We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Have just returned from a 5 night stay in the self catering chalets over the New Year period.
Have stayed at the Hydro many times before and love it. I would say that the chalet that we had was very tired, not particularly comfortable and not immaculately clean. Was meant to sleep 5 but does not do so comfortably. The hotel itself though is great, facilities fab, restaurants fab and all very clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thanks for your review gill029. It means a lot when a regular guest takes the time to give such helpful feedback. It’s worrying 'though to hear that our housekeeping wasn’t up to scratch and we’ll definitely look into this straight away. If you would like to get in touch to let us know which chalet you stayed in we’ll also arrange for the decor to be refreshed. Size wise, I think we should look at a 5 star larger unit for your family next time so you’re all really comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,826
    1,076
    472
    264
    108
See reviews for
1,749
1,025
39
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed in a 2 bed Chalet for a week in May. It was clean and comfortable and well equiped. It required a bit of TLC but was not expecting the Ritz.

I was 6 months pregnant, price included 6 hours childcare, should you require it. Also included was use of the spa.

We ate twice on the Brasserie and really enjoyed our meals. Service was very good.

The gounds of the resort are wonderful. A trip to the Wildlife Centre is worth a visit.

Worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you for wonderful feedback Ears332205. Judging by your comments, Crieff Hydro sounds perfect for you and your family. We hope to welcome you back soon, when our BIG Country team will be thrilled to look after your new baby, leaving you free to enjoy a well-earned rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed with my 8 and 6 year old during late December. We were booked into a family room which was plenty big enough. The pool kept the kids occupied but they also enjoyed the ceilidh evening entertainment. We made use of the Big Country inclusive childcare to allow me some time to myself. I had dinner in the Brasserie both nights. I was served very promptly, and the food was excellent. As a single mum, I value the safe environment the hotel provides. They did go for a couple of lone explores to spend their pocket money in the little shop. I didn't manage to fully enjoy the sauna and the steam room or indeed the victorian spa (bit difficult with the kids alone) but I will return, perhaps with a friend, so I can fully enjoy all the lovely facilities. Many thanks to all the staff for making the kids' Christmas fantastic! S Mayes

Room Tip: Have had a family alcove room before. more fun for the kids, with bunk beds. But a little more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
It sounds as ‘though your children had a brilliant adventure here at the Hydro SMayes. There’s lots more places for them to discover, so please come back soon and we’ll make sure you all have a ball.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed December 2011, place is still lovely, as are the staff. Again, like the last time we stayed we did have a problem but again the hotel were excellent at resolving the problem. The bar staff had accidentally broken a small piece off my glass and this had gone in to my wifes drink. However the bar manager quickly resolved the problem and without fuss by replacing both our drinks and giving us our money back. The food was good but not excellent and the main course was warm not hot, that would be our only slight downside of our stay. Another good point of this hotel over say a Macdonald competitor is the price of snack food/drink is not that expensive, coffees/cakes around £2, alcohol around £3.50.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bighalders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Hi bighalders, it’s great to hear that we’re still ‘on the ball’ when it comes to customer service here at the Hydro and that we’ve got the pricing right on our snacks and drinks. Sounds like we need to have another look at our menus and food service ‘though and I’m sorry that we seemed to have slipped up with these things during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

4 night dbb package with free kids places at the Big Country play park. A really great time was had by all. A real family orientated hotel with lots to do. Good price.

Good choice of resturants, and even the Meikle Resturant was not too formal, which was a big plus as we had a 2 month old with us. Everyone did dress up for dinner whoich was nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Short but sweet feedback aileenC, but every word was music to our ears! Your recommendation is really appreciated and we hope it won’t be long before we see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Advertised as a great experience for fine dining, adventure and relaxation.

Anything but! Staff were unwelcoming, inexperieced at the Meikle restaurant and generally unhelpful. The fine dining was informal with T-shirts and kids everywhere.

Worst to come was blood in the bedroom toilet. How can this have happend and been missed? Terrible and a health risk!

A recent trip by friends to the same hotel and... food poisioning. They have been reported to the environmental services but and very unhelpful. Rather than try to identify the probelm so it doesn't happen again they are in total denial. You too could have the pleasure of paying for unclean rooms and a dodgy tummy for days.

Read between the lines. It's pure chance whether you will get a good experience.

Room Tip: Tip is, don't go to the Crieff Hydro. There are lots of very nice B&B's in Crieff. Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Paul2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Hi Paul2025, we're really sorry that you had such a disappointing time at Crieff Hydro and left with a terrible impression of our restaurant and housekeeping standards. Your comments are very concerning Paul and clearly, we don't always get things right. We do though take what you've told us seriously and will take all steps to make sure we don't repeat these failures in service. It goes without saying that food safety is paramount. We actually have a very positive relationship with our local Environmental Health Department who inspect our kitchens annually and consistently award a grade A rating. We are genuinely sorry your stay was so disappointing but thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This place oozes style. This is the second year we've gone for their Christmas party night. The food is as good as can be expected given the volume they have to produce and the serving staff could not be more helpful. The room this year was very nice (last year's was a bit pokey) with everything you need. The live band was excellent but the disco when they were not playing was a bit average. Drinks were very expensive and spirit measures were small. That being said the group will be booking in for next year just don't be surprised by the prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larbert999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Hi there larbert999, we chuffed that you had such a good time at your Crieff Hydro party night. Thanks for your great comments which we'll use constructively when we all get together for the big festive de-brief. We hope you'll be back again in 2012, with best wishes for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
526 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
750 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,756 reviews
16.4 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing