We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury and a warm welcome”
Review of Gleneagles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gleneagles
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“True luxury and a warm welcome”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Gleneagles Hotel is a great Resort with activities for everybody. The Spa is phenomenal, the outdoors offerings are so numerous, it is hard to make a decission. Try the Falconery, majestic though still wild animals!

The Streathearn Restaurant is a class of its own. Multiple dishes are prepared tableside and they are fun to watch. The service is very professional and attentive and never obtrusive. Kerstin is a great waiter and the Maitre is such a true expert and knows what you want before you say it. Been there twice and both times our expectations have been excelled.

Andrew Fairlie on the other hand was very good as well, but has not met our expectations. We have been to many 2 and 3* Restaurants all over the world and the presentation and execution on the plates were close to a two star restaurant but have never complied with them.

The rooms at Glenegales are fantastic. Well appointed and offering all elements you expect from a Five star luxury hotel. Staff at Front Desk always friendly and taking care of us, especially Susanne, which always engaged a nice welcoming small talk. A real star is Helen, Guest Relations Manager. She lives the Spirit of this breathtaking hotel and is a not to be missed glamorous appearance in this extraordinary surrounding.

Thank you team of Gleneagles for a fantastic stay and we will definitely return!

Tobias and Mark Winkelmann

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkundToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,445
    416
    171
    63
    28
See reviews for
733
1,410
45
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our third visit and the hotel never disappoints. Rooms supremely comfortable and meals excellent. Beautiful grounds. A total relaxation package! We actually liked it so much we purchased a seasonal ownership in the hotel's Glenmor houses so we will be returning for 44 years!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qatargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Visited this hotel on a number of times and can honestly say this is our favourite, great for couples and families alike. Very relaxed feel with great facilities, fab food and the Spa is amazing,
can't wait to return !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1973fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Cove, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Everything was incredible from the food to the service, rooms, and activities. My kids loved doing the Gun Dog School, Falconry, Clay Pigeon Shooting, and playing a round of golf. This was our favorite stop on our Scotland vacation and we wished we stayed longer. Definitely worth the money because the memories are priceless.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay this year after the first experience was spoilt by the checkout and follow up experience. However the GM took control of the situation and we had a cracking stay this time. Huge friendly arrival with valet parking. This time we were given an Estate room in Braid House - fantastic spacious room looking out over the gardens. They also have air conditioning and gas fire. Sumptuous marble bathroom with cosy towels and dressing gowns. Only slight gripe is that it is only instant coffee in the bedrooms.

We did the clay pigeon shooting which is a great experience and well worth the money.

Lovely table in the Strathearn - great meal...

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank renniealdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

First time visit to Gleneagles Hotel and what a fantastic day we had. Four of us went for afternoon tea and the service was outstanding from start to finish. Member of our party is terminally ill and on their list of things to do was to visit Gleneagles for afternoon tea. Our visit will be treasured memories for years to come. Outstanding views and staff provided high quality service and would highly recommend afternoon tea visit. You need to book in advance to avoid disappointment. Certainly wouldn't be my last visit to Gleneagles.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed her with 2 other couples for a celebration weekend. The hotel could not be faulted. Our room was not large, but had a lovely view and was very comfortable. The attention to detail was very good. The men in our party played golf and again everything was arranged really well, unfortunately the weather wasn't great, but not the fault of Gleneagles! We used the spa and leisure facilities, which were all first class ,although very pricey. It was really busy and I would advise booking for these facilities. The breakfasts were the best I have ever had in a hotel. We ate in Deseo one night, which was ok, but quite noisy with lots of families, which I guess is the price you pay if you go in August. The food was mediocre, but the staff were really good. We went to the Strathearne as well which was beautiful. The food and service were better than a lot of fine dining restaurants in London. I would love to return one day and I would applaud all of the staff for creating an amazing hotel.

Room Tip: better to have a smaller room with a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianweatherburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
1.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
755 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,079 reviews
7.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
21.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
758 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles

Property: Gleneagles
Address: Gleneagles Auchterarder | Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic country estate set beneath the beautiful Ochil Hills, The Gleneagles Hotel has been a luxury destination for nearly a century. Located just one hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh airports and with its own railway station, Gleneagles offers the perfect retreat for those looking for relaxation, fun and adventure. Three championship courses have established Gleneagles' reputation as a golfer's paradise but the hotel offers so much more than golf. The 850-acre estate epitomises the rugged natural beauty for which Scotland is famed and offers guests a glorious playground of country pursuits and activities. Whether you come to fly a Harris' Hawk, ride horses, play tennis, go off-roading, train gundogs, shoot game, fish, enjoy Michelin-starred dining, or relax in an award-winning spa, Gleneagles offers a world of unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland
Gleneagles Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing