We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a breakaway”
Review of Murraypark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murraypark Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2012

this hotel is at the top of my list of hotel that I have stayed in,on leaving I handed one of my 4 tripadviser window stickers,very clean and tidy place and the meals were great,no waiting and hanging around waiting to be served,very talkitive staff and pleasent natured and informitive to the guests that are staying there,yes I would go back again yes,

Room Tip: plenty of car parking and access to crief hydro hotel for a swimm etc
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firemanjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

There's been some wide smiles since we read your terrific review firemanjas. We're all chuffed that the Murraypark is the best hotel that you've stayed in and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Murraypark Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Really can't fault the hotel. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. Their service was friendly and efficient without being intrusive. They catered brilliantly for our 7 year old daughter who has coeliac disease and needs a special diet. A massive thanks to the chef and his team for meeting all her needs with no fuss. Staff just seemed willing to go that extra mile for us. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanreid100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Many thanks for your brilliant review Susanreid100. It's great that the Murraypark Hotel/Hydro proved such a winning combination for your break. We're all basking in your praise and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed here on a two night break with dinner on the first night. We chose the Murraypark as it is dog friendly and we could still use the facilities at the Hydro.
The hotel is within walking distance to the hydro, although at the top of the hill from the town centre.
The food was excellent - so much so that we ate in the hotel on our second night as well. Lots to choose from and good kids selection also. Well priced too.
The dining area and main reception are lovely. The bar is cosy with the log burning stove on for the duration of our stay.
The rooms however let the hotel down for me. We stid in room 7. Family room downstairs, and my parents stid in room 10, upstairs above the bar. Although comfortable, warm and clean they could be doing with a fresh coat of paint (some of the walls in our room had stains on them, and the door was all scratched (perhaps from a previous dog trying to get out)!! The carpets also could be doing with a good clean.
In my parents room the paint was all chipped at the skirtings and there was a gap under the door that you could fit your hand under. Again the carpet could be doing with a clean.
Such a shame, but I felt that the rooms let this hotel down, and unfortunately for this reason we probably would not return.

Room Tip: Avoid room 10, as my mum said the boiler clicked on and off all night
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

We're pleased that so many aspects of your stay were enjoyable Jennifer703. Bedrooms are refurbished on a rolling basis, but we'll check out these rooms straightaway. It would be a shame not to see you all again because of something that can be fixed so easily. Hope you'll reconsider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My wife and I had two nights' B&B at this hotel as part of a larger group (23). We were celebrating a 50 year college reunion. (Nov.2nd & 3rd ). I found the hotel to be very welcoming and friendly. the bedrooms were clean and comfortable. The food was of a high standard and the menus nicely varied. My only complaint was with the service at dinner on the Friday evening which was extremely slow, well over 2 hours for the meal !
The staff were very helpful and dealt with any problems promptly and pleasantly.
All in all a pleasant experience in a well-run, intimate small hotel which suited our purposes perfectly.

Room Tip: Ground floor away from public areas best as there are no lifts.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Many thanks for your excellent review James H. We're all really chuffed to have added to the success of such a special reunion and hope to welcome you back to the Murraypark before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed for 4 nights 4th November 2012, this was our 5th stay at this gem of a hotel, and we were delighted to see that there have been significant positive changes over the last 12 months. The rooms on the first floor have all been subject to a revamp to a fresh clean contremporary design theme. The staff were superb, I could not fault them at all (and I am a very picky reviewer of hotels). The food in the restaurant was fresh well cooked and served quickly by staff who had an interest in your meal. There were no false "have a nice day" platitudes, but genuine interest in customers enjoyment. The entire hotel was spotless and the housekeeping staff worked quietly and efficiently in the background. I highly recommend this hotel and will be returning again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevelawson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

There's been quite a few 'high fives' around the hotel since we read your brilliant review Stevelawson61. We're thrilled to receive your lovely feedback and delighted that you're planning to return time and again to enjoy more of the Murraypark's charm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Our too short a stay was very comfortable warm and welcoming. Quiet rooms ( no 16 ) very cumfy beds!!!!!!
The menu selection was really varied well cooked and presented and always served with a smile.
I had called ahead as I had a temporary knee injury and they offered us a choice of two rooms well in this day and age of poor service in the hotel trade this was so not the case with the Murraypark. We went over to the Hydro and though impressive we were so glad we had taken the smaller friendlier option.
Emma one of the staff went the extra mile for all the guests also Shawn in the bar despite only being at the hotel a few months. Well done Murraypark it will be recommended by us!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms were all very spacious and quiet. I would advise a family of 3-4 to take advantage o...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

We were all thrilled to read your brilliant review FoodieAyrshire - especially Emma and Shawn. To us, the Murraypark is 'small but perfectly formed' and you seem to agree. Here's hoping that we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed for two nights on a DBB deal - have stayed at Crieff Hydro in the past but won't do so again - this hotel was much better in my view. Smaller, more intimate, friendly - it has a more modern decor and the rooms were immaculate and well appointed. Very quiet at night in the room we were in (no. 4). The main thing which impressed us was the quality of the staff - friendly, helpful, unobtrusive, efficient and organised - what a difference it makes when a hotel is well-run and staffed by quality employees. Could not speak highly enough of them - we will be back.
You get access to some of the Crieff Hydro facilities - we paid for use of the Victorian Spa which I would strongly advise you avoid. Not worth the (additional) charge.

Room Tip: It is a pet and family friendly hotel - at times there was a bouncing dog in the room next to us whi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamDBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

We were all thrilled to read your wonderful review A B – thank you. It sounds as ‘though the Murraypark ticks all the boxes for you and we’re all basking in your praise. Here’s hoping that we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
8.8 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
925 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,129 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murraypark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murraypark Hotel

Address: Connaught Terrace, Crieff PH7 3DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: £79 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murraypark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Murraypark, a small friendly 3* hotel where personal service is assured. Guests staying at the Murraypark can enjoy full access to the Crieff Hydro's extensive Lagoon leisure facilities and daily entertainments programme, all within a five minute walk! In the Restaurant, the focus is on good food and wines served in comfortable surroundings. Children are welcome at the Murraypark with child care available at an additional supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Murraypark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murraypark Hotel Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing