We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it ”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay with beauty break. We arrived and were pleasantly greeted at the reception. Booked a table in the brasserie restaurant and gonazlo was a great waiter very friendly. And the back massage and facial was amazing came home feeling very refreshed and relaxed. And the Cuban mojitos were delicious. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heather20w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
It's great to hear that your beauty break ticked all the right boxes and gave you some much needed TLC, heather20w. Gonzalo was chuffed to be singled out for praise. Here's hoping you'll be back to enjoy a few more Mojitos before long and maybe for a bit longer next time round?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,786
    1,050
    466
    261
    103
See reviews for
1,716
998
36
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Went to Crieff Hydro for my partner's conference. Spent three lovely days exploring the resort and enjoying the hospitality. The resort itself is in a beautiful part of Scotland - about an hour away from Edinburgh airport. Lots of green hills, forest, and wildlife. The resort has tons of activities for children and adults. I really enjoyed the spa and treatment options. Food was lovely and very local. They have a great whiskey selection in the piano bar. Staff members were kind and considerate. Although we don't have children, it seemed to be an ideal place for young families. It is a bit remote and if you don't have a car, it may be tricky to get to (the conference arranged transportation for us from the airport) but the staff did mention that it is possible to hire a car, if needed. Would recommend it to anyone and I would love to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for taking time to post such an informative review, Heather S, which is bound to assist future guests. With so much yet to discover on-site and in the surrounding area, we hope that it won't be too long before we can welcome you back - for work or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great range of activities for all, many of them included in the cost of your stay. Good location for a family break. Kids club excellent, and lovely victorian Afternoon teas!!
Superb all-weather tennis courts, decent golf course, and short course for kids/beginners.
Sprawling facilities across a huge estate, and therefore great for people watching if you feel you are past your sporting best. Excellent choice for a family break

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Gosh, you fitted a lot into your stay Fraser S and your review! As someone who's definitely "past their sporting best" I was exhausted just reading it! We're really chuffed that the Hydro proved the perfect venue for your family break and hope to welcome you all back before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

nice place to stay, a few things to do on a wet weekend but it comes at a cost
and avoid the pool on a saturday afternoon, far too busy, food and service was good though and daughter loved the kids club

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GettingGooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
What a shame that poor weather prevented you from fully enjoying all that the Hydro has to offer, Alison S. With so much more for you still to discover, we hope you'll return soon, when we'll keep our fingers crossed that the sun will shine for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent location with fantastic facilities.
Incredibly helpful staff. Very clean and well maintained.
We stayed for 3 nights as part of a car tour of the Highlands and Skye.
The food quality and choice was most comprehensive and well prepared and served.

Room Tip: There are so many that I cannot recommend any other than room 60.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We knew that we were in for a great review when we spotted your title and top score, BobBLythamStAnnes and you didn't disappoint! We're thrilled that Crieff Hydro came up trumps on your Highland tour and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Probably one of the best weekend breaks for all the family you could experience in our fantastic country, we stayed here for 3nts B&B with Dinner included 2nts of our stay (2 adults, 3 kids), on arrival a speedy check in and then up to the room, we were in room 369 well chuffed we had a very spacious room and the kids had a even bigger room which had 4 beds so plenty of room for all, our only complaint regarding the room was it was a little uncomfortable to sleep in through the night due to heat, we had turned all the radiators of but still had the windows as open as possible (hey not enough to go and complain about to reception anyway) don't let this put you of, on the Friday we booked the Piccolo Brasserie and I am certainly no huge Italian/pizza fan but I must say I enjoyed dinner very much the freshly made pizza was amazing, breakfast the following morning was also excellent and on the menu was haggis a fav of mine anyways, my 2 daughters went horse riding on a trek and thoroughly enjoyed that whilst we took our younger son to the play park then, we used the lagoon poll and facility's that afternoon which has a water slide open for a while each day again highly recommended, pre dinner drinks then of to The Brassiere for yet another delicious meal, we enjoyed a great nights entertainment in the Ballroom dancing to a Ceilidh that evening, another lovely breakfast then a hour on the tennis courts, now although we did enjoy this they a very slippery and our eldest slipped and cut her legs so be careful here, that afternoon we had book the kids into the afternoon session at Big Country whilst we went on the Segway's which we truly enjoyed, there a little tricky if your like my wife and easily put of but I kept her confidence up whilst we had the 10min practice and she became comfortable and really enjoyed our 1hour session around the estate (again Highly Recommended), the kids loved there session at Big Country and asked to go back, that evening we had booked Meikle for dinner, there appeared to be a little confusion here as we were asked to wait 5mins and we sat for around 15-20mins watching many party's go in past us for dinner, I must say I was staring to get rather annoyed but finally we were called in and further confusion was had we were led to a table which sat 4no and clearly there was 5 in our party after standing like plums for 5 mins in the centre of everyone eating we were finally seated and must say yet again had a lovely meal, that evening we sat and enjoyed the music again and also had some pictures taken which was also very good, breakfast and another swim before departure on the Monday.

All the Staff are a Credit to the Hotel and a very helpful, the Hub is also a nice snack/beer stop area

All n All we shall certainly be returning again.

Room Tip: Book for Big Country in advance to your arrival Book your dinner reservations also in advance Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFlorence2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We were chuffed to bits when we read your stellar review, JFlorence2014. You certainly packed a lot into your break – we were shattered just reading about your adventures! Thanks for overlooking our Restaurant blip. Can’t wait to welcome you all back for more family fun and games.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just spent 3 nights in a Cosy Cabin and indeed it was. Superb accommodation for the 3 of us. Plenty room, very comfortable, fantastic kitchen facilities with a large table for dining and card playing!! Only disappointment was not having the opportunity to use the wood burner as we had great weather!
Activities were equally as good... Aloft, Quad Biking & Air Rifles, all great fun with friendly instructors. Swimming pool, table tennis & outdoor chess were our less adventurous activities!
All in all, a fun filled, action packed 3 days with a 12 year old boy who is already planning his next visit!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gillt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, gillt33. We just love our brand new Cozy Cabins and we're thrilled that you were impressed too. Our Action Glen team were also made up with your outdoor activity feedback. We're delighted that your son is spearheading a campaign to return and hope to see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
507 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
726 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,703 reviews
22.3 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing