We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not use this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Advertised as a great experience for fine dining, adventure and relaxation.

Anything but! Staff were unwelcoming, inexperieced at the Meikle restaurant and generally unhelpful. The fine dining was informal with T-shirts and kids everywhere.

Worst to come was blood in the bedroom toilet. How can this have happend and been missed? Terrible and a health risk!

A recent trip by friends to the same hotel and... food poisioning. They have been reported to the environmental services but and very unhelpful. Rather than try to identify the probelm so it doesn't happen again they are in total denial. You too could have the pleasure of paying for unclean rooms and a dodgy tummy for days.

Read between the lines. It's pure chance whether you will get a good experience.

Room Tip: Tip is, don't go to the Crieff Hydro. There are lots of very nice B&B's in Crieff. Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Paul2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Hi Paul2025, we're really sorry that you had such a disappointing time at Crieff Hydro and left with a terrible impression of our restaurant and housekeeping standards. Your comments are very concerning Paul and clearly, we don't always get things right. We do though take what you've told us seriously and will take all steps to make sure we don't repeat these failures in service. It goes without saying that food safety is paramount. We actually have a very positive relationship with our local Environmental Health Department who inspect our kitchens annually and consistently award a grade A rating. We are genuinely sorry your stay was so disappointing but thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,348 - 3,354 of 3,932 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

This place oozes style. This is the second year we've gone for their Christmas party night. The food is as good as can be expected given the volume they have to produce and the serving staff could not be more helpful. The room this year was very nice (last year's was a bit pokey) with everything you need. The live band was excellent but the disco when they were not playing was a bit average. Drinks were very expensive and spirit measures were small. That being said the group will be booking in for next year just don't be surprised by the prices.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larbert999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Hi there larbert999, we chuffed that you had such a good time at your Crieff Hydro party night. Thanks for your great comments which we'll use constructively when we all get together for the big festive de-brief. We hope you'll be back again in 2012, with best wishes for the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We booked a 3 night bargain (£195 all in) mid-week break in December in one of the luxury 2 bedroom cottages on the Hydro Estate and have just returned from a lovely holiday. The "cottage" (number 816) was great - space to spread out a little and to do your own thing without spending too much money at the resort itself! The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms massive, the location quiet and the kitchen well equipped. The view from out bedroom was amazing.

Our two year old loved the house - she immediately spread her toys out all over the floor and made herself at home. I loved having the flexibility to cook our own food or to go out if we chose and we saved lots of money by not eating in the hotel itself most of the time.

We made use of some of the inclusive childcare each morning by dropping our daughter off at the Big Country nursery. She seemed to have a great time there - playing with the toys, running about, playing on the play equipment and doing arts and crafts. In better weather, the staff take them on adventures round the estate, which sounds like great fun.

The leisure pool was good fun and pretty quiet when we visited (though I understand it can be heaving with families during weekends and the school holidays). The pool is long enough to swim proper lengths if you want and there's a very warm kids pool as well as a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.

In short, we had a great break in low season. I would recommend the luxury cottages if you like to have a bit more space or are on a budget as the food costs can mount if you're in the hotel. The only downside of the cottages are that they are a couple of miles from the hotel up and along the hill - in winter you would probably drive this, though there is a lovely path you can walk which is about a mile or so and takes 15 minutes to walk.

Room Tip: Cottage 816 (2 bedroom, sleeping 6) and the neighbouring 817 have amazing views across the valley to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMC_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My wife and I have just returned from another fantastic night at the Crieff Hydro. We enjoyed the "Party Night" with a group of friends and stayed in one of the suites which was fantastic. I think there is an ongoing programme of room renovations and whilst we have always been satisfied the accommodation we had this year was out of this world. Didn't quite make it to breakfast this year and should have opted for the room service but made up for it with a lovely lunch in the Brasserie. We also enjoyed a relaxing couple of hours in the Victorian Spa. I'm sure we will be back again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonoftheDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

What terrific comments all-round SonoftheDesert, our party nights are always great fun - we're taking bookings for next year right now so I hope you'll be coming back in 2012!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed at Crieff in the self catering last week. Cottage was fantastic, lots of room and really well equipped although no chopping board. Hotel facilities were also excellent for our 11 month baby and staff v friendly.

The only disappointment was the food in the restaurant. I ordered the caesar salad and it was small, the chicken was tough and overall the salad was swimming in sauce. Not tasty and really expensive. We did eat in the winter cafe later in the week and the soup and sandwich were fine so I would recommend doing self catering to anyone considering going there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcpherson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Hi there and thanks for your recent review mcpherson84. I'm pleased that overall, your stay was really enjoyable. We use all feedback to continually improve what we do so, thanks for bringing to our attention a couple of things that weren't quite right. We hope you'll come and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Just returned from an overnight stay and fantastic party night. This is the 3rd year we have been to a party night and booked next years before checking out its that good.

Our room (179) was really large and decorated to the usual high standard. There was a lovely turret window with window seat where I sat and people watched and admired the view. My only comment here is that although the room was booked as a double it was 2 single beds side by side (not even hooked together) made up as two singles with single quilts. Bathroom up the the usual high standard with top quality fittings.

Breakfast finished at 10am (a bit early for the morning after a party night) we went down at about 9.40 to find a huge queue we were seated at 10.10 but there was plenty of hot food still being brought out.

The party night was very enjoyable and food to a high standard. The meal was a bit disorganised though as instead of taking our order the servers merely came over with plates of food and wandered around the tables looking for people who wanted what they had. It meant being asked 3 or 4 times each course what you had ordered. We were also a party of about 26 or so but were put at 3 tables of 8 - 10 although the table behind us was for about 20 so not sure why were were split up. Anyway it didn't detract from a good night, just a wee niggle!!!

Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the other facilities provided, there is always next year. Looking forward to it already/

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

What a lovely review kirstyg63! thanks for your feedback, it really means a lot when our guests enjoy their stay as much as you all clearly did. As you point out, there have indeed been a lot of improvements and developments in the last few years and I'm glad you were impressed with our restaurants and childcare. Big thanks for your kind comments about our friendly team too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Had a family break with grandparents and small children. Everybody was happy. Our self-catering cottage was really luxurious for what we paid. The staff were all lovely with a very helpful attitude to the guests.
Kids went to the kids club and really enjoyed it. A lot of the facilities have been upgraded since our last stay 4 years ago. The kids pool was toasty warm, which meant they could stay in for ages.
Had 3 meals in the various restaurants, all were tasty and good value
Can't really think of any flaws.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
786 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,334 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: £78 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing