We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is the second year that we have been able to take our grandchildren to the Crief Hydro and this year was even better than last. The attention to detail is extraordinary and the organisation for children's entertainment is so professional that we had no worries upon leaving our grandchildren in the Big Country one of which suffers from serious allergies. They can cope with it all. Meal times are also a treat whether at the busy breakfast or the evening in the Brasserie or the Piccolo with special meals for the children. My only adverse comment is that I think the children's menu needs some better content. Not only my grandson but also my son truly enjoyed the new tree top feature-ALOFT.

Room Tip: Keep away from the ballroom as music evenings can be intrusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thanks for your stellar review, Peter D. The teams at BIG Country and Action Glen were particularly chuffed to receive your praise. Thanks too for your 'heads up' on the children's menu, which we'll review now. Hope we'll be seeing you and your grandchildren again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,862
    1,105
    488
    272
    120
See reviews for
1,809
1,052
40
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the first time for a weekend in one of the lodges. Had heard of so many good things about the hydro, and looked forward to our weekend with so much expectations and subsequently expected so much about the resort.

The lodge we stayed at was nice but slightly tired, and felt slightly overpriced for what it was.

Front of house staff were lovely and informative. Disappointed the weekend we stayed we were not allow access into one of the restaurants as there was a private function on.

Visited restaurants at main hydro building a couple of times, nothing too exiting in terms of menu choice and staff very average for such an impressive place, thought the food would be way better, hard to put the finger on the place but it felt slightly caught out of time in today's current hospitality place.

Too much of something and not enough quality on one thing possibly, swimming pools were nice & functional but somewhat lacklustre in fun, a bit old fashioned.

In fairness to the hydro I am sure some people enjoy the hydro, but I was left slightly disappointed, as were some of my family. I could hugely elaborate and go on but this is just a short review after all.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2manyreveiwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We all felt quite deflated after reading your candid review, 2manyreveiwers. Whilst we can't say with 100% certainty that the Hydro's the right place for you, it did sound as 'though some areas fell below par during your stay. Sorry. Hope you'll give us another chance someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A Scottish institution which has evolved and updated itself with the times. The ideal hotel to stay in with children and wonderful to be able to have such good food and accommodation while our three year old twins could enjoy themselves. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpjbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We felt a warm glow of satisfaction after reading your sterling review, rpjbw. We're thrilled that you were able to enjoy such a relaxing time, safe in the knowledge that your twins were also having a ball in BIG Country. It's the 'cherry on the cake' to hear that you're already planning to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to Crieff. The free child care is amazing. Having two children under 3 the child care is was what drew us there again. Big country and the staff are fab and my kids loved being there!
We ate in all 3 restaurants. Mielke is fantastic. Brasserie is great for more informal meal but wouldn't rate the Italian. Menu wasn't great. Food was bland.
Activities are fantastic you wouldn't need to leave hotel!
All in all I love Crieff hydro and we'll definitely be back!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
lovinnewyork, we're so chuffed that you're also lovincrieffhydro! It's terrific that your break ticked so many boxes. Thanks too for your feedback on 'Piccolo', which will be passed on. It's lovely to have you as a fan and to hear that you're already planning your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed as a family with two young babies. The hotel lobby is lovely and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We needed a fridge for the babies milk which isn't standard in the standard family room but they put one in for us. The room was nice, a double bed and single bed with a little table and two chairs. Bathroom was nice and clean. Also has free wifi in the room. We went for dinner at the Italian restaurant - avoid this at all costs!! I got pasta which was falling to bits on my fork and the sauce was horrible, certainly not worth the money. My husband had the pizza which was tasteless also. There isn't much of a selection from the menu either. We ate in the Meikle the following night and it was so different, the food was outstanding and the service was fantastic. Breakfast was great too, very tasty. There is a soft play area for the kids but it is tiny, I think only four kids are allowed in at any time. Also with having little ones, I was looking forward to the kids playroom and letting them play with lots of new toys and books but this was disappointing, there were a few toys and books and lacked atmosphere. I must say however the gardens have stuff for older children, such as giant chess, bat and ball, giant connect four and trampolines, great for kids to play whilst you have a drink. The swimming pool for babies was nice and warm but quite small. All in all, it was ok but more geared towards older children and not babies.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor odd numbers face the car park, not a great view, even numbers have lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosmik123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We were concerned to read your review title, kosmik123 but, aside from Piccolo, it sounds as 'though Crieff Hydro ticked most of the boxes during your break. Admittedly, your children will be able to enjoy far more activities when they're a little older. We hope you'll all return someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My family all decided at the last moment we would have a Friday night at short notice at Crieff Hydro. We had been before when my daughter was much younger, but thought we would go back and see what the hotel had to offer for a 12-year old.

Through the day, we loved it. Great activities - the off road segways were excellent. The instructors were superb, and really helped my daughter while she built her confidence. We also did bowls, badminton, table tennis. All in all a great day.

The room was lovely. Well decorated, nicely set-out and to a high standard. Very clean and well prepared.

Dinner in the Meikle was very good. Lots of children - I did think there would be less in the Meikle, but I guess its a very family hotel.

Thats when it all went a bit wrong. Despite being a family room, it was obviously in the same wing as a wedding. The music was astonishingly loud... and went on until 1am. The whole room was vibrating it was so loud. If you are looking for a quite night, and its a friday/saturday, make sure you are at the front of the hotel. I understand the hotel must make a lot from weddings, but I cant imagine many people get a quiet nights sleep in that area of the building.

That was a shame. Apart from that, it was a great stay. I was willing to pay extra for the quality. But I didnt expect such noise at night.

Room Tip: Far away from the function suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaye-dubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
It was brilliant to read how many parts of your stay were a roaring success, jaye-dubya and all the team will be buoyed by your praise - thanks. Of course it wasn't nearly so much fun to hear about the noise disturbance. Sorry. Please remind us next time and we'll allocate a quiet room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night with the family and for the most part we can't fault our stay.
The rooms were in good condition and spacious enough for our three kids and the facilities excellent.
They would benefit from a curtain or door between the parts of the bedroom to allow a bit of a sound/light barrier once the kids are tucked up in bed however it isn't a major inconvenience if the kids are heavy sleepers.

There were a couple of minor downsides like the DVD player not being connected to the TV and the meal "allowance" being for food only so you end up eating more than you want however these are only minor issues.

There was however one major issue which the management really need to look at if they continue to market the hotel as a family resort. On the same night as our stay there was a graduation party and a wedding, both large functions with many young people out for a great time. These people were not an issue around the hotel and during day hours were no problem however at around 11pm they started to migrate back and forward to the rooms. By 2:30 am the noise was unbearable waking all of our kids and resulting in one of the worst nights sleep I have ever had.
We called hotel reception who dispersed the crowd however it was too little to late for a peaceful nights sleep.
I expect after a call of complaint for this to be acknowledged upon check out and perhaps a round of drinks removed from you bill however there was no apology let alone mention of our issues.
I spoke to Anthony the duty manager and explained our concerns, he was happy to upgrade us on our next visit however believed they did all they could at the time.
These events must make the hotel a large amount of money and I believe security should be put in each area or these guests be put in one area away from families?

We intend to visit again the following weekend however with the memories of the a horrific nights sleep we decided the upgrade would not compensate enough to go back so soon.

We may try again in the future but it won't be during graduation season!!


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We're so sorry that inconsiderate behaviour by other guests spoilt an otherwise excellent stay, eilidhdavid and that you didn't receive a proper apology. We hope that you'll give us the chance to restore your faith in us. Please just remind us when you book and we'll 'pull out all the stops'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
763 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,809 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing