We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic short break, a few minor hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Dalgety Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic short break, a few minor hiccups”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the first time last weekend and it was great. We have a 5 and 2 year old and they loved the kids club. They were well looked after and the set up was great. The swimming pool was ok but very basic, for a hotel of this size we expected so much more. Loved the packed lunches for the kids and the sweetie jar in the room. The little touches were great.

My daughter goes to horse riding lessons but unfortunately they wouldn't take her here as she was under 6, so she has to settle for a slow stroll round on a Shetland which took all of 2 minutes for a fiver!!! Lovely woodland walk to the activity centre, with great views.

Kids high tea was great as they could make as much noise as they liked without us worrying about others dining. A family did come in late and missed the dinner though and I felt that the restaurant supervisor was quite dismissive of them. They were not told the times and just assumed it was available. We could see the food that was wasted, she could have just plated something up for them. These little things mean a lot to people that have spent good money.

Our meal in the meikel restaurant was delicious, we both had three courses and nothing to fault except we had to order side orders of chips ( which were very nice) as portions were quite small.

Cooked Breakfast was a let down. Probably one of the worst I have had, coffee ordered when we were seated but others got theirs before us. In fact we were finished our breakfast before the coffee and toast came. Breakfast was either very dry or very greasy. I am not sure how you would sort this out as it's chaos at 9am and food sits in shaving dishes for a good while.

I was mortified to see a 'manager, (?) discussing service with the waitress in the hub, we stood behind them waiting to be served and could hear the whole discussion, not only should he not have had this conversation in public, he kept us waiting!

Due to the express check out we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay or said goodbye to which may be a small thing to some but important to others. All in all it was a great weekend though. I don't think I have ever been anywhere where I have failed to find at least one fault. My daughter cried her eyes out when we left so no doubt we will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank an3harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We really appreciate detailed feedback like yours, an3harris.Knowing where we were spot-on and where we need to improve is invaluable. We've made amends to the family who missed high tea and are looking at all the other areas you've highlighted. Great to hear you'll be back someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    1,063
    470
    261
    104
See reviews for
1,735
1,013
38
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed her for three nights and quite impressed. The hotel is well run and very clean. Reception well manned and efficient. Children facilities are really good. Had no idea that they offered so much. Bedroom nice but bed and particularly the pillows are very hard. Asked if they had softer pillows and I did get old softer ones but very surprised that they had no pillow protectors on them. Humm. Breakfast Ok but the selection of fresh fruit not great. Just basic fare. Ate in the Brassiere and did not like the food much. The children Pizza are a disgrace. Tiny Pizza and loads of chips. Please note even young children generally like small tomatoes and cucumber. Its not healthly food. Liked the hotel but would not recommend the restaurants!
The swimming pool was bit old fashioned and very overcrowded.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salsagal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
It's always great to get a fresh perspective on things, so your candid review of your first visit to Crieff Hydro was invaluable, salsagal50. We're pleased you were impressed overall, but can see we need to pull our socks up in some areas. Hope you'll revisit someday, when you'll find positive changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just back from 5 days at Crieff hydro staying in a luxury lodge for 6 people. The accommodation was absolutely fantastic with everything provided and thought of. The activities for the children were terrific, although expensive. They loved every minute of all the things they did. The only draw back was the food. We ate in all 3 restaurants and each one was as disappointing as the next. The food was no better than eating in a service station and the service in each dreadful. Great place will defiantly be back but will bring our own food or eat out in Crieff.

Room Tip: Lodge 813 fantastic location. Well out of the way and great for kids to get out to play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
lorna b, whilst we were delighted to hear that your self-catering accommodation ticked all the boxes, we were crestfallen to hear that food disappointed. Sorry. Thanks for your candour and rest assured that we'll be acting on your feedback. We promise improvements on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed at Crieff Hydro for 2 nights, mixed review.......

Hotel: Lovely building, great grounds. Stayed in an executive room - fantastic views, clean and spacious, spotless bathroom with nice toiletries. However, the room was unbearably hot in the evening. Had we been staying for longer I would have complained about this. Tiny TV with poor reception and no interactive facilities like movies. Only 2 small bottles of water provided which weren't replenished during room service. No tea / coffee facilities or mini-bar so had nothing to drink in our room on the second night. Would expect drinking water to be available at the very least.

Restaurants: Piccolo - Nice decor but more like a canteen than a restaurant, lacking in atmosphere and had no background music. Open kitchen so was nice to watch the chefs make pizzas etc. Food was average, starter platter for 2 had 3 pieces of each item (odd?), pumpkin ravioli had ran out at 7pm but was offered an alternative with the same cheese sauce, basically got a bowlful of pasta in a tasteless white sauce with a tiny bit of cheese sprinkled on top – very disappointing. Pizza was okay, but like any takeaway pizza, not really restaurant quality or authentic Italian style.
Brasserie - good atmosphere, good food but expensive for what we got and very expensive for drink.
Meikle - Only ate here for breakfast, buffet style with lots of choice and very good non-greasy cooked foods, fruits, toasts etc. Very busy and a bit chaotic. Could perhaps have breakfast 8-11am instead of 7-10am to stop the crowds around 9:30am, we had many people bumping past us while trying to eat. When holidaying people don't want to have to get up too early to have their breakfast!

Activities: Huge range of activities, however (again) very expensive! Booked a pony trek for beginners which was very enjoyable but not really worth the £74 we paid for a 1 hour activity. I think £50 for 2 persons would have been a more justifiable amount. The horses were very well behaved and the trainers very helpful and friendly. It may have been nice to have spent 5 or 10 minutes with the horses after the trek, to pat them down and perhaps give them a treat to say thank you....they were whisked away as soon the ride ended.
We would liked to have tried some other activities, but ultimately we could not afford to.
VERY disappointed to find that the additional charge for the Victorian Spa is £10pp!!! Ridiculous amount of money and very unfair to those who don't have children or want some quiet time away from noisy kids in the other pool. When booking this holiday we wanted to find somewhere that had a nice pool to relax in for an hour each night before dinner, if we had done this it would have cost us £40 to spend 1 hour each night in the spa pool, the other pool was permanently full of children and did not appeal to us as a couple with no kids, so we ended up not getting into any pool. The spa pool should be included in the accommodation price as it is very misleading that extra has to be paid.

Staff: I've read a few reviews here saying that staff were unfriendly etc. I couldn't disagree more. Every member of staff who dealt with us; reception, restaurants, chamber maids, young ladies at the horse riding centre.... were very polite, professional, friendly and a real credit to the resort.

Summary: We did have a very enjoyable time at Crieff Hydro, however we were expecting a lot more from a 4* hotel and a lot more for the money paid. I don't mind paying higher rates if the quality justifies the cost, unfortunately most aspects seemed to be around or just above average. The spa fee has also annoyed me so much that I am not sure if I would return to the Hydro. I think they either have to reduce their costs or significantly improve their services. This is a real shame as the hotel has huge potential to be so much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debs1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for summarising your stay so fairly, debs1082. We're pleased that it was enjoyable overall and will look at all the areas you've highlighted. With limited spaces available, it's impossible to give everyone free access to the Victorian Spa. Sorry. Hope you'll give us another try someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

First visit to the Crieff Hydro Hotel and was very impressed. The attitude of the personnel at reception was first class and they arranged for porters to take care of the luggage.
There was a party of four adults ( two executive double rooms) arriving on a Sunday afternoon and departing on Wednesday ( 3 nights )
The special deal covered bed breakfast and dinner in the Meikle restaurant on all nights.
The breakfast was most probably the best I've ever had at any hotel and the evening dinner was very good with a reasonable variation on main dishes.
The rooms were fairly large and well kept. The facilities within the hotel and grounds were substantial and to numerous to describe in this review. Children were well catered for within the hotel and surrounding grounds.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor overlooking the bowling green
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank3944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We were all cock-a-hoop with your stellar review, Frank3944. Thanks. Our Reception team were chuffed to receive a special mention and our Head Chef was very happy too. It's great that your break was so enjoyable and we hope to tempt you all back up from Newcastle before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duror, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We've just spent the best two nights holidays at Crieff Hydro last weekend. My kids didn't want to leave after having fun and laughs trying the following activities - Aloft high wire, mini quads, horse riding, water walkers, tennis, squash, swimming and table tennis. There are many more activities to tempt us back again with laser quest top of the list. I have already recommended this to local families especially people with young children who can use the Big Country childcare facility allowing the adults special time together to relax in the spa or even just to chill and relax. The staff in all departments made us feel welcome and relaxed. Lovely range of food to suit all ages. The rooms were immaculate, spacious and modern. We'll most definitely be back again to make use of the activities we have yet to try and no doubt the kids will persuade us to stay for longer than 2 nights next time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - book your activities prior to arrival though as spaces get booked up fast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Phew! We were exhausted just reading what you managed to fit into your 2 night break, Maggie863. By the sounds of it great fun was had by all. We're thrilled that you're already planning another action-packed break and look forward to seeing you for a longer break soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

lovely family hotel. Crieff is also improving with a new park. This is a hotel for families and old ladies with tartan but lovely facilities. I like the new spa. It improves all the time. Winter rates can be good at weekends. Lots of nice lochs near by

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Our traditional 'tartan' days are behind us, as we move with the times to make the Hydro a brilliant place for all to visit. We're pleased that you found positive changes, both in the hotel and nearby Dawn l. We're constantly evolving and hope you'll return to see the latest developments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
16.4 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing