy 90th Anniversary Gleneages.

Room Tip: All rooms are very different from modern to classical. If you prefer a more modern style I would sug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my family and loved it. The whole place oozes class, but it is not stuffy. The kids loved 'The Zone' where they could get away from parents and enjoy the company of other kids playing pool, skeet, x-box etc. Outside there is loads to do - superb golf courses obviously, but also horse riding, tennis, falconry, croquet, shooting, fishing etc. You could easily spend a week here and not get bored. The breakfast is something to behold - best ever - right down to the perfectly mixed bloody mary. It's not cheap, but it is fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Glenmor for our annual week and as always everything was superb. Arrangements all done, house beautiful and ready exactly as requested. The activities are great fun, not cheap but definitely worth it. The family did between them: horse riding; fishing; argocats; golf; and Segway.

Staff at Glenmor and the hotel fantastic as always. We particularly liked the Braid Cafe and had a great lunch at Deseo.

One suggestion, advertise the Segway activity more, that was great fun.

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Gleneagles certainly lived up to its reputation as a world class golf resort. The hotel was everything you would expect from a five star hotel; the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were lovely, the bed was huge and very comfortable.
The breakfast was possibly the best I have ever experienced, there was so much choice of food and it was all excellent. As steak and chips and champagne was included in the price I felt it would be rude not to have it on one morning, it wasn't the best steak I've ever had but it was the first time I've ever had it for breakfast (definitely not the last). The golfing facilities were excellent, my favourite course was queens course, immaculate greens and beautiful surroundings.
Overall there is very little I can fault with this hotel, it is everything you would expect from a hotel of its reputation, I will go back but only if Scotland vote against independence.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Another perfect stay at Gleneagles!

We arrived at 12pm not expecting to get checked in so early but we pleasantly surprised to be handed our keys and directed to our room. We had an estate room overlooking the main entrance and loved sipping our champagne, people watching in our robes!

We had pre-booked afternoon tea in the main bar for 12.30pm which was fantastic again, always worth the money. We enjoyed a cocktail or two and them went for a walk around the vast grounds, including visiting the gun dogs and falconry school birds.

We retired back to our room to relax prior to our dinner reservation in the Strathearn restaurant (which was outstanding)

My most favourite thing about staying at the hotel is the breakfast. We always go down about 9am and have never had a bad experience. The staff go above and beyond. My husband prefers the buffet style breakfast but I tend to get something off the menu, usually the steak and chips then some smoked salmon and a glass of chilled champagne.

It won't be long until we're back again!

Well worth the price paid.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay extra for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L_peeps84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
1.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
806 reviews
9 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,203 reviews
7.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
7.5 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
6.4 mi away
Tormaukin
Tormaukin
#1 of 1 in Glendevon
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles

Address: Gleneagles Gleneagles Auchterarder | Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range: £259 - £963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic country estate set beneath the beautiful Ochil Hills, The Gleneagles Hotel has been a luxury destination for nearly a century. Located just one hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh airports and with its own railway station, Gleneagles offers the perfect retreat for those looking for relaxation, fun and adventure. Three championship courses have established Gleneagles' reputation as a golfer's paradise but the hotel offers so much more than golf. The 850-acre estate epitomises the rugged natural beauty for which Scotland is famed and offers guests a glorious playground of country pursuits and activities. Whether you come to fly a Harris' Hawk, ride horses, play tennis, go off-roading, train gundogs, shoot game, fish, enjoy Michelin-starred dining, or relax in an award-winning spa, Gleneagles offers a world of unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland
Gleneagles Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing