We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house in a beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Crieff, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
morinne
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 7 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We went with 8 friends for a birthday celebration. The house was very well equipped and they gifted us with a generous starter hamper.
Everything in the house was perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia D
1 review
“Perfect getaway for a bunch of friends!”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

My boyfriend John had organised a surprise weekend trip to this house for us and a group of friends and we honestly can’t think of a single flaw about this beautiful home.

We had a wonderful arrival with the fireplaces lit, complimentary flowers/other treats and last but not least Fiona at the front door with a welcoming smile followed by a tour of the house.
We had such a relaxing time with the most immaculate rooms and everything we could possibly need already there!

Although there was a huge book with all the details of lots of places we could go to, we never wanted to leave the house. We all made very good use of the hot tub and hut at the bottom of the garden as well as the kitchen as there was more than enough room to make a huge feast for all 11 of us.

Perhaps if we had to think of something, it would be to put a sign for the house on the main road before turning up the lane, as a couple of friends struggled to find the house as it is hidden away.
However, we would highly recommend this house to anyone as we had a perfect weekend and felt extremely lucky to have found such a great place to spend it. We are now wanting to make this house an annual getaway for us all!

A huge thank you to Fiona, William and his family for having us and making our trip so wonderful.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2017
Thank you Georgia for your lovely review :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A let down!”
Reviewed 24 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I am disappointed to find myself writing a negative report, when all previous reports I had read helped me choose Gamefield for a recent trip with friends.

There were a number of issues with the accommodation and I brought these to the attention of the house manager, who I had arranged to meet when we were leaving. The owner was also there, so the house manager highlighted these to the owner. I was really disappointed with the owner’s reaction and totally unimpressed with the owner’s interpretation of how a businessman should deal with the issues we identified. The excuses and attitude were unacceptable. He intimated that we had rented the house at a reduced fee as it was the end of the season and the house would be in the poorest condition due to being rented out all season. My understanding is that the rates change due to it being a quieter time and low season not because you expect the house to be battered and bruised from the high season and no maintenance having been carried out throughout.

We left when the discussion was leading nowhere. We did receive an email the following day from the owner saying that they had taken our points on board and most had been rectified and that lessons had been learnt. We also received a partial refund, so the matter has been resolved, but it was a shame that the process was not dealt with in a professional manner, as this should not have been the most memorable part of the weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2017
I am sorry that you felt compelled to write a bad review on our web-site following your stay, especially after we had taken steps to compensate you both financially and by way of a further apology.

In all the five years we have been letting Gamefield, we have never received a bad review.

All feedback received is very much appreciated and we are grateful for the time you have taken to further share your disappointment. As our letter stated, lessons have been learned and the problems you highlighted have been rectified.

When you feel as passionately about somewhere, as William does about Gamefield, even the best intended criticism can be difficult to take. Hindsight is a wonderful thing and we acknowledge that the situation should have been handled better. There were extenuating circumstances at the time of your departure however, which I am not at liberty to divulge to you, and your comments were not received in the manner they would normally have been. But you can rest assured that this was not normal behaviour from William.

Please accept our apologies once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dream5507...
1 review
“Everything you expect and more! Stunning!”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A beautiful countryside house with adaptable accommodation and every last detail thought of.
The House was so well equipped, comfortable and luxurious that it was difficult to drag ourselves out to explore the wonderful countryside. Easy drive into Crieff for shops and only 5-10 minutes in the car from the Hydro.
The garden hot tub was a special treat - what is not to like soaking in the tub with a glass of champagne!
Any questions our group had were answered virtually immediately by the owners and House manager.
Enjoyed the trip so much we are thinking of booking for next year! Cannot recommend highly enough.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzelinc...
lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family House”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A great family holiday, we ranged in age from 3 to 85, everyone agreed that after 20 years of staying in beautiful houses all around the country for our yearly get together
Gamefield was up there with the best!
We will return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your great review! It's a wonderful idea to gather the family together to celebrate special milestones. We look forward to welcoming you all back to Gamefield.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
412jamesi...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant Long Weekend”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I booked 'Gamefield' for a long weekend to celebrate my partner Maggie's 'significant' birthday. Twelve of her nearest and dearest friends and relations helped us celebrate what was a truly memorable stay which will live long in the memory. All our guests are still raving about the unbeatable quality and ambience of the interiors to both the main house and to Indie House, the adjacent smaller out-building which was equally luxurious and which slept four of the guests.
I can't not comment on the way the team behind this place treated me. Courteous, efficient and prompt in response to any questions arising so thank you, merci and grazie mille to Tracey who does the organisation and to Wendy and William, the owners. If I come across as a bit 'gushy' about the place, no apologies. It's an absolute gem and not to be missed in this beautiful part of the world, whether you've got something to celebrate or not.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
A huge thank you for your very kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you, Maggie and all your friends to Gamefield. Already looking forward to hearing your plans to return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whu2017
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect house for family celebration.”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great location near Crieff. Lots to do for all ages. The house is very spacious and extremely well equipped. The garden is peaceful and every window has a lovely view. So relaxing and particularly appealing summer house by hot tub. Any problem was tended to quickly by Tracey. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are always delighted to hear back from our guests. We take great joy in family groups staying at Gamefield to spend quality time together and leaving with precious memories.
Always happy to help
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing