We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,363)
Filter reviews
4,363 results
Traveller rating
2,027
1,238
595
333
170
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,027
1,238
595
333
170
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeikle restaurantvictorian spawinter gardenkids clubself cateringchild carefamily hotelsoft playquad bikingexecutive roomoutdoor activitiesfamily breakbunk bedsbouncy castlecrazy golfthe main hotelparty night
Filter
Updating list...
3,781 - 3,786 of 4,363 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Had a family break with grandparents and small children. Everybody was happy. Our self-catering cottage was really luxurious for what we paid. The staff were all lovely with a very helpful attitude to the guests.
Kids went to the kids club and really enjoyed it. A lot of the facilities have been upgraded since our last stay 4 years ago. The kids pool was toasty warm, which meant they could stay in for ages.
Had 3 meals in the various restaurants, all were tasty and good value
Can't really think of any flaws.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Myself, my husband and our two young children stayed here for 3 nights on a Midweek Winter Break offer which included a visit to Santa's Grotto. This hotel has got to be one of the best we have stayed in in Scotland. There are activities to suit all ages (although we didn't do much outside the hotel due to the snow). The reception staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The kids club Big Country was brilliant. Our 4 year old went to 2 three hour sessions a day while we stayed there and loved it. The staff were friendly and I felt safe leaving the kids at Big Country. We also used the creche a couple of times for our 18 month old (that was payable - £15 per session). We also had a visit to Santa's grotto where our children got to meet Santa and received a present.
There were plenty places to eat. Our package included lunch boxes for the kids and breakfast (lovely buffet breakfast) and dinner for two of the nights in the Meikle Restaurant. We opted to go to the Brasserie instead as it was less formal and more suitable for us as a family and we were allocated £21 per adult towards the cost of eating here. The kids had High Tea in the Brasserie every day which was quite varied.
We had an Executive Family Alcove Suite on the second floor which was beautiful and very comfortable.
All staff throughout the hotel are very professional, polite and friendly.
All in all we had a fantastic break here and will definitely return next year when we will take advantage of the better weather to take part in more outdoor activities.

Room Tip: Executive Family Suites
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Just back from a stay in one of the three bedroom cottages. Very clean, comfortable and like a home from home. Would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Cottage 813 has a great view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

A short and sweet review ! thanks for your great comments and we hope we'll see you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We booked an 'itison' deal for a night here.

We like the hotel, spacious, friendly staff, plenty to do. Our meals were good in the restaurant.

Our deal included entry to the Victorian Spa - which we really liked, partly due to the terrible weather outside. With our itison deal, this only included one day of our stay.

The let down was our room. They obviously don't operate a 'best room available' that some hotels offer. Clearly the hotel was very quiet, so why would we be allocated a disabled access room with no view? Perhaps this is the itison room?

The other issue with our room was the terrible drainage smell, which only got bad on the day we left (otherwise we would have asked for a change of room) - the whole apartment stank. The girl at reception did not seem too interested when we mentioned at check-out.

Avoid room 17!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Hi there mckol, thanks for your recent review, we glad to see that overall you were pleased with your stay although i'm sorry you were disappointed with your room. We could have certainly moved you if the hotel was quiet and we'd known you were unhappy. I hope you'll come back in the future, please remind us about this time and, we'll put a complimentary upgrade request in your booking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I and 20 members of my family came to this wonderful, friendly hotel,at the last minute as sadly our Dad passed away in the local hospital.However I found this hotel FABULOUS as it cared for all our needs and we all had a great time,despite our sorrow. .....there was something for every age...form the oldest ,my Mum who came to the private Sunday lunch ...to the youngest at one who swam each day ......the children were the quickest at finding there way around...but soon the pool,cinema and food places were easily known and we could let the 8 and 12 year olds have keys and go exploring safely !.....there was a ceiladh on the Saturday night...great fun ....we regularly met in one of the restaurants going from a party of 4 to 6 to 15 or so in minutes and were always accommodated.... we hired function rooms , the HIGHLANDER and DRUMMOND ROOMS were excellent .....
the bedrooms were clean and comfortable ,sadly i didn't get to stay in mine < as at family home.....yet my 2 sons found that having room service ,and put the tab on their uncles' bills was great ..and getting the room cleaned each day ...DON'T get used to this boys !!!!1
All the staff were friendly and polite and i loved chatting to various staff from around the world ....I would tottaly recommend this for families ,singles and couples xx

Room Tip: Room 14 and 16, family and twin rooms, first floor, excellent for convenience, accessibility quietness and good size.x.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Elliem123, I think this is possibly the nicest review we've ever received. Your experience truly captures all that we try to be. If we have, even in a small way, helped make a potentially difficult period a little bit easier for you and your family, then we have achieved something special. With love and best wishes for the New Year to you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews