We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

My thoughts are echoed by everyone else visiting over the recent Easter weekend. Despite the hotel being super busy, the staff coped brilliantly as ever and made us feel relaxed and pampered. Crieff Hydro improves every year as they add new activities, improve rooms and tweak any areas which need tweaking! We were in a very large family group and there is nowhere else we know that can cater for each and every one of us so well. See you next year.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MurphyandSaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Reading your fabulous review brought Morecambe & Wise to mind, MurphyandSaga and, to echo their famous words, we'd like to say "If you've enjoyed it, then it's all been worthwhile". We'll resist doing their silly walk 'though and just add that we can't wait to see you next year,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,811
    1,064
    470
    261
    104
See reviews for
1,735
1,013
38
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We returned to Crieff Hydro this year for Easter weekend and delighted it was a success for all 12 of our party.
The Reception staff were very pleasant and check-in swift & efficient.
We were all in the main hotel, us four in a family suite which accommodated the grown-ups in a wonderful king sized bed and our children aged 6 & 4 in their own twin room within our suite. The room itself was comfortable and had everything you could need and the bathroom nicely appointed.
Due to a miscommunication within our party we hadn't made dinner reservations prior to arrival, but the staff kindly booked a table at the sister hotel The Murraypark which is literally at the end of the drive. I did not attend the dinner as our children decided they would try Kids Club for the 1st time (which I had pre-booked from 6.30-9.30pm), quite rightly Big Country ask that parents/guardians remain on the premises. My Husband & I fortunately managed to get a cancellation for the Meikle Restaurant with the help of a very kind Gentleman working on the Brasserie desk whilst the others went to Murraypark.
There were certainly no complaints from either experience, the food was lovely and well presented.
The Children's High Tea was also very good and can safely say that there's something for everyone, fussy eaters included!
I'm often in awe of how a Hotel on this scale caters so well for the masses yet everything appears seamless and the staff remain the most polite and helpful I have encountered.
It may be on the expensive side but I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a perfect family break in Scotland, fantastic amenities, entertainment, surroundings & scenery.....you get what you pay for!
I've yet to experience the Spa and intend using it extensively on our next visit now our children have used Big Country and asked to go again the following evening, sure it wouldn't be a hardship for them to go in the afternoon session and let Mum be pampered?
Thanks again Crieff Hydro for a great family weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators & stairways if you have light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeldrumRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Arranging a break for 12 people can't have been easy, MeldrumRob - so we're thrilled that the Hydro came up trumps for you all. Here's hoping that you'll be back before long, when perhaps you'll have the chance to enjoy your much longed-for Spa pampering session!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

An excellent place to meet up with family, all 30 of us, with plenty to do for all ages in a nice relaxed atmosphere. Thoroughly recommend the self catering lodges with ideal accommodation and high standard throughout. Babysitting facilities and personnel were first class.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Poppy303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We know how much careful planning goes into arranging a large family gathering, Poppy303, so it really made our day to read that all 30 members of your party had a great time at the Hydro. Thanks for your great review and we hope to welcome you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We went up to Crieff for the first time with my partner and daughter on a dinner bed and breakfast deal which was great value for money. It was easter weekend and they had lots of fun activities to keep my 2yr old entertained and also games and bouncy castle outside in the sun.
Food was great and the service was even better.
Planning our next trip already and planning to use the lodges and bring our friends.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We were all 'eggstatic' (sorry - just couldn't resist) to hear that your sunny Easter weekend stay was so much fun, Cory M. Knowing that you're already planning a self-catering break with friends makes everything even better. Hope you'll be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

First time my girlfriend and I had stayed here. We had received good feedback from friends and they were correct.
Really nice hotel to stay in with lots to see and do. We stayed in one of the executive rooms and the view from the bedroom was stunning. It was nice and big and the bathroom looked very new.
With it being the easter holidays there were a lot of families about but it didn't bother us as there was lots to do away from all the kids.
We used the adult only spa which was really nice for a swim, sauna etc. Thought the £10 entry per person was a bit over priced but we did enjoy it as we wouldn't have gone near the normal pool as it was packed.
Had a lovely walk around the hotel estate and up the knock hill. Some great views and a good exerting walk after the cooked breakfast.
The food at the hotel was very good, enjoyed the 2 evening dinners in the main restaurant. The breakfast was also very good with lots of options.
Hotel is in a good location as there are lots to see and do nearby. Went to the famous grouse experience(Glenturret distillery) which is worth a look, got a couple of tastes of the different whisky which was tasty.
Had a walk around Crieff, not too much to the town but we did find a really nice cafe/furniture/jewellery shop called the loft which is worth a look in.

Would definitely come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majestic0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We're all really chuffed to hear that your first visit to the Hydro was so enjoyable, Majestic0801. It certainly sounds as 'though you got a real flavour for all that the hotel and surrounding area has to offer. Here's hoping you'll be staying in your 'room with a view' again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was a a chance for the whole family to be together and from the minute we arrived we were impressed. Big Country was perfect for the little ones leaving the adults able to enjoy an excellent menu in the Meikle restaurant in the evening. Food for children was perfect and in particular they were happy to cook for allergies - a real bonus. The activities meant there was something for everyone to do or one could find a quiet corner despite the large numbers. A perfect weekend for us!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank together2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We love making wonderful memories for families to cherish, together2014 - so it was brilliant to hear that your family Birthday celebration was such a roaring success. From the toddlers to the seniors it sounds as 'though you all had a ball! Hope you'll return for another 'perfect' stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Easter break so aware it would be busy, we ventured from Edinburgh with 2 young children and from start to finish had nothing but good things to say. There was even a wedding on the Saturday yet it didn't interfere with our stay at all and the guests seemed to have a great time too.
It's not cheap but crieff hydro is now in such a unique place in terms of delivering great experiences to families that it needn't matter. You could spend a lot less but never get the combination of wonderful staff, good food, activities, comfortable surroundings, gorgeous views and countryside in this country. The kids clubs are exceptional with caring and happy staff.
Stephen Leckie has invested wisely in new facilities and the room refurbishment programme has delivered real comfort. The training of staff in attitude and ability means smiling faces and helpful suggestions and the management are always present but not in your face.
The new treetop challenge is spectacular and safety paramount but not stifling. The Victorian spa remains one of the best kept secrets in Scotland! No kids and relaxation at its best.
I cannot fault the hotel, the staff or the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
It was real pleasure to meet you during your stay, Malcolm C and this fantastic review is simply the 'cherry on the cake'. It's always lovely to receive praise, but when it comes after one of our busiest periods it makes everything so worthwhile. Here's hoping you'll return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
16.4 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing