We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long standing family favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 893 helpful votes
“A long standing family favourite”
Reviewed 6 November 2006

I have visited this amazing hotel about 25 times – and I’m only 28 – so I obviously recommend it very highly! My wife and I most recently stayed in October 2006.

Crieff Hydro is ideally located in the heart of Perthshire and makes a great base for exploring the surrounding loughs and glens. It is also a perfect place to stop on the way to the Highlands if you are travelling from the south of Scotland or England.

The family run hotel is stunning, on an elevated location overlooking Crieff town. It has retained its old castle feel, but provides 21st century service throughout. It has almost 900 acres of land, and offers an enormous selection of outdoor activities, like an 18-hole golf course, pitch & putt, driving range, tennis, shooting, off road driving, karting, miles and miles of scenic walking trails, horse riding from the private stables….. It even owns a few acres on the shores of Lough Earn and offers water sports in the summer. This is only a 30 minute drive from the Hydro.

The Hydro also has a huge leisure centre, spa & beauty complex, ladies boutique clothes shop, cinema, snooker room, and a kids club that is legendary amongst the many return visitors. It is currently putting the finishing touches to a brand new sports centre and kids arena. There are plenty of activities run throughout the week, all of which are advertised on the various notice boards. In the evening there is traditional Scottish dancing three or four times per week.

There is a massive choice of accommodation types, ranging from hotel rooms and suites to studio apartments and enormous state-of-the-art chalets. I have only ever stayed in the hotel, and the rooms have always been excellent, with a big bathroom, comfortable bed and flat screen TV and DVD player. Tea and coffee making facilities and an ironing board and iron are also available, as well as a fridge which you can fill with your own drinks and snacks. There is also a guest laundry room on the basement level, and ice machines located conveniently around the hotel.

The hotel offers two main restaurants. The Meikle has grown from the original dining room, and (thankfully) is still a relatively formal affair. I think that it is great to dress up for a five course dinner, stopping first for a drink while listening to piano music. The food is of a very high standard, and the wine list is impressive. Diners are asked to dress smartly – absolutely no jeans, trainers or t-shirts!! I still go for a jacket and tie.

On the other hand, the Brasserie is modern and more casual. The a la carte menu is fixed, but is frequently updated. There are also three or four daily specials for each course. The food is very good, and there is a large selection of steaks, meats, chicken, fish and pasta, as well as the normal array of beers and wines. You can also stop in here for a drink any time throughout the day, and there is an area for relaxing and reading the papers in.

What we normally do is check out the dinner menus after breakfast, and then book a table before heading off to do what ever we are doing. On a ‘dinner, bed & breakfast’ package you get the full five courses in the Meikle, or a credit of £19pp off the a la carte menu in the Brasserie (which you usually have to add a few pounds to if you want the full four courses).

Breakfast is served each morning in the Meikle, but the dress code is casual to allow people to head out and enjoy their day straight after. Apart from tea / coffee and toast, it is completely ‘serve yourself’. There is a large selection from the cold buffet, and then the hot food includes potato bread, sausage, bacon, black pudding, beans, mushrooms, and haggis, which is a real treat! There is a choice of eggs cooked to your liking. Despite being busy, there is very rarely a queue, and the food is always fresh and piping hot.

Food and drinks are also available throughout the day at the Hydro’s own golf club and in the Winter Garden in the hotel, and packed lunches can be prepared for £3.95 if you are heading out for the day.

The town of Crieff is small and compact, and really does not have much for the tourist. However it is attractive, has a good tourist office, and there are several shops selling all things Scottish. The Crieff Visitor Centre and the Stuart Glass Factory on the outskirts of town on the road to Stirling are worth a visit, and the newly refurbished Caledonian Bar in the town square (formerly Scorpios nightclub) serves a brilliant lunch for £4.00 - £7.00. A popular local attraction is the Glenturret Distillery, which has recently been bought by Famous Grouse whisky.

I’m looking forward to my next visit already!

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank luckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,849
    1,093
    484
    267
    113
See reviews for
1,780
1,045
40
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2006

My husband and i booked this hotel for a restful nights break . As we have a 6 month old baby, we don't spend as much time together as we used to and needed a relaxing night/day away.

Although there was a queue at check-in when we arrived we were attended to in a few minutes. Our room was nicely decorated, spacious enough and clean, although the large bed was in fact two beds pushed together!

We headed to the Victorian Spa straight away and enjoyed a spa bath, sauna and steam room and had the place to ourselves until a noisy couple arrived in the pool and spoiled our moments of relaxation. Should have a "Quiet Please" sign up on entering the spa. We paid a supplement for the use of the spa as it was an area outwith the main pool area which ,was quite busy and noisy.

I wanted to pamper myself and have a blow dry in the salon before dinner that night but there were no appointments left for that day, so book well in advance!

Our meal and service in the Meikle restaurant and bar was fabulous. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

The surrounding area of the hotel, walks and gardens were beautiful and peaceful.

Overall, i wished i had more time to spend here, could easily spend 3 or 4 nights with or without a child and not get bored of the place, a good variety of activities on offer too.

A stay at the Crieff Hydro was definetly the break away from it all we needed.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — bed
  • Tips/Secrets — Can relax or be as active as you like here.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrsKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

We have stayed at Crieff Hydro on many occasions over the past 20 years. without problems. On arrival, hoping for a quiet couple of days of r &r, we were met with a crowd of delegates, milling around reception. We had to wait a very long time to be checked in and were the only ones in the queue, not connected with the conference.
We had booked only a few days previously but were not told of the conference and on check in, also not told we could not use the dining room for dinner , only the brasserie.
We booked a table for 7.30 and arrived at 7.00 for a drink before our meal. The bar was packed with delegates, some already worse for wear, drunk and using bad language.
For our two day break we were unable to use the Winter Garden area, until 4pm on our last day, as it was being used for the conference.
We did complain on departure and our complaint was sympathetically dealt with by the duty manager.
It will not stop us from returning to one of our favourite hotels, but feel the ethos of the hotel of previous years is being compromised, for corporate events

  • Liked — great outdoors
  • Disliked — conference in progress
  • Tips/Secrets — check before booking for any corporate events
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank FionaMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

We stayed at Crieff Hyrdo as a wedding anniversary treat which we were looking forward to. The hotel grounds itself, the facilities and the communal areas are all really nice. The room we had didn't have a view at all, was in need of refurbishment and replacement mattress. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis - breakfast was a lovely choice of whatever you liked really, the cooked breakfast wasn't the best I've had but was lovely none the less.

The evening meal wasn't as satisfactory however. The dining room is massive and offers little atmosphere, whilst the waiters aren't overly hospitable. On ordering our meal it was served within minutes and was obviously pre-prepared and left heating until served - sauces with skins on and extremely hot dishes. On our second night we used our dinner allowance to dine at Crieff Hydro's sister hotel The MurrayPark - the staff were nicer and had more time for you whilst the meal itself took longer to prepare and we believe was made to order. All together a more successful evening.

There was an electricity shutdown that we were informed off before our stay but told that it would only affect the rooms - this wasn't so and the leisure facilities were shut in the main hotel (apart from the main pool only). We spoke to the lady at reception who was extremely rude and curt so we asked for the duty manager who was very apologetic and offered us complimentary quad biking which was amazing. The outdoor center offers so many activities from archery to more adrenaline seeking activities. The staff were lovely.

Overall we were disappointed with our room and the miscommunication concerning the electricity, and also the quality of the evening meal. But we did have a fantastic time in the leisure facilities when they were up and running.

  • Liked — Outdoor activites
  • Disliked — Room, food
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbelly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2006

We have just returned from our fifth visit to the hydro and felt it was good but with room for improvement.
The hotel is now so busy that advance booking for leisure activities,the kid's club and the restaurant is essential.Nevertheless my kid's club bookings were lost and my friend's badminton court bookings also vanished.
It wasn't possible to fully access the games hall owing to building work and this led to disappointment.
On the plus side the kid's club was great and we enjoyed the horse riding,quadbiking,golf and swimming.
The food in the Meikle was good for such a large venue as was the Brasserie. Restaurant staff were cheerful and prompt.

Our one awful experince was when we decided to have lunch at the sister hotel. the Murraypark. It was awful-food undercooked, badly presented and poorly served.
Crieff is on the expensive side if you have to go during school holidays. Our two night break (1adult and 4 children) cost £700 including activities. We will go next year to see the new facilities but may be tempted to try Peebles for a change.

  • Liked — Children's facilities
  • Disliked — The Murraypark
  • Tips/Secrets — Book activities in advance and study the map of the hotel and grounds
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallorca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2006

I stayed in the hydro hotel for a long weekend with my children, 10 and 13 and found it lovely. The rooms are clean and vary from modern executive to tradtional, all have the basic facilities of phone, tv (although channels were a bit mixed) and even has internet acces. The views from the rooms are stunning! looking right across the valley one way and to the foot of the highland mountains another. The hotel has tried to maintain it's traditional origins whilest keeping up with the times and has managed to create a luxurious mix of old victorian health spa with modern hotel. The fitness center is well equipped although slightly expensive but the service is friendly and professional. The range of activities available is outstanding, they have everything from horseriding, quad-biking and sailing to various beauty treatments. The childrens club is well organised and offer fun activities daily, there is also an onsite cinima !! The children didn't want to leave!
The hotel cater for various meals from buffet and snacks to a la carte and nouvel cuisine. The food in the buffet and snacks from the 'winter garden' cafe is of basic standard, however i found the meals in the restaurants to be tasty and professionally made. however if your not a fan of nouvel cuisine (served in the restaurante downstairs form the entrance area) you might feel a bit cheated at the tiny portion on the huge plates. Although i found it sufficient enough, my kids, as growing kids, wolfed it down in seconds and still had loads of space for a delicious looking desert!
For some of the reviews before, what do you expect?? The hydro is a 'rural' hotel built centuries ago, so of course it's going to look old, it IS an old building! If you want a hotel with bland modern walls and boring square architechture all in the name of 'moden' then this is not your choice of hotel. This is an old rural hotel with tons of character and charm.
In all, i found the staff very friendly and helpful, the area stunning with it's mountain setting and sweet little village atmosphere, plenty of activities offered from the hotel (however not much on offer from the village except cafes a few pubs and basic shops).
so if your looking for a relaxing country retreat or an activity pack holiday in a beuatiful countryside settings then this is the hotel for you.

  • Liked — the surounding area
  • Disliked — the prices for the spa
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tripadvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2006

we stayed in the chalets which were spotless, plenty room and the heating was really gd. the hotel itself was lovely the swimming was great and the food was good the only down side was the walk from the hotel back up to the chalet its a really steep hill to climb, up we had our wee dog with us and she enjoyed the beautiful walks. our daughter aged 3 loved the entertainment also my mum enjoyed the steam room and sauna if u like to be pampered then go to the hydro they have everything u could possibly need.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — the steep hill up to the chalets
  • Tips/Secrets — take good walking shoes
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank baldragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
755 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,784 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing