We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday in Scotland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crieff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in Scotland”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed with my sister for a week in August at Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges. From the moment we arrived we were enchanted. We received a warm welcome and a pot of local jam :) Our Lodge (Pine No. 21) was set beautifully over the lake with sunlight sparkling through the trees. The ducks paid us a visit, and kept us company on many strolls around the lake. The lodge is very spacious and comfortable. A double and twin bedroom, with very comfortable beds. the bathroom was bright and clean with shower over the bath. An adjoining sauna would be lovely for colder months of the year. The sitting room was very comfortable, two couches with views over the lake, this was also the case for the dining area, nice big window with lake views. The kitchen was well equipped, even a dishwasher (a nice holiday treat). The location is wonderful, just two miles from Crieff on the road towards Comrie. We did plenty of days trips, including Loch Awe, Pitlochrey, Aberfeldy and St. Andrews and the Fife Coastal Path (approx. 1.5 hrs drive). We looked forward to heading back towards our lodge each evening. Crieff itself has eating options and there is information in the Lodge about local services and restaurants etc. We tended to eat in, it's not often you get to enjoy the perfect view. We really loved our stay at loch Monzievaird, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southernsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
119
72
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Used to live in Crieff and went back to take my wife to the Crieff Highland Gathering (Games). Went with friends and family, 6 berth cabin tucked away by a burn. Very quiet. Nice and peaceful evenings on the deck with a glass of wine or two. Took the dogs, lovely walks round the loch (look for the old tower hidden in the trees).
Will be going back again, Crieff Games were a bonus. Everybody very friendly and helpful, thanks to all, especially Irene, nice to see you again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jura11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Loch monzievaird self catering lodges were just as I expected given the terrific reviews I had read. It was our first time there and as a family with 3 children there was loads to do out and about. There's a good walk/cycle into Crieff opposite the entrance which wasn't advertised ( maybe because its a bit of a steep climb either way). My 5 year old made it up and down to Crieff a few times so its not too bad. Only disappointment for me was that we had booked several months in advance but when I checked website nearer time the same chalets were a lot cheaper. It's a gamble but the next time I look to go back I'll do it last minute and save myself quite a bit of money. Otherwise it's a great destination for an outdoor holiday and worthy of reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Had a lovely relaxing break, the log cabins had everything you could want. It was our first time there but we will definitely be back. The views from the log cabin overlooking the loch were beautiful. The Wyse family

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnefergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This year we stayed in Pine Cabins 22 and 24. As always they are ideal, clean, comfortable and with
plenty of room. New bathrooms are very good, and the sauna is an added bonus. Individual BBQ's
are outside each cabin along with a picnic table and seats, and plenty of room for travel chairs etc.
A lovely walk round the loch, and plenty of walks in the area without having to go far afield. Everything
you need in Crieff, from a good supermarket to nice deli shops and all kinds of places to eat and a
good selection of carry outs. The staff at Monzievaird are always very attentive, and anything that requires
attention is seen to immediately.
The most wonderful and relaxing place we have ever stayed at means we just keep coming back,
and look forward to our next week later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just back from 2 weeks in lodge 19 overlooking the loch and it was just as fantastic as ever. The tennis court in site was well used by my kids and their friends and we even hired a boat for a couple of hours to go round the loch. It was only £11 and what a laugh we had. It's very safe and life jackets were provided. Well worth a shot!
Irene in reception was an absolute star and nothing was too much trouble. Everything was dealt with very professionally and she must be the most welcoming person in Scotland! The lodges are immaculate and have everything you could need in the kitchen. There is even a barbecue outside if you fancy.
Very peaceful and you are not aware of other guests although you can see their lodges nearby. Crieff is only 2 miles away for supermarket and local shops. Comrie is just 5 miles away and the deli cafe does brilliant soup and sandwiches. The local chippy is fab too. There is a huge grass area the lodges overlook and often the children staying will meet up for football or cricket. It's ideal as you can keep an eye on them from your lodge if you wish
All in all just a great family holiday. Everything is good as the other reviews will confirm.
This was our 6th visit and we will definitely be back

Thanks again

Room Tip: All the lodge types are superb. Check e site plan for one that suits you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in a pine lodge which was only a few meters from the loch. The scenery was absolutely stunning and as a keen photographer I was in paradise. The light seemed to change the scene every few minutes. The lodge was very comfortable and well equipped with all we needed and the lovely sauna was a bonus. The nearest supermarket is only a couple of miles away in Crieff and is open all day every day so there's no need to pack the kitchen sink!
Our spaniel had the time of his life and because it was very hot this summer he went swimming several times a day to cool down.
If you are looking for a bit of peace and quiet away from the pressures of everyday life, this is the place to come. We have already booked another trip in the autumn when the trees will be spectacular. This was our second visit as we brought the family here in '95 so we were absolutely delighted to see that this beauty of a place in the middle of Perthshire was as good, if not better than we remembered.
Who needs to leave Scotland when we have this on our doorstep!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77harveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
10.3 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
751 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Comrie
219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,567 reviews
2.1 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
526 reviews
16.0 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges

Property: Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges
Address: Ochtertyre, Crieff PH7 4JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Monzievaird is a beautiful Highland estate set in an historic designed landscape. The grounds are protected by Historic Scotland and extend to 40 acres. Across the road from our entrance is a small track that connects into a huge local path network. We are two miles from Crieff, hidden away in a quiet location perfect for either using as a base from which to discover Highland Perthshire or to venture to the east or west coast on days out. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing