We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Day Break”
Review of Murraypark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Murraypark Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Two Day Break”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I have just had a couple of nights at the Murraypark. its not 5star it has no pool or fancy health club no posh bar no mini bars etc but what it does have is a warm friendly welcome that lasts all through your stay with attentive staff, good wholesome food, clean well furnished rooms and as you walk out at the end of your stay you turn to each other and say.
That was a nice treat lets come again .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Your lovely review brought sunshine to an otherwise cloudy day, Len W. We were all really chuffed to read that you regard a stay at The Murraypark as a wee treat. Here's hoping that it won't be too long before you return for some more rest and relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    151
    34
    16
    8
See reviews for
169
231
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked our stay at the Murray Park in January as we were attending a family party in one of the cottages at the Hydro. We had chosen the Murray Park as it was No1 on Tripadvisor and we like the small and friendly atmosphere a smaller hotel has to offer. A few other members of our family also decided to stay at the Murray Park as well. When we arrived at check in we were attended to straight away but we were told that we had been upgraded to a suite at the Hydro due to over booking. We had been travelling for 20 hours and despite wanting to be close to the other members of our party and as we were told we had been upgraded we put our cases back into our car and went to the Hydro. At the Hydro there was a massive queue for check in (expected in a large hotel which is why we chose small) at check in we were told that our room wasn't ready (this was after 2pm) so we waited 15 mins and re-queued to get the key. We finally got to our room to find one double one single and a camp bed all in one room . Not a suite, not an upgrade at all from the quad we had booked in the Murray Park. There were only towels for two people and cups (tea coffee etc) for three. The next morning we went for breakfast the place was so busy that we had to wait for a table, wait for a cup of tea, wait for the food to be refreshed.
Our relatives didn't fare much better at the Murray Park they we put in the attic room with no lifts or help with luggage (both ladies over the age of 76) the room was so hot and the window was painted shut. Still we had the party at the cottage to look forward to. This wasn't without problems either their fridge wasn't working and although they were provided with a small mini fridge this wasn't enough for all the party food and drinks. The staff at the hydro did provide plenty of ice however and the fridge was fixed by the Saturday night. The Hydro itself had plenty of things to do, we played bowls and tennis and had afternoon tea in the winter garden room which was reasonably priced but we could have enjoyed all of that from the Murray Park

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitrogabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Your 'upgrade' was arranged with the best of intentions Nitrogabe and we're really gutted that it didn't work out. By the sounds of it you just haven't seen us at our best. Sorry. Please remind us the next time you visit and we'll find some way to completely restore your faith in both hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights last week, and was very pleasantly surprised about how friendly and caring this hotel is. My husband and I arrived to find that our room was on the second floor, but when we mentioned to the booking clerk that my husband and I both had problems with hips/knees he immediately put us into a room on the first floor, (after we had seen it first!) the stairs to which we both could manage. The staff were excellent and couldnt do enough for us. How wonderful to get a friendly welcome at breakfast with a lovely smile and cheerfulness - nothing was too much bother for the staff. Cant say enough about them ! The food was excellent with a lovely cooked breakfast made to order and also excellent evening meals. Our room was spacious with a huge, comfy bed and beautiful bathroom. The only downside was that we were in the old part of the hotel, which badly needed a new stair carpet and new banisters which were wobbly in places ! However, would recommend this hotel in an instant - a really good price also, not too expensive. Plenty parking space too for the size of the hotel. Will be back !

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Reading your lovely review made a brilliant start to our weekend, Jens23. Thanks. It's great to know that The Murraypark ticked so many boxes for you and even better to hear that you're planning to return someday. Here's hoping we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from a trip to Scotland travelling around.This was the best hotel we stayed in by a long way.we had a lovely ground floor room,very good size and with a large bathroom, all the hotel is really nicely furnished and decorated,i just love the twinkly lights and candles .Staff were really good and helpful.Food was excellent and so good.We ate our evening meal in the bar instead of restaurant as we enjoy a more relaxed atmosphere.We enjoyed all the food which was .home made and truly delicious.Breakfast was very good and so much to choose from .Price is very good.value and we would definateley return there when we are in Scotland again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearandbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We're chuffed to bits that your stay at The Murraypark proved the perfect finish to your 'Highland adventure', bearandbun. It's flattering to be considered the best hotel that you visited and we're all buoyed by your lovely comments. Here's hoping you'll head north to see us all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just came home from our second time staying at this hotel and we had a fantastic time. Every single member of staff is absolutely wonderful, they are so friendly, helpful and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The room we were given was fantastic, clean and very spacious for our family of three. The hotel has a lovely cosy atmosphere.

There is only one tiny criticism and that is that in the morning if you don't want a cooked breakfast the continental choice is rather sparse and if you come down late for breakfast there sometimes isn't much left.

The evening meals on both nights that we ate in the hotel were lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We knew we were in for a great read when we spotted your review title and top score Julie P and you didn't disappoint. We're a close-knit team at The Murraypark and it's great to see that our camaraderie shows. Thanks for the 'heads up' on breakfast too. Hope you'll return for a 3rd stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We (myself, wife, daughter - 2.5 and daughter 4 months) have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Murraypark Hotel. What a great weekend we had, made better by this lovely hotel and brilliant staff.

We arrived and were checked in straight away, we were given a family room on the ground floor. The accommodation was perfect for our needs, the room was spotless and had all the amenities we required.

Whilst I do not want to criticise the hotel, after the second night my wife did have a number of bites on her body. We raised the issue with main reception (as a heads up rather than a complaint as we can't confirm they were from the hotel) but the guy on the front desk acknowledged my concerns and offered to move us straight away, I could not have asked for a better resolution and in such a non defensive or accusatory way.

Probably the best thing about this hotel is the staff, all were friendly, attentive and accommodating. After a very tiring day my toddler fell asleep in her highchair whilst waiting on our meal, Diego offered to bring through a small sofa to put her on and the staff also offered to bring our dessert to our room so we could put our children to bed.

We stayed for breakfast each morning and had an evening meal on our second night. The food was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was very filling and kept us going until lunchtime. There was a variety of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and fruit juice available, as well as the option of a hot breakfast. James was very friendly every morning we went for breakfast (so were all the other breakfast room staff). The evening meal was moderately priced, matching prices of mainstream restaurants, so no issues there.

One great extra is the access to the Crieff Hydro, whilst we found this a bit intimidating due to not knowing our way around and having small children, we think this could be very beneficial if you have some time to explore. We will certainly be taking advantage of this more when we return (which we plan to do soon).

If you go with a young family then the surrounding area has a number of things to do, we visited Auchingarrich Animal Park, which was a 15 minute drive. It was well worth the visit.

Overall I would say stay at this hotel. It is well worth the money. The hotel, to some, may look a little tired, but we all enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Wifi in room 12 kept dropping out when near the back of the room (beside bed or television.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dundee_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you so much for your stellar review, Gary H. Diego and James were particularly chuffed to receive your praise. We're all thrilled that The Murraypark came up trumps for you and hearing that you're already planning a return stay has rounded your fantastic review off nicely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Murraypark hotel. All staff were very friendly and efficient making us feel very welcome. The food was excellent and and well presented. Our room was nice and very clean, could not fault it. Only min's walk from Creif hydro where we enjoyed using the leisure facilities. Very relaxing stay, will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We had a quad room for three adults, the bunk bed was comfortable enough, had a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Murraypark Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We were all buoyed by your great review, susan T. It's lovely to hear that you have such affection for the Murraypark and we're thrilled that you're already planning a return stay. Here's hoping you'll be back to see us all again before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
0.2 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
7.3 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murraypark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murraypark Hotel

Property: Murraypark Hotel
Address: Connaught Terrace, Crieff PH7 3DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Murraypark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Murraypark, a small friendly 3* hotel where personal service is assured. Guests staying at the Murraypark can enjoy full access to the Crieff Hydro's extensive Lagoon leisure facilities and daily entertainments programme, all within a five minute walk! In the Restaurant, the focus is on good food and wines served in comfortable surroundings. Children are welcome at the Murraypark with child care available at an additional supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murraypark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murraypark Hotel Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing