We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“give it a try”
Review of The Gurkhas

The Gurkhas
Ranked #14 of 47 Restaurants in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$17
Cuisines: Indian, Nepalese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The gurkhas is situated in the heart of crieff.!!
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“give it a try”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed a night in Crieff, have never been to Gurkhas before but thought we would give it a try, glad we did.Friendly staff and great food at very reasonable prices.Would recommend you try it, we will be back next time we're in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scooterScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    65
    10
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food and welcoming owners”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have recently returned to live in Scotland after 18 years down south in the East Midlands, where I have to say the general quality of Asian food in the Nottingham / Derby area was very good. Being regular curry eaters we started to try out various restaurants in Central Scotland area. Our initial observations is that dishes are more expensive here in Scotland and the price increase is often not reflected in the quality of the food served.
In our travels we called in at the Gurkhas in Crieff and have now made this a regular weekly event. The food they serve we have found to be of excellent flavourful quality and very consistent, when you combine this with the friendliness of the young couple from Nepal who run and own the the Gurkhas and you have a very enjoyable eating experience ...... they deserve to be successfull.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lister C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridge of weir
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“skip the pakora”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we were a party of 4 staying at the crieff hydro and decided one night to try this indian restaurant based on reviews on trip advisor. In short we enjoyed our mea,l the mains were very tasty however we were very very disappointed in the pakora. It was 6 tiny bits of pakora, 2 of each mushroom, chicken and veg. The pakora cost £4.50 which worked out at 75p per tiny bit. got to be the smallest portion of pakora i have ever seen. would return as the meals were tasty but wouldnt order the pakora.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
1 review
“avoid the pakora”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

staying at the hydro decided to pop in here one night for a curry. party of 4 started with popadoms and pickle try and mixed pakora. the pakora was really disappointing. 6 very small bits of pakora consisting 2 mushroom, 2 veg and 2 chicken. cost £4.50. very small portions which meant for a tiny mushroom it was 75p. thankfully the main meals were better in portion size and very tasty. might go back again if in the area but wont be ordering the pakora, over priced and tiny tiny portion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bridgeofweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top notch restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited this restaurant on a visit to Crieff. The food was excellent, full of flavour, we had a bottle of Hunters Cove merlot, also excellent. Great service, friendly staff, what more can you ask for.
Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliandbigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gurkhas also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Gurkhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing