We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little lonely here - if you don't count the CCTV.”

The Tower Gastro Pub
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Scottish, Contemporary, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Tower Gastro Pub is a unique pub/restaurant run by Annie and Bob Anderson situated in Crieff. Offering high quality food & drink in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Boasting one of the areas largest beer gardens complete with children's play area, chicken coup and allotment this is a family and dog friendly establishment.So whether its outside dining, a meal in the bar, or perhaps the more relaxed setting of the Lounge, The Tower offers something for everyone.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A little lonely here - if you don't count the CCTV.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

At the end of the 'main drag' through this little town, this gastropub seemed to beckon.
Food was excellent. Staff pleasant.
Only problem - we ate in a stark dining room alone (save the two CCTV globes eyeing us from the ceiling) and wished we had found the welcoming eateries at the other end of town we found later.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TourMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam G, Public Relations Manager at The Tower Gastro Pub, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not have the best dining experience with us this time. Its obviously been a quiet evening which at this time of year can happen from time to time. With regards to the CCTV, we try to create a secure and safe environment, and the cameras around the building are there purely to give added security to our patrons.

I must also point out as well, one of the cameras that you see in the dining room is only for streaming live music from the dining area to the screens in the main bar.

We read all of our trip advisor reviews and take all comments on board, so in that respect we thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    109
    23
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great food at great price, value for money. Completely child friendly, a great place for families. Only negative is service can be a bit slow, fine if you're not in a hurry. Don't really have much more to say but tripadvisor want a minimum of 200 characters.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthshireHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Fairly plain but very pleasant food - nice pub grub. I had chicken stuffed with smoked cheese - very tasty. Dropped in for a quick meal and it was ideal. My husband had steak pie and while a little disappointed that the pastry was just a lid on the steak he did enjoy it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Nice, but a long way from gastro.”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

After reading the great reviews on ta we decided to visit the Tower rather than another we'd considered in the area. There were only 2 other tables in the restaurant and the sound system was not working, so not conducive to a great atmosphere. The menu did look really interesting, but if i'm honest, my artichoke heart salad was slightly disappointing, with just a few layers of artichoke amongst lots of salad leaves. Again, my main course of wild mushroom stir fry was tasty without being amazing. The service was very friendly but the food was well short of the term gastro.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Was looking forward coming here after reading the reviews but it was not a good start. When we came in there was no one about so we showed are selfs to a table after 5 minutes we got our menus with no drinks being offered, in the mean time 2 other family's came in got shown to there tables and had the drinks order taken straight away.

After Waiting for about waiting 10 minuted for our order to be taken we finally had our drinks ordered.

The food was fine but the service was one of the worst i have experienced. The place was not very busy either so no excuses really!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank shedboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tower Gastro Pub also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Tower Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing