We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely location but poor staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location but poor staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel.
On the positive side the location and grounds are stunning. My room was pleasant, nicely decorated and had super views.
The food was reasonable, however despite asking twice for toast at breakfast I never received it. The croissants were very tasty and did make up for the missing toast.
Unfortunately on checking out I found £90 had wrongly been added to my account for "spa treatments" The staff on reception were very unhelpful when I pointed out this mistake and did not apologise. I still do not know if my bank account will be debited with the wrong amount.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Oh dear, Susan J, we didn't know whether to laugh or cry when we read your review. It was lovely to hear where we got things spot-on, but embarrassing we slipped up along the way. Sorry. Please don't worry about the Spa charge; this should already have been credited to your account but, if not, just contact us and it'll be refunded in minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,706
    1,008
    438
    245
    100
See reviews for
1,641
929
34
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked in for a couple of days this week with our son who is severely disabled.We had a lovely room with a super king size bed for us and a single bed for our son.The beds were extremely comfortable,we all had a great sleep.The shower was very powerful.Everything was spotlessly clean.Our son doesn't like his wheelchair so it was difficult to have him in the Meikle restaurant ,we were able to get his food and take it up to our room which was much easier for him and less stressful.It was no problem to get the food liquidised either.Once he'd had his food we had our food from the Meikle in the Winter Gardens with our son lying on his wedge so he was comfortable.Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.Never at any time were we made to feel that we were making things awkward for them or that we were in the way.The food was excellent.We took our son horse riding,he lay over the back of Slate,a lovely laid back horse and had a wonderful time.He was also able to enjoy the jacuzzi.We all enjoyed the family quiz and the entertainment each night.We will definitely be back with our son and as a couple so we can enjoy the huge variety of activities that are on offer.This is a wonderful hotel whether you have children or not,a nice atmosphere.Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for what you want i.e. near a lift and the will do their best to get you what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I recall meeting you and your family during your stay, Wendy L, so it was a lovely surprise to receive such a lovely review. It always means the world to us when our guests take time to give positive feedback - thanks! We're all delighted to hear that you're planning to return someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay with beauty break. We arrived and were pleasantly greeted at the reception. Booked a table in the brasserie restaurant and gonazlo was a great waiter very friendly. And the back massage and facial was amazing came home feeling very refreshed and relaxed. And the Cuban mojitos were delicious. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heather20w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
It's great to hear that your beauty break ticked all the right boxes and gave you some much needed TLC, heather20w. Gonzalo was chuffed to be singled out for praise. Here's hoping you'll be back to enjoy a few more Mojitos before long and maybe for a bit longer next time round?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Went to Crieff Hydro for my partner's conference. Spent three lovely days exploring the resort and enjoying the hospitality. The resort itself is in a beautiful part of Scotland - about an hour away from Edinburgh airport. Lots of green hills, forest, and wildlife. The resort has tons of activities for children and adults. I really enjoyed the spa and treatment options. Food was lovely and very local. They have a great whiskey selection in the piano bar. Staff members were kind and considerate. Although we don't have children, it seemed to be an ideal place for young families. It is a bit remote and if you don't have a car, it may be tricky to get to (the conference arranged transportation for us from the airport) but the staff did mention that it is possible to hire a car, if needed. Would recommend it to anyone and I would love to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for taking time to post such an informative review, Heather S, which is bound to assist future guests. With so much yet to discover on-site and in the surrounding area, we hope that it won't be too long before we can welcome you back - for work or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great range of activities for all, many of them included in the cost of your stay. Good location for a family break. Kids club excellent, and lovely victorian Afternoon teas!!
Superb all-weather tennis courts, decent golf course, and short course for kids/beginners.
Sprawling facilities across a huge estate, and therefore great for people watching if you feel you are past your sporting best. Excellent choice for a family break

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Gosh, you fitted a lot into your stay Fraser S and your review! As someone who's definitely "past their sporting best" I was exhausted just reading it! We're really chuffed that the Hydro proved the perfect venue for your family break and hope to welcome you all back before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

nice place to stay, a few things to do on a wet weekend but it comes at a cost
and avoid the pool on a saturday afternoon, far too busy, food and service was good though and daughter loved the kids club

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GettingGooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
What a shame that poor weather prevented you from fully enjoying all that the Hydro has to offer, Alison S. With so much more for you still to discover, we hope you'll return soon, when we'll keep our fingers crossed that the sun will shine for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent location with fantastic facilities.
Incredibly helpful staff. Very clean and well maintained.
We stayed for 3 nights as part of a car tour of the Highlands and Skye.
The food quality and choice was most comprehensive and well prepared and served.

Room Tip: There are so many that I cannot recommend any other than room 60.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We knew that we were in for a great review when we spotted your title and top score, BobBLythamStAnnes and you didn't disappoint! We're thrilled that Crieff Hydro came up trumps on your Highland tour and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotelopia and Ebookers so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing