We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reading room”

Library of Innerpeffray
Ranked #5 of 21 things to do in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Scotland's oldest lending library sits in a tranquil rural location beside the River Earn. Founded in 1680 by David Drummond 3rd Lord Madertie, with a school, at Innerpeffray near Crieff in rural Perthshire.Today thinking people from across the world come to enjoy the peaceful surroundings, to explore the social heritage captured in its Borrower's Register, and turn the pages to be inspired by books dating from four centuries.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reading room”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We noticed this historic site on the Ordnance Survey map (there is also a chapel next door which is open to the public) while staying in Crieff, and a leaflet at our cottage told us we could indeed visit (free / donations). What a good decision it was - we arrived as the wonderful custodian Lara was opening up and she gave us a useful introductory talk, especially on the role of libraries and literacy in the Scottish enlightenment. Later we spent a good hour just reading (me with a first edition 'Duchess of Malfi', no less)! Altogether a place well worth supporting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 963Dave_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    13
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Surprising Library.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were amazed at the number of historically important books here.It is a very out of the way place although only 4 miles from Creiff.When you go in you are escorted by the librarian or a knowledgeable volunteer and you are shown books of great rarity and some you are also allowed to hold and read from which was very exciting. there were displays of books on golfing {it is near Gleneagles} and medicine and the !st World War.the Visitors' book is also very interesting as it goes back a long way and many famous people have visited it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice little detour if you're a lover of books”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and 12yr old are big book lovers and were recommended this place by the in-laws who live locally. They loved looking at the Shakespeare based books and thoroughly enjoyed their visit. While on the otherhand this wasn't my 'thing', I was incredibly impressed by Lara's knowledge and passion on her books and this made it compelling listening. My daughter loved touching the books and didn't feel she was damaging them in anyway but also gave her a better understanding on how old everything was. Thank you to Lara and to Oscar the pugs mummy for an enjoyable visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank iloveholbycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fascinating piece of history”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Whole family was interested (from 6 year old to 15 year old) in the library. Curator and volunteers were really enthusiastic about the place and brought it to life. We spent a couple of hours there and the time time just flew by.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bigdaddy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a quality gem”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

we learnt a huge amount of Scottish history explained in great detail by the excellent staff who spared nothing to give us a visit we will never forget. Their knowledge of so many fascinating books is worth so much.
The buildings are fabulous as is the setting and you really can feel the history and sense those who visited this unique library so many years ago.
Highly recommended

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NeilR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeeperofBooks, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this review, 3 October 2015
Thanks so much for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Library of Innerpeffray also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Library of Innerpeffray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing