We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,360)
Filter reviews
4,360 results
Traveller rating
2,027
1,236
594
333
170
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,027
1,236
594
333
170
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeikle restaurantvictorian spawinter gardenkids clubself cateringchild carefamily hotelsoft playquad bikesexecutive roomhorse ridingoutdoor activitiesfamily breakbunk bedsbouncy castlecrazy golfthe main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3,783 - 3,788 of 4,360 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My friends and I booked for a two night all inclusive spa/pamper break. The hotel was lovely, the room very nice and the staff also really nice. The pamper package was a good deal, but hadn't really been communicated to any of the staff we dealt with i.e. restaurant staff didn't know what we meant when we explained our food was included. The treatments were lovely and Jenni was a great therapist, explaining all products clearly etc. My one niggle was the lack of "package" feeling about our stay. I had expected to be in a robe and having treatments, swims in spa pool and lunch, not having to get dressed and undressed quite a few times. However, it was still all lovely and I can see how the hotel would be fantastic for a family break. Next time we might bring husbands and children as there seems to be something for everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear Heidi2000, thanks for your valuable feedback following your recent stay on our pamper package. I am glad you had a great time overall however, it sounds as if we could have communicated better internally as to how this package worked. What you've said will certainly assist us in improving how we do things. Thanks for your kind comments about Jenni, she is delighted to have helped make your stay special. We are very happy to see you would consider coming back for a family break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My partner and I stayed overnight at the Hydro after booking an itison deal. Fantastic D,B&B deal. Room was great. No complaints there. Clean and modern.

Minor issue was the section of the hotel was not serviced by a lift. It was a bit of a walk and a pest.

The hotel is tired in places but then it is a Victorian hydro. It's no issue.

Died thoroughly enjoy both dinner and breakfast. Excellent service and food was good. Supplements were pricey but it was ok as the deal was good.

I'll be back and would recommend to all. I did not try the activities but did see they were expensive. Also looked really good for kids.

As an aside the spa was great and worth a try

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinno5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Hi Colinno5, thank you for your recent review. We're so glad to read you got a great deal and that your room and overall impression of the hotel was so positive. We continue to invest heavily in refurbishing and updating this big Victorian building! We've over 60 onsite activities, many of which are free and I hope you got an opportunity to take advantage of some of what we offer here. Good to read you will be back someday and thanks again for your great feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We are just back from a 4 night midweek break in a self catering cottage and we can't wait to book up again.
We were in a 2 bedroom cottage which was very spacious with massive ensuites in both bedrooms. The living area was really well fitted out and the views (even through the rain) were stunning.
We arrived at 2pm thinking that was check in time however when we discovered it was actually 4pm check in we headed to the Winter Gardens to relax with a cup of tea and a cake, which was a lovely start to the break. Like other reviewers, on our next trip to the Hydro, we will head up first thing and make use of the facilities before checking in.
My 3 year old daughter loved the Big Country. She really enjoyed the activities and was always asking when she could go back in.
We also had my elderly uncle coming up on our last night and he was booked into the Hotel as a treat for his 80th Birthday. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, sorting out a single room with a walk in shower and even taking the room decorations we'd bought and decorating the room for us. It also was really nice to see familiar faces on the reception desk each day, and I really feel they should be commended for providing such a friendly personal service especially in such a big Hotel.
Regarding food, we ate in the brassiere for lunch one day which was really tasty and good value with 2 courses for £10 and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We also had dinner in the club house on our first night which is really handy for the Culcrieff cottages. It had a really nice relaxed feel to it. As we were there off season during the week, there was only one member of staff who took the orders and then cooked and served the food but that helped create a nice personal atmosphere and the food was again tasty and good value for money. On our last night to celebrate my uncles birthday we ate in the Meikle Restaurant. We had spoken to the chef in advance to request a simple menu for my uncle who is a very fussy eater. The chef couldn't have been more helpful, phoning us to discuss what was on the menu then offering to make my uncle's favourite foods for all 3 courses - it really made my uncle's night - especially the baked alaska! This was really appreciated especially since the restaurant was very busy that night.
The combination of the stunning accommodation and really helpful, friendly staff meant we had a lovely break and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_mel113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Hi Miss_mel113. It sounds like you had such a good time and its great for us to get your feedback. I'm so glad the self catering cottage was perfect for your needs and that our team here helped make your stay so enjoyable. It sounds like your uncle had a super birthday and we're delighted. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This was our first visit to the Crieff Hydro and will be returning for sure.

Our check in was great, greeted with lovely members of staff. Our room was 372 located on the 3rd floor, took our time to find it due to the size of the building but great to explore and was worth it when we found it. Small but very cosy, modern, clean, big bed and excellent view. Randomly no tea bags but plenty of coffee!! Not exactly something to complain about too much but some reviewers would!!!

The bathroom was of a very high standard. Quite a deep bath which was nice to relax in.

Although the weather was rotten during our stay there was plenty to do indoors. We used the Victoria Spa which was second to none; adult only with free refreshments. Very relaxing indeed. Snooker room was good too. The cinema also included within the price which was an added bonus.

We ate in the Meikle restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was very formal however the food was very nice, although small, the three course did fill us up. Tablet with the coffee was nice. Breakfast was an all you can eat buffet - why have it any other way!? Yet again, brilliant with an endless choice.

Great consistent service throughout our stay. I read on this someone compared the lobby as cheap ikea style. Why nip pick something like that!? Fair enough if that is where you are going to sleep!! Frankly it is decorated to a high modern standard. Creates a fantastic impression.

To some this review up I'm a fussy open minded person and still can't fault the place. Highly recommend for all and any age.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Hi Grahamfind, It certainly sounds like you made most of your short stay with us and found plenty to do inside despite the November rain! Thanks for your great comments about our service and in particular our friendly reception team, they all read Trip Advisor and will be chuffed to get a mention. Thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope you'll be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Had a 3 night stay with two other couples and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel its restaurants its leisure facilities. The staff could not be more helpful.The Segways are a new experience and the young lad who gave instruction was excellent with his patience and clear instructions. Surrounding area with lovely walks and scenery.

So good the we have booked a self catering chalet for the spring and holding a get-together of the family so that we can share the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug66s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Hi Doug 66s, What a lovely review and it's great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities inside and out. We are certainly lucky to be in a such gorgeous location and there are few better ways to explore than zooming around on a Segway!

We're delighted you've already re-booked to come back. A true endorsement that a great time was had by all. See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews