We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun for all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great fun for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just spent 3 nights in a Cosy Cabin and indeed it was. Superb accommodation for the 3 of us. Plenty room, very comfortable, fantastic kitchen facilities with a large table for dining and card playing!! Only disappointment was not having the opportunity to use the wood burner as we had great weather!
Activities were equally as good... Aloft, Quad Biking & Air Rifles, all great fun with friendly instructors. Swimming pool, table tennis & outdoor chess were our less adventurous activities!
All in all, a fun filled, action packed 3 days with a 12 year old boy who is already planning his next visit!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gillt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, gillt33. We just love our brand new Cozy Cabins and we're thrilled that you were impressed too. Our Action Glen team were also made up with your outdoor activity feedback. We're delighted that your son is spearheading a campaign to return and hope to see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,757
    1,038
    460
    252
    101
See reviews for
1,682
985
36
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have visited Crieff Hydro regularly since our son was born - he is now 12. As he has got older, what the hotel has to offer has evolved with him. Big Country (children's club) has great staff & our son still enjoys going. There are loads of other activities for children & adults.

Although it has its imperfections being a grand old hotel (with modern but sympathetic extension), it has moved with the times. New additions such as the Hub and new foyer & reception along with continuous rolling refurbishment of bedrooms make it fit for the 21st century. We have stayed in a variety of family rooms & only once have we had a sub-optimal room (144).

We think that the food in the more formal Meikle Restaurant has improved in recent years. We have also enjoyed meals in the Brasserie. Children's high tea is now served in the Meikle having moved from the Brasserie & seems to be less of a bunfight now.

We have generally found the management to be responsive to any complaints & willing to make amends.

It's very relaxing & we envisage continuing to visit this super resort.

Room Tip: Avoid Rm 144, near lift & has an obstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gramac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Your terrific review gladdened all our hearts, gramac. We’ve tried so hard to ‘move with the times’, whist maintaining the unique Hydro ethos and it’s wonderful that you think we’ve achieved this successfully. Here’s hoping that we’ll be welcoming you and your family back for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Me and my wife came to Crieff Hydro to celebrate my 30th Birthday and we had a great time away.

The first night we ate in the Brasserie and it was a bit more casual. We booked ahead and this would be recommended as the hotel was very busy. The food was great to and portions were generous. The next night, we ate in the Meikle Restaurant. Just before our meal, we had a quick drink in the Meikle Bar with the grand piano and whisky wall which was a delight. The meal itself was superb. We have eaten at many acclaimed restaurant in the country and the food served on this evening was on a par with many of them.

The breakfast was buffet styled and was really tasty! Again, plenty on offer to cater for all dietary requirements.

During the day, we ate in the lovely Winter Garden which held a very relaxing atmosphere whilst offering plenty of drinks and snacks. The rugby was on the weekend we were there and we watched this in The Hub which is more of a cafeteria styled snack area but offers alcohol also. The food here was pretty poor and overpriced but I think the area is more suited for kids.

With the hotel being very busy, there were a lot of children in the pool area but the hotel offers an adult only spa for an additional fee, i think this was about £7-10?! It was very relaxing but when we went back later in the day, it was full which was disappointing, but I can appreciate the hotel's policy not too allow too many people in otherwise it would ruin the relaxing atmosphere. The guy at the desk did ask if we wanted put on the waiting list and he would phone when there is a slot.

There were plenty activities on offer for all ages.

Our room was spotless and the bathroom was lovely with a luxurious sized bath.

We look forward to returning here in the near future :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnKY10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Many thanks for your stellar review, JohnMurrayJnr We're really chuffed that your 30th Birthday stay was so enjoyable overall and it's the cherry on the cake to read that you'll be returning someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I have just spent the weekend at Crieff Hydro with our 2 and a half year old granddaughter. We all loved it. Olivia went to the playgroup once each day for 3 hours. She could have gone for a further 3 hours but we thought that would be too much for her. We also wanted her to enjoy the other activities. She was in seventh heaven in the soft play area. She was a little bit apprehensive about going on Polly the pony but once on Polly, she loved it. She also literally threw herself in to the children's pool. The disco was a huge success also even if she was exhausted after it. I think we need a holiday after it but it was all well worth it and a big success. We are planning another trip already.

Room Tip: The single bed in our room for too high for a little one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We just love making memories for families to cherish, Joan M, so it was wonderful to hear that time spent at the Hydro with your granddaughter was so special. Mind you, we were exhausted just reading how much Olivia packed into her stay! Please hurry back to see us all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just back from a two night break which was enjoyable but exhausting. Booked a family room to get more floor space with double bed and travel cot. No cot on arrival but a single bed. Requested bed be removed and cot put in place but this never happened - we ended up squashed with double, single and cot and I couldn't face mentioning it again. First night was very noisy from corridor and lifts. Room very very hot so disturbed night for all. Lost part of next days holiday taking toddler to pharmacy for heat rash treatment and couple of hours that afternoon napping to catch up on sleep! Brasserie restaurant child friendly but kids menu not suitable for toddlers or younger kids (starter choice was French onion soup or duck terrine!) Facilities and staff wonderful and we will probably return but will be more specific with requests and learn to ask and push a little more!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSI0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Oh, CSI0505 we're so sorry that a breakdown in communication marred your stay in this way. It's kind of you to be so understanding and we're pleased that you'll give us another chance someday. Please remind us of this when you book your next stay and we'll allocate a room with the 'WOW' factor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Crieff Hydro for 4 nights, Wednesday through to Saturday and were impressed by the facilities and activities offered that were definitely family focused. The rooms were spacious and well equipped and the Scottish breakfast was scrumptious, especially the haggis!!. With a warm indoor swimming pool and side pool for little children it didn't matter if the weather turned inclement. With easy access by local bus to Perth and very helpful and knowledgeable reception staff it is an ideal place for families to gather for that special event or a holiday together. The grounds were immaculate.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor but overlooking the delivery area. If you want a lie in I suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for your excellent review, Jan T. It's great to hear that you were so impressed during your visit and we appreciate your recommendation for others to visit. Here's hoping that we'll have the chance to welcome you back someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We took my elderly inlaws to Crieff Hydro for my mother-in-laws 80th birthday. When we arrived it was extremely busy but checkin was fast and efficient. When the receptionist realised my MIL was disabled he allocated them a ground floor accessible room which was great. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the grounds. Very clean and comfortable, nice big bed, lots of pillows and tea and coffee making facilities.

Although the hotel was very busy it didn't feel crowded, the grounds are vast and well set out, with lots of walks and plenty of activities on site. This is a brilliant hotel to visit if you have children, they are very well catered for.

We had a hiccup with our meal in the Brasserie on the Friday night but this was swiftly remedied by Laura the assistant manager. We booked in for the Saturday night and had a very nice meal, thoroughly enjoyed it. Big thank you to Laura for looking after us and to Anita our server on the night. You are both a credit to the hotel. The cocktails in the Brasserie were great!

Breakfast was in the Meikle restaurant. Fantastic choice, one of the best breakfasts we've had. Although the restaurant was really busy we never had to wait for coffee etc to arrive, it was run really efficiently. The staff do a brilliant job.

As I mentioned, the grounds are lovely but unfortunately we weren't able to really explore due to MIL needing a wheelchair when out and about and there are a lot of hills. Not a huge deal as we travelled out and about in the local area which has some stunning scenery.

Highly recommend the hotel, we will definitely visit again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacDer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Aw, we all felt warm and fuzzy when we read your fantastic review JacDer - especially Laura and Anita! It's lovely that the Hydro ticked all the boxes for your perfect weekend break and the 'cherry on the cake' was reading that you'll be returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
22.3 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing