We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night break. Well worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“3 night break. Well worth it.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel from Monday 7th - 8th April last week on a DB&B deal. On arrival we were very impressed by the hotel and grounds but did find difficulty parking the car because it was so busy.
The room was spacious, clean and had an excellent view over the grounds.
We booked 2 meals in the Meikle restaurant on Monday & Tuesday and the 3rd meal in the Brasserie. There was nothing wrong with the food in the Brasserie in fact it was as good as the Meikle but if you are a couple or a small group I would recommend the Meikle every time. A beautiful large room with decor to match.
Excellent breakfast as well. If you ant to burn off the calories there are a huge range of activities run by the hotel.
The staff were all very polite and helpful.
All in all a fantastic break and we will be going back sometime in the future.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room at the rear of the hotel facing down to the village. Nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazzerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review, GazzerD. We really enjoyed reading it and it's bound to assist future guests too. With so much yet to discover, we hope it won't be too long before we'll be seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,826
    1,077
    472
    264
    108
See reviews for
1,750
1,025
39
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (874)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Weeks break for easter holiday with 2 kids aged 7 and 4. 3 nights in hotel and 4 nights in cozy cabin. Had a superb time. Good walking. superb facilities - everything the kids could want. Free kids club was a massive hit with both us and the children. The rain did not put any dampness on our holiday - never ending supply of entertainment. Food good in all the restaurants - we tried them all! Will definitely be returning

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDaveScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for your superb review, DrDaveScotland. We love our newly-refurbished Cozy Cabins and it's great to hear that you liked them too. Even with the rain your break sounded such great fun that we hope it won't be too long before you and your family return to the Hydro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just spend a fabulous week at Crieff Hydro. We've stayed several times but decided on self-catering instead of the hotel this time round. We stayed at Culcrieff Cottages the location was perfect away from the hotel with views of the countryside, but close enough to the hotel to allow us to use all the facilities. If your thinking of the hotel, this is great too, just depends on what your looking for but Crieff Hydro certainly tops my ratings for family holidays.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHELLE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Any review with 'Fabulous' in the title is bound to please us and yours was no exception, MICHELLE O - thanks! We're delighted that your first foray into a self catering break proved so successful. Here's hoping you'll be back for another visit soon, whether that be Hotel or Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent 2 nights BB and evening meal. Everything was perfect. The room was very comfortable and of a high standard. I have stayed at the Cameron House Hotel and the standard was inferior to Crieff Hydro. The staff were excellent and always friendly and smiling and willing to help at every turn. The food was excellent at dinner and breakfast and the treats in between i.e. cakes, scones, afternoon tea was lovely. The entertainment for the kids was brilliant. We were entertained watching them dance Scottish dances with the staff and their parents. It was such a laugh. All together, a great break at this hotel with everything you could ever want for every age. Thanks again.

Room Tip: We were in a standard room (39). It was on the ground floor at a quiet end of the hotel. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Your wonderful review was better that any Easter Egg that we could buy, FlorenceScotland! This is one of our busiest times of year and we were all buoyed by your lovely comments. Thanks from all at the Hydro and here's hoping we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed last week, with two kids age 3 and 6. They really enjoyed there stay but would not go into the kids clubs. Good was good and entertainment also good and activities. Felt the family room was not big enough and could have been set out better.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmathers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Many thanks for your fair review, Cmathers1. We're pleased that your stay went well in the main and will be delighted to allocate a larger room next time round if you just remind us when you book. Here's hoping you'll return before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigellachie
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

good stuff; friendly staff, clean rooms, good facilities.

not so good stuff; Meals Breakfast; watered down orange juice, eggs poached in fat, veggie sausages that looked as if they had been nuked, tinned mandarins, instead of changing the different hot trays when they were getting low food was just dumped on top of the existing mess, supplemented pancakes; three fifty pence sized pancakes which cost 50 pence each and chocolate sauce which could only of been made from cocoa powder and water. supplements!!!!
Dinner; Supplements on any red meat, half the menu was made up of supplements, over cooked fish dishes still frozen sweets just poor quality, oh and small portions.
Brasserie lunch; starters, three prawns for £8, over cooked children's pizza, mushy supplemented veg, muscles in water or what passed as sauce, very little choice from set menu.
£15 duck exactly the same as chicken from the set menu, and just to finish livestock in the salad!!!!!
who is managing the catering because its letting down what could be a decent holiday experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt13teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for the good stuff in your review, Matt13teen, but so sorry that the food during your stay failed to impress. It's always hard to hear that we've disappointed any of our guests, but we appreciate your candour and have relayed your feedback to our Executive Chef. Hope you'll give us another chance someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wow. We have just returned from a 4 night stay in an Exec studio at Crieff Hydro. All 4 of us have had a most fantastic time. Boys(aged 4 and 6) have enjoyed the plethora of free activities available inc. swimming, bouncy castle, trampoline, adventure park and crazy golf, but best of all was Big Country. Dad particularly enjoyed the Segway and quad bikes....oh and the short walk down to the Glenturret Distillery, whilst I was more than happy to make the most of the walks and take in the most breathtaking views from this fantastic estate. The staff are all friendly and most helpful. Food was delicious and service was very attentive without being overbearing. The inclusion of lunch bags for the boys was a great bonus. My husband and I have travelled the world and stayed in some luxurious places and have to say that this place certainly compares well . Thank you all at Crieff. We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie_Frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Any review that starts with a 'WOW' is bound to make our day Frankie_Frog and your review did just that! We were thrilled that the Hydro compared so favourably with the worldwide hotels that you've visited and we're chuffed that you're already planning a return stay. Can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
526 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
750 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,757 reviews
16.4 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing