We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Resort”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just had a get together with friends and our families at Crieff, staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make you feel relaxed. A special mention must also go to the sister hotel Murray Park where we had a fantastic meal on the Saturday night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macca1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Well, Macca1903, your review may have been short, but it made the teams at both Crieff Hydro and The Murraypark Hotel very happy. Thanks! We're delighted that you had a great time and here's hoping that you'll be back to see us all again before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,866
    1,107
    489
    273
    120
See reviews for
1,815
1,054
40
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a fantastic hotel for families - so much to do and see in a lovely setting! Great kids club facility!
There were two points that let the experience down. Firstly the breakfast is very basic, not a lot of choice either! Secondly a big factor for us was the bedroom that I booked was described as a family room with either interconnecting rooms or seperation bedrooms - there was 6 of us sharing a room and the only thing that seperated the two rooms was an alcove. Not ideal for a party and would not have booked this if I had known it was going to be so small. I have read the description on the hotel website since returning and our room did not meet the description. Very disappointing.
I did speak to reception about this and the only they offered was for us to pay extra for another room.

Room Tip: See above - be sure to check with hotel if you are booking a family room as to how the space will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
What a shame that your bedroom layout spoilt an otherwise brilliant break, Candy P. Sorry. Please remind us about this when you plan to return and we'll make sure that you're allocated interconnecting bedrooms (provided they're available when you book, of course). Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This place is great for kids with lots for them to do, but the facilities are very tired, with a desperate need for refurbishment. Worse than that, it's dirty: the carpets and chairs need a deep clean at least - better still, replacement and the shower curtain has that customary 2 star hotel moldy smell. It also needs new beds - the mattresses and bases are so soft I've had to ask for a board to be put under the mattress (the guy who brought it was very prompt and efficient and said it wasn't an uncommon complaint). And I'd love to understand why they are using sheets that are too small for the bed - ours doesn't fit, and so isn't tucked in at the head end, revealing a rather stained under sheet right by your head. Nice.

Also, the food is basic and restaurants are in need of investment - I think the tables in my old school canteen were in better condition. But if your expectations aren't too high for food quality, it's fine.

Having said all of that, it is clear they have invested in the kids facilities - the Big Country offers plenty of activities, and the staff are great. It took until day 4 before my 3 year old boy said he didn't want to go, but that was partly because they split the children into age categories, so he couldn't play with his 5 year old sister. I understand the rationale for grouping kids, but surely there's a solution to that? There are also lots of other indoor activities for when the rain sets in (which it probably will). But pick your times carefully to use the facilities - the pool is too small for a hotel this size, so when it's raining, there will be more people than water in the swimming pool at the typically busy mid-morning or mid-afternoon times.

Overall, I'd say a couple of nights here is enough for a mini-break and to give the kids a fun filled few days. Only stay longer if you are not particularly discerning and have a higher threshold for shabby quality than I do.

I should mention that my wife thinks it's great, and thinks I've got OCD. Maybe she's right, but when the kids start to talk about wanting to go home, then the hotel definitely loses its appeal, and my tolerance for skanky conditions wanes.

Room Tip: I believe some rooms have newer beds, so check before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EastSheen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Oh my goodness, we didn't know whether to laugh or cry when we read your review, EastSheen2014! However, we've taken it on the chin and - being a bit OCDish myself - I promise that we'll look at everything afresh. Hope your wife will persuade you to return, when you'll see some changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

what a fantastic family hotel, more than enough to keep the kids busy. Great food and ample choices for food and drink. Relaxing atmosphere, comfy beds, a great get away, Families with kids will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Your wonderful review was short, but sweet, eddieca and reading it made the perfect start to our weekend! Many thanks from all the Hydro team and here's hoping that we'll have the chance to welcome you back before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was really looking forward to our three night stay at The Crieff Hydro having paid a brief visit some years ago. The setting, the hotel and the facilities are fabulous...what really lets it down is the service.
We did choose to go during the school holidays and you would expect to see children around, but the place was literally overrun with children..literally running everywhere. They also hold wedding receptions there and this can certainly affect your sleep if your window is above the smoking area outside the wedding function suite. My main grievance was the service for dinner, very poor, inattentive and unable to remember your order which to me is a service sin. Breakfast at the weekend is a free for all and on the final day not going down for breakfast was the best stress free option. This hotel is a fantastic complex and has everything going for it but the service. I am sure they will look at this otherwise they will get more reviews like mine.

Room Tip: rooms at the back may not have the view but might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claretcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
As Scotland's leading family resort, there's always lots of children staying during the school holidays, claretcolin. Weddings are popular during the summer months too. However there's no excuse for the service blips. Sorry. Hope you'll return at a quieter time and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

just back from a 2 day bed and breakfast deal...Nice place, friendly staff in Meikle restaurant for dinner and breakfasts. Room 112 which was an executive room was comfy and had few extras like fridge , water, jar of sweets and newpaper each morning...it was good window opened fully as it was warm...but not good being over the loading bay with trucks driving in early in the morning!! We had fish and chips in the Brasserie which was good but very busy and we enjoyed 3 course dinner in the Meikle last night which was more relaxing. Went to sister hotel nearby Murrayspark and that was nice too. We will go back am sure...but request a different room

Room Tip: request a room away from the loading/unloading bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie brown V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review, val053. We're chuffed to read that - room location aside - your break was really enjoyable. Your kind comments regarding each Restaurant cheered the respective teams and we're all pleased that you're planning to return someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights recently and were very pleased with our first visit to this hotel. It is not a good location for older people as there are no flat walks available, but that aside we enjoyed many good walks in the grounds, very nice food in both the main restaurants and we were please to take the dinner inclusive option. We had a quiet room, with no families nearby. We could have done with a fan for the room as it was uncomfortably hot through the nights. The over batch shower had a very high lip to climb over but this was a minor detail. We went to the Victorian adults only pool and sauna area, although I feel that if you are paying top rate for
your room you should be able to access this at no extra charge. This is an ideal hotel for families with children as everyone is catered for.. We would definitely consider going back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
It's lovely to hear that the Hydro ticked almost all the boxes for your perfect break, gjburnett. We'll happily allocate a bedroom with a walk-in shower next time round and also suggest easy walks. As the Victorian Spa is only small we can't offer free access to all - sorry. Hope you'll return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
764 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,811 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing