We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Credit where it's due!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Credit where it's due!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our stay at the Crieff Hydro was the most pleasant and memorable family holiday we have ever had. We stayed in room 513/Loch Tay self catering between 4th & 11th July 2014.
From the first contact by phone everyone and everything they did for me and my family were professional and to a very high standard.
Highlights for my kids were Gary Dunn's magic show and Big Country (Very efficient and friendly even under pressure!) and the Piccolo restaurant. For myself and the wife, the Meikle restaurant waited on by Klara who was attentive and great with the kids and carried out her duties admirably. From an entertainment standpoint, '2entertain' were by far the best singing duo and her rendition of Let it go, well, it was like Demi Lovato was singing at the Crieff Hydro!, but seriously, they were fantastic!
A special thanks to the staff at the stables who made both our daughters first horse rides/hack unforgettable!
From a general staff point I did not see anyone slacking the entire week and everyone was working hard and management should be very appreciative of the wonderful staff they have working for them.
Complaints? can't think of any, only recommendations for the chalet, maybe additional internal lock security on the veranda door in case the kids decide to do a bunk on us during the night.
From the kids: more bouncy castle!!!
Over the years we have tried various other family holiday offerings around Scotland and you can't beat the Crieff Hydro in my opinion, loads of things for the kids to do with some pampering for the parents. I recommend a nice romantic dinner in the Meikle with your wife while the kids are at Big Country, the prices are very reasonable considering the surroundings and high standard of service.
We only left the resort once to go to Edinburgh Zoo, we did not feel we had to leave as there was so much to do, they even had a mini zoo one morning!
If we could have extended our holiday at the Crieff Hydro, we would have and pretty sure we will be back next year.....watch out!

Room Tip: Go for self catering if you have kids. Restaurant reservations should be booked in advance as it ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EileanLeodhais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Your glowing review positively jumped off the screen, EileanLeodhais. Let's just say that you've made lots of team members around the Hydro very happy indeed - especially those mentioned. We all feel very proud and can't wait to welcome you back when we can thank you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,706
    1,008
    438
    245
    100
See reviews for
1,641
929
34
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We loved our stay here! My wife and I stayed in the main hotel a couple of years ago and enjoyed it so we went back with the family to a self-catering lodge and...loved it. To be fair, the lodge was getting a little long in the tooth but it was comfortable and nice enough. The surroundings are nice, you're near the town and best of all there's the facilities of the site right beside you. Swimming pool, restaurant, horse riding etc. We've stayed at a few different lodges over the years and Crieff is probably the best in terms of things to do - your kids won't be bored. Our daughter will be too old now, but for pre-schoolers there's a kid's club and she loved it when we took her there.
We also had free wi-fi and it worked well.
It's expensive, but we got a good deal so look out for special offers and get in on them because it's a really nice place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Many thanks for such an enthusiastic review, SMcK319. It's brilliant that your self catering stay proved 'just the ticket' and we appreciate your positive recommendation. We all love a bargain so, as you say, it's a good idea to watch out for our special offers. Hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Annually we stay at Crieff Hydro for a 2 night , breakfast/dinner and accomodation stay, usually in a standard room. Over a number of years the quaity of the accomodation has been very good, and the meals at the Meikle restaurant enjoyable. The staff are always helpful, and pleasant to deal with. The hotel facilities, namely gymn, swimming pools, are good, and we will continue to use this hotel

Room Tip: Disabled customers may benefit from requesting a room with a walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We're thrilled to read that the Hydro has come up trumps for your again, William B. We're so lucky to have so many loyal guests and hope to welcome you and your family back for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Decided on a quick break before my son went back to school and as always well worth it...

The highlight of the visit was a trip to Piccolo Italian restaurant, food was tasty, well presented and hit the mark on each course. The staff including the manager Barclay couldn't have been any more attentive.
My only criticism is that the decor could be a little more authentic and a little more greenery about the place.

The Meikle restaurant was rather disappointing this time the food was lovely but the service dire it's not the norm so whether it was down to a change of management within the restaurant or new staff I'm not quite sure.

The adventure centre was amazing as always and it's good to see that the prices for kids have been introduced. Well done for listening to your customers.

Riding centre awesome as always. Well schooled horses and great staff. Look forward to my next visit.

Overall wonderful friendly place that holds a lot of special family moments.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PoserChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks for another brilliant review, PoserChic. It's so lovely to have you as such a wonderful advocate of the Hydro. We loved hearing about all the enjoyable parts of your latest stay, but were embarrassed that the Meikle wasn't so great - sorry. Hope you'll return before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were here for the weekend for our Honeymoon. We stayed in an Executive room which was very nice. Booked in very quicky, staff very pleasant. Well the Hotel is stunning and is very big, got lost back to the room when parked my car after we had arrived. You can park your car at he drop off point right outside reception, then park car after you have dropped luggage in room. My wife enjoyed her cocktail in the Meikle bar, which is quiet. Breakfast was buffet style and was very nice. Choice of cereals, meats, cheeses, rolls crossiants etc and hot breakfast which does cater for the vegetarian, which my wife was happy with. We chose to eat in the Meikle restaurant. Well the best meal we have tasted in a long time. Presented very nicely and all staff were very nice. Well great choices of restaurants in the hotel. We did not do any of the activities, should of brought gear with us. Cannot belief the amount of activities you can do and activities for all ages, not just aimed at one specific age which is good. Nice walk from the Hotel to Activity Glen about 1 mile, you can drive there. You actually don't have to leave the hotels grounds as there is many things that you can do. We will definitely be back as we have a 14 year old Son and he would love it. I think Hotel is suitable for all ages not just families. All staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Many congratulations on your marriage from all at the Hydro, David A. We're delighted that your Honeymoon stay was so enjoyable and it's great to hear that you're already planning a return stay. Here's hoping we can welcome you, your wife and your son for a family break before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had an enjoyable four days here. For family groups, especially mixed generations, this is an excellent location. Loads of things to do for children and teenagers. We would have loved it when our kids were young. Lots of active/sporty activities for young adults also on the site. However we went as an older couple and apart from the Victorian Spa (extra charge per day) which was excellent and child free, it was a bit lacking. The room, staff and location are all excellent and the Meikle Restaurant and the Brasserie were excellent for dinner. Breakfast however in the Meikle Restaurant was not so good. We found the "hot" food from the buffet was luke warm and even cold on occasion - cold fried eggs - no thanks - and service was slow whatever time we got there. It may have been better if we had been there early at the start of breakfast, but we were on holiday after all! Evening entertainment was good and the children, including toddlers and babies were involved and obviously enjoyed themselves. However there was no cut off time for them to leave and give the adults and older couples like us a chance to dance. We have never stayed anywhere that the children were included up to 11pm when the entertainers finished. We would not go again sadly because of the above - unless we get some grandchildren!

Room Tip: Our room was on the side with not much of a view, but was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teadancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks for your candid review, Teadancers. It's such a shame that these issues spoilt an otherwise lovely stay. We act on all the feedback that we receive and will hope to tempt you back someday to see the improvements we'll be making in light of your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My Husband and I have recently stayed in Crieff Hydro Hotel for the umpteenth time, and yet again, thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Being retired, we can visit anytime, but had our break this time, when there were lots of families with children of all ages. We still felt relaxed and content as the great Staff are there to ensure everyone, has the best stay. The children are well catered for, and not bored, with plenty to keep them occupied and excited, even on rainy days. We've stayed many times in the Hotel in the Executive Rooms, once in a Culcrieff Self Catering villa and twice in a Leigh Self Catering cottage, all great, and recommendable. We've never stayed in the Standard Rooms, so can't comment, but am sure they will live up to the same high level of decor and comfort, as all the others. We tend to use Crieff Hydro as a bench mark for other Hotels, such is our love of being there, and in Perthshire.

Room Tip: Ask, when booking, for a room to suit your requirements, the staff will endeavour to get the best on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We love receiving great reviews, but they're even more special when posted by such a regular guest as you, Lynette L. It's lovely to read of the affection that you have for the Hydro and we hope to welcome you back for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia and LateRooms so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing