We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crieff Hydro keeps up the standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've been a regular, if infrequent, visitor to Crieff Hydro for decades and it is good to report after my most recent visit that the hotel and resort continues to offer top quality service across its vast range of offers. We only stayed one day but managed to pack in breakfast, lunch and dinner, each exactly of the high quality we expected. Staff are well trained and organised to help customers enjoy their stay and I cannot speak to highly of them. Well done all.

Room Tip: Much of the Hydro has echoes of its Victorian heritage and some of the original rooms have a quirky...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmcslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Many thanks for your glowing top-score review, Dmcslack. Everyone at the Hydro is committed to continuously improving our product and service, so it's great to hear that you approve of the changes we've made. We're hoping to tempt you back for a longer break next time round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,896)
There are newer reviews for Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,020 - 2,026 of 3,896 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from a girls weekend and cannot speak highly enough of crieff hydro and the lodges. We stayed in the 5* star lodges (we had interconnecting lodges which was great!), they really were luxurious, and had everything you could possibly need. There were 12 of us with an age range of 20-60, it just shows that there really is something for everyone there. We are all hoping to book up again for later in the year. We would recommend eating in the Miekle restaurant, it was lovely. Great wee chance to get dressed up and have a lovely evening. We done the sumo suit wrestling too which was hilarious. Staff were helpful and friendly, and the mini bus (John the driver was so friendly and patient!) picked us up from our lodge to take us to/from the hotel for our meal.
Overall we all had an amazing weekend, and would highly recommend it. Brilliant value for money too.

Room Tip: For a bigger crowd, interconnecting lodges are a great idea.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

It's brilliant that your girls' weekend break was everything that you hoped for - and more, Mary M. John was chuffed to receive your praise: hey, driving 12 glamorous ladies around is a tough job, but someone's got to do it! We're all chuffed that you'll be back someday (especially John).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were intending to use the Hydro next summer to have a family celebration with 12 members of our family. Thankfully we stayed overnight and after an awful dinner in the Meikle dining room would only give this hotel 3 stars at the very most.The service was not good, had to return steak, then had to ask where my veg. was. Breakfast resembled a canteen with food pilled high in serving dishes. No table clothes on very worn and old tables and why oh why are there plastic palm trees in the dining room !!!!!We stayed in the "LUXURIOUS SIGNATURE ROOM "where we were supposed to have robes, none there, cigarette stubs lay all day and into the next morning outside the door into the Leigh building, all in all not a 4 1/2 star hotel. It appears to be more a conference hotel now and no personal touches for individual clients.

Room Tip: do not bother
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

We were cringing when we read your poor review, anne M. This was clearly not our finest hour. Sorry. It's not clear if you brought any of these shortcomings to our attention, as some were easily 'fixable'. Sadly, all we can do now is hope that you'll give us another chance someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just returned from a five night stay in the Hydro when we joined our family for part of the time.

The facilities in the Hydro are second to none, and they cater for all ages, from the elderly and disabled to the young and babies in buggies!

With 60 activities to choose from you will be hard pressed to try everything in the course of your stay.

The bedrooms are well appointed and you can always find a corner to relax in the public areas.

The food is good and well presented and there is a good choice of eating venues to choose from on site to suit your mood or mode of dress!

The six hours included child care for those over age three must be a real bonus for some families, and the fact that the restaurants are very child friendly make it a more relaxing holiday for parents, and indeed grandparents!

The staff are well trained and all of them seem to be very happy in their work. The recruitment policies must be working well!

We will certainly return

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonythemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

This is probably one of the best reviews that we've ever received, Tonythemonk. Thanks! We found it really interesting and it's bound to assist future guests too. It's brilliant to have you as an advocate of the Hydro and hearing that you'll be returning somedaywas the cherry on the cake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed in self catering accommodation for a family celebration. Cottage was beautiful and well equipped it was also spotless.Was very impressed with the facilities that were on offer, there is something for everyone. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend to friends. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falkirkclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

We felt very proud of ourselves after reading your glowing review - especially the Self-Catering team. Thanks. A lot of planning goes into arranging family celebrations, so we're thrilled that you all had a ball. Here's hoping you and the rest of the Falkirk clan will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed in the 5 star lodges for one week in May. Lodges are well equipped and spacious. We stayed in Corrie/Brae at the very top of the resort so about a 10 min walk up/down quite a steep hill (not really suitable for elderly). Being so high up meant that it was a bit more peaceful (if we were in the lodges closer to the hotel we may have used the facilities more but it felt much more chaotic/busy even just walking through the lodges surrounding the hotel) and the views were stunning.

We had a 2 year old who loved the creche. However the soft play area is disappointingly small (and closed for maintenance & a party at various times during our stay). And the room next door has a few toys but if Crieff Hydro needed to spend some dosh to improve anything it would be here. We did the quad pods with the kids which they loved and also the horse riding. Hired bikes and trailers for the kids which they enjoyed. The play park is good.

Food was good. Service a tad slow at times. Pool nice. Overall we had an enjoyable stay but it wasn't value for money. Bit too 'holiday camp like' for us. So we won't be returning. But it is clearly a slick and efficient operation.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the Corrie/Brae lodges if you want a bit of privacy and the horses are th...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacDDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Your review was very bittersweet, MacDDubai. It was nice to be complimented on the parts of your stay that you enjoyed, but our enjoyment was short-lived when we read about the less successful elements. Sorry. We only hope that we might persuade you to return the next time you visit Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Where shall I begin.

Activities are great fun, loads and loads to do for kids. We done the segways which were great and the high wire adventure which was fantastic. Really enthusiastic staff.

We ate in both restaurants and they were really good quality.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Saving up to go again :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Liam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Phew! We were exhausted just reading how much you packed into your weekend stay, Liam H. Great to hear that you're already planning a return visit, as there's loads more for your to discover. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
777 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,303 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: £80 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing