We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in lodge 821. Beautiful lodge, open plan living, kitchen, diner with 2 good sized rooms, both en-suite. The views from the balcony were beautiful, overlooking hills & fields with horses much to our 2 year olds delight!! Before we arrived we had an email from the hotel asking how we wanted our rooms set up - 4 singles or 1 double 2 singles in one room and a double or 2 singles in another!! We asked for stair gates & bed guards which were all provided and the lodge was well equipped (except for chopping boards) and very clean.

The hotel itself is about 1 mile away from the lodge over numerous speed bumps but there is a shuttle bus if you didn't want to walk.

The hotel is clean & has 5 (6 if you count the Italian) places to eat ranging from soup and sandwich (and the best whippy ice-cream I have ever tasted) to a l'carte. We ate at the Winter Garden & the Brassiere while we were there and can't fault the food or service. The only negative on the food front was the Clubhouse!! In our opinion it shouldn't be offered as an option or even advertised as a place to eat by the hotel - don't get me wrong it was OK but after spending 3 days at the hotel eating & enjoying the 'we can't do enough to help you' service the Clubhouse was a major let down! The Clubhouse itself is not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel, it looks more like a social club than anything else & the food was ok at best, deep fried frozen food! It's a shame as the rest of the stay had been perfect until that point.

Notwithstanding the Clubhouse experience our stay has been great! The hotel put on a number of organised activities & there are playparks & games on the lawn in front of the brassiere which kept our 2 year old entertained while we waited for food. The hotel is full of families so no one bats an eyelid if your kid is throwing a fit over one thing or another and the staff are very friendly & helpful. The pool is warm & they have a family changing area so mum AND dad can help wrestle small children out of wet swimming suits!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Although it's 20 degrees outdoors, it's your glowing review that's made us all feel warm and fuzzy, JAFraser - thanks! Your comments on the Clubhouse facilities are not misplaced and a refurb is on our radar. With so much yet to discover we hope it won't be too long until we welcome you back to the Hydro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,217 - 2,223 of 4,070 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I enjoyed our stay very much at Crieff hydro. We particularly enjoyed our dinner at the Meikle restaurant. The service was excellent as was the food. We really enjoyed the whiskey tasting experience and we appreciated the birthday plate very much. Breakfast the following morning was wonderful. The spa wasn't as impressive as I'd hoped. It needs a little replenishment. All in all though it was a great stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Caitlin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

It's wonderful to hear that the Hydro ticked so many boxes for your perfect couples' 'getaway' break, Caitlin O. The Meikle Restaurant team were particularly chuffed to be singled out for praise - thanks! Hope we'll see you again soon, when we'll be aiming for a top-score review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

For the third year our family spent four days in the cottages They are very well equiped and spotless. The children tried out various activies and enjoyed them all. All staff were very friendly helpful and patient. The children really enjoyed the archery and quad bikes and the tree walking was enjoyed by all who took part. We certainly plan to go back next year. Ideal for a large family gathering There were 12 of us in two cottages Very relaxing. Did not have to try and find things to amuse the children

Room Tip: We were self catering. Try and get cottages Concliff I think as they have an open outlook and quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABF738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Receiving such a brilliant review from a regular guest means the world to us, ABF738. We're all basking in your praise - especially the Action Glen team. Here's hoping that it won't be too long before we can welcome you all back for another action-packed family break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had use of the facilities by way of our stay at the Murraypark Hotel and our opinion of the Crieff Hydro is simply amazing. The staff are a credit to the Hydro as is the food served in the Winter Garden and the mojitos from the Brasserie. We absolutely adore the Victorian Spa which in our opinion is £10 each well spent, we had a thoroughly enjoyable day spent relaxing within beautiful surroundings. Cant wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post such a glowing review, elaine g. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the best of both worlds: the cosiness of the Murraypark, combined with all the fun of the Hydro! Even better, knowing that you're already planning a return visit is terrific news. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My Dad and I stayed here for a few days as it was very close to The Famous Grouse Distillery.
We received a very warm welcome and the staff at the hotel could not do enough for us. I had booked two executive rooms , which were very nice and had lovely views. Beautiful grounds with lots to do for all ages. The Meikle restaurant was very impressive and the food was excellent. We would definitely recommend and look forward to spending time at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Executive rooms 179 and 279 had very nice views
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

It certainly sounds as 'though you and your Dad had a great time, Sharon. No doubt sampling Scotland's favourite whisky at Scotland's oldest distillery added to your enjoyment. We're delighted to hear that you'll be back, when you can try a few drams from our Whisky Wall in the Meikle Bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had a three day midweek break there last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was great and was cleaned every day. The hotel amenities were superb and we enjoyed some of them on our first day as it was chucking it down outside. The food was fab from the full Scottish breakfast or the lighter fruit and cereal choice for the health conscious. We had a light afternoon bite in the Winter Garden with lovely views over beautiful Perthshire. We booked dinner in the Meikle restaurant both nights and the food was delicious. The service throughout the hotel was first class from booking in at Reception to our waiting staff in the restaurants to the cleaners - all could not do enough for us. The walk up to The Knock is worthwhile to see the stunning surroundinmg countryside. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Weather aside, it's brilliant to hear that the Hydro proved a real winner for your midweek break, Arthur C. There's been a fair few 'high fives' around the hotel since we read your terrific review. Thanks from all the team and great to hear you'll be back someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My friend and I visited for a Spa Day with Afternoon Tea on 30th May 2014. First time both of I had visited here. Staff - so friendly and welcoming - also very informative and knowledgeable about their job. Spa Staff - exactly the same and very helpful. Spa facilities - OMG!!!! Loved every minute of it - did the job it was supposed to do and relaxed us both. Treatment - both of us had a 25 minute facial treatment and both were not only impressed with the Beauty Therapist, but again the Beauty Rooms were gorgeous. We arrived at around 10.30 am and left at about 6.30 pm. As we were just about ready to leave, the fire alarm sounded. We were told where to congregate, and reassured that everything was okay. The staff were calm and professional. For families who had young children, they were provided with Towels to keep the children warm. The whole experience was first class and many thanks to everyone for a therapeutically relaxing day.

Room Tip: If you stay here, the Victorian Spa is a must to visit!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymraes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

'Gorgeous' is just one of those wonderfully emotive words Cymraes66 and we're thrilled to see it used to describe your recent Spa Day. Our Spa team were especially chuffed to receive your praise. With so much yet to discover, here's hoping we can tempt you back for a longer visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
594 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
815 reviews
15.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
997 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grampian Hotel
Grampian Hotel
#14 of 18 in Perth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: £83 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing