We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family break...just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wow. We have just returned from a 4 night stay in an Exec studio at Crieff Hydro. All 4 of us have had a most fantastic time. Boys(aged 4 and 6) have enjoyed the plethora of free activities available inc. swimming, bouncy castle, trampoline, adventure park and crazy golf, but best of all was Big Country. Dad particularly enjoyed the Segway and quad bikes....oh and the short walk down to the Glenturret Distillery, whilst I was more than happy to make the most of the walks and take in the most breathtaking views from this fantastic estate. The staff are all friendly and most helpful. Food was delicious and service was very attentive without being overbearing. The inclusion of lunch bags for the boys was a great bonus. My husband and I have travelled the world and stayed in some luxurious places and have to say that this place certainly compares well . Thank you all at Crieff. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie_Frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Any review that starts with a 'WOW' is bound to make our day Frankie_Frog and your review did just that! We were thrilled that the Hydro compared so favourably with the worldwide hotels that you've visited and we're chuffed that you're already planning a return stay. Can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,299 - 2,305 of 4,070 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Booked 2 nights for my partners 60th. Checked in early and was made welcome even if it did seem like the receptionist was reading from a script! Room was very nice with a nice view, although it was opposite a family room who had children running around at 5am.so check where your room is if you want a lay in. The hotel was lovely and clean and has some lovely old features. The restaurants were nice especially the Meikle. Breakfast is served in the Meikle and has everything you would want for breakfast. We used the adult only spa which costs £10 a day each adult and I'm not sure if this is good value for money as you probably only stay in there for a few hours at the most! But it is an open day pass so you can go back numerous times if you want in one day. My partner did the off road driving experience and is still talking about it. He absolutely loved it and the instructor was so good. There is everything you could wish to do there and is great for kids and adults alike. The only thing I can have a negative on is the fact that when I booked i told them it was for a special birthday, and it would of been nice for some recognition! Overall crieff hydro is a great place,excellent value for money and we will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: We had an executive room which had 2 showers and a lovely king size bed. Only down side is it was op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post such a detailed review, Julia M. It's great to read where we're getting things absolutely spot-on and also your tips on where we could improve. We're delighted that your 60th Birthday stay was so enjoyable overall and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Excellent venue, great value for money. ALL the amenities, our son loved it, the kids club is so good that we left him to it with no guilt, he made friends, did every kind of activity, and was never bored. He preferred to go to kids club than to dinner with us, so that was perfect.
Rooms are comfortable, not the latest. The adult spa was fantastic, value, £10 for the day to use pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, and not see a single child for the day. Highly recommended when your child is in kids club!
Staff are great, service is great, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We were all gambolling around the hotel like spring lambs after reading your stellar review, Lawrence J. Let's just say that you've made our Easter! Thanks from all at the Hydro and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Taking wedding photos at a wedding here in March. Surprised by price of stay but after spending the weekend here I could safely say it was money well spent. Good quality rooms amazing amenities and welcoming staff. Gary the wedding co ordinator was friendly and approachable and helped make the weekend go great. Would thoroughly recommend this to any couple wishing to tie the knot. I enjoyed the weekend even though it was a busy hotel. Quiet rooms and quality food. Only negative is the 11am checkout..best wedding hotel I have taken photos at...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johndobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

To receive such a glowing review from someone who visits so many hotels in the course of their work meant the world to us, johndobbie. Garry was really chuffed to receive your praise. Here's hoping you'll be back again soon - for business or pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a wonderful Hotel and resort for all the family to enjoy. There are various types of accommodation to suit your party's needs, and activities for all from Golfing, Off-Roading, to Swimming and Health Spa deep relaxation. Each time we have stayed we have stayed in the Hotel and been fortunate enough to have excellent views from our rooms, although some views from certain rooms are not as breath-taking as others. There really is no excuse for everyone that visits not to enjoy themselves as the range of activities available to patrons and day visitors is immense, best to select your activities before you arrive or you may spend your time trying to select what to do - when you should be doing it. All the rooms we have stayed in are of a very high standard and our stays have also had very relaxing / calm sleeping - without being interrupted by noise, This cannot be for certain as some guests can be in 'party' mode. The dining is very good and you can chose your dining style from a selection of restaurants with differing menus.

Room Tip: Just chill out and enjoy the experience - you'll like it and go again for more :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Splishsplasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Many thanks for your positive and comprehensive review, Splishsplasher, which made great reading and is bound to assist future guests too. It's great to hear that the Hydro ticks so many boxes for you and we hope to see you again before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed in a cottage, it was modern clean and had a lovely balcony to sit out on. The kids club is excellent. The food in the hotel good and the staff very helpful. The walks round the place are lovely. The spa is lovely

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Your review was short, but sweet Karen C and every word was music to our ears - thanks. Hope you'll be back for another relaxing break before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We booked the Crieff Hydro to be close to other activities in the Crieff/Perth area. The hotel was filled with small children (under the age of 6) and running throughout the hotel (no control by parents). It would be a good place for multi-generational families, looking to be together, but we were traveling with young adults.

The on-site activities are numerous, from tennis and swimming to horse back riding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from small kids. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetrentongroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

As Scotland's leading family resort thetrentongroup, it's hard to know how to respond to a review about "too many kids". However, if you're able to visit at a quieter time, we're sure you'll find a much more relaxed atmosphere. Here's hoping we can tempt you back someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
594 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
815 reviews
15.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
997 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grampian Hotel
Grampian Hotel
#14 of 18 in Perth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: £84 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing