We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect luxury and relaxation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleneagles

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gleneagles
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
vl123
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect luxury and relaxation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Just back from a romantic overnight stay in the gorgeous Gleneagles to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Stayed in a luxury bedroom in the Baird House part of the hotel where we were greeted with a bottle of Veuve Champagne on arrival. Lunched in the tapas rest with gorgeous champagne cocktails. Food and service amazing! Spent the afternoon in the spa, amazing facial and facitilites ie sauna, steam room, jacuzzis etc were fantastic. Spent about 3 hours relaxing here! Gorgeous dinner!

I just cannot rate this hotel enough! Perfect service, accomodation, spa and food!
We have stayed in lots of top quality hotels ie Old Course, Rufflets and Fairmont St Andrews, Glasshouse and Le Monde Edinburgh, Balbirnie and many more but this was by far the best! Not the cheapest but certainly worth every penny!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,293
    387
    160
    58
    22
See reviews for
686
1,308
42
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk, england
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

The location, surrounding countryside and the service and quality of the hotel is exceptional by any standard but value is another matter in some areas. The golf courses are magnificent, the Strathearn restaurant is the best, Andrew Fairlie ( 2 michelin stars ) at over £150 per head was nowhere near as good as it was 5 years ago at half the price but Deseo restaurant produced very good food at a fair price for a 5 star resort hotel. Small bottles of water friom Highland Sprng ( 2 miles down the road ) cost £8, an insult to intelligence in my view but still Gleneagles is special, as long as you pick and choose a little, The taff are friendly, helpful and a great assett to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

A gentle ambience for a hotel so large. The staff were courteous and approachable, keen to make you comfortable. Had the feeling of a very large country/stately home with bells on!! The history and architechture of the whole resort was impressive and I am in no doubt that the Ryder cup in 2014 will be fantastic. No where is ever perfect, but this was very very close. Go, relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skysthelimitScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
151 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stayed one night for the purpose of dining at Andrew Fairlie for a wedding anniversary. I don't remember mentioning it when I booked but I must have done as we were upgraded to a suite, and were given an anniversary gift. The room was better than anything we have ever stayed in anywhere, with lovely toiletries, and an in room expresso machine- as well as the standard kettle. Andrew Fairlie was expensive but excellent. The other two restaurants looked nice too and we will probably give them a try next time. Breakfast was lovely. I would recommend the cooked to order. The buffet was extensive but like all buffets is not quite as hot as you might like. The pools were good. The outdoor jacuzzi was enjoyable and a quiet lap pool allows you to smim and allows the children to enjoy themselves in the leisure pool. We were too well fed to use the gym or try the fitness classes

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

My opinion has always been if you charge for a service you should deliver it and I felt disappointed after our stay at Gleneagles. It was our first wedding anniversary and on the Saturday evening we had to wait 20 minutes after asking to get the bill, in fact we had to go to the entrance of the restaurant in order for someone to do it. The service had started well, but by the time we had reached our main course there were too many people in the restaurant and we were kind of left behind. I visited the spa for the afternoon before dinner and it was pleasant, however, I was booked in for a one hour facial and it was over after 45 minutes. The swimming pool, sauna and changing room in the main area are well overdue an upgrade as it felt like the local swimming baths, which when you pay for luxury is not what was expected. Our room had an awful paint over job in the bedroom, not what you expect for 5 star! Overall just felt like they didn't deliver for what they charged.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank airmilesali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a golfing/spa break. It is a really nice hotel, the room we had came with spectacular views but a few things let it down. Firstly our bathroom still retained splashes of someone's over indulgence the night before. I'm not sure if it was vomit or diarrhoea, but the loo definitely hadn't been cleaned properly. Not nice. Secondly the check in process was quite painful. We arrived an hour early for check in so were given complementary drinks in the bar and told we would be called when the room was ready. We waited, and waited and waited while others who arrived after us were given rooms. Eventually 3 hours later we were given a room. A few tips for you - DO use the spa - its fantastic and the treatments are very reasonably priced. Do NOT use the hairdressing salon - its grossly overpriced and the cut and blow dry I had was reminiscent of a Nolan Sister. DO NOT eat in the golf club the food was awful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelindaCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

I want to preface this review by saying that we have not yet stayed at the Gleneagles. We were scheduled to travel to Scotland this weekend, but due to a personal loss and my father in law's recent diagnosis with cancer, we were forced to cancel our trip. I called Gleneagles to cancel our reservation and asked if we could use our nonrefundable deposit towards our next trip since we planned on eventually making the trip out there once things settled down with both my health and my father in law. The gentleman on the phone was extremely kind and gracious and offered to refund our deposit due to the circumstances behind our cancellation. Based on customer service alone I will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
1.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
7.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
20.2 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles

Property: Gleneagles
Address: Gleneagles Auchterarder | Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic country estate set beneath the beautiful Ochil Hills, The Gleneagles Hotel has been a luxury destination for nearly a century. Located just one hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh airports and with its own railway station, Gleneagles offers the perfect retreat for those looking for relaxation, fun and adventure. Three championship courses have established Gleneagles' reputation as a golfer's paradise but the hotel offers so much more than golf. The 850-acre estate epitomises the rugged natural beauty for which Scotland is famed and offers guests a glorious playground of country pursuits and activities. Whether you come to fly a Harris' Hawk, ride horses, play tennis, go off-roading, train gundogs, shoot game, fish, enjoy Michelin-starred dining, or relax in an award-winning spa, Gleneagles offers a world of unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland
Gleneagles Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing