We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced poor quality lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Famous Bein Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenfarg
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overpriced poor quality lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were recommended the Famous Bein Inn by friends and were looking forward to eating here. We each ordered a roast beef sandwich and soup at £7.95 per person. The soup was good, but the sandwich contained just one thin and small slice of dry roast beef with lots of gristle and fat, between slices of toast, burnt on one side and untoasted on the other. The drinks were also expensive compared with other local pub-restaurants. We expressed our disappointment when we'd finished, only to be told by the manager that we should have complained when the food arrived, something I'd normally only do if the item was obviously inedible or unsafe to eat. We just thought this was very poor value for money, at £2.50 in a fast-food joint, it would have been OK. The manager then said she would send us a voucher for a future visit, which I would have gladly accepted as a gesture of apology, some other diners seemed to have better fare. But this never arrived: the manager obviously really doesn't care anything for customer service or value for money. Our friends have told us they will never recommend the Bein Inn again to any of the customers of their business.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mvkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    64
    45
    25
    29
See reviews for
65
111
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I took our friends, one of whom had owned the Bein Inn in the 1960's and another who had worked for him as a waiter, there for dinner when the former waiter came to Scotland on holiday: it was supposed to be a special evening... We were a few minutes late but still wanted to take some photos outside first: I checked with the girl behind the bar that this was alright and she said it was... However, everything that went wrong thereafter was blamed on us being late! We had to sit in the bar which was rather hot and crowded - there is a large dining room, so I don't know why it wasn't being used. The waitress made several mistakes with the drinks order and seemed sullen about being told. The food took a long while to come - it wasn't too bad, to be fair: sole credit of the evening is due to the chef. However, the waitress made more mistakes with a subsequent drinks order, and was quite rude and while I obviously don't condone this, she was rushed off her feet because... the lady in charge had not appeared until the bar was full and when she did, wandered from table to table, chatting to diners while the waitress tried to do everything. The waitress was dressed smartly in black: by contrast, her employer was dressed for the beach, right down to pink sparkly flip-flops. When she got to our table, I told her that there had been some problems with the drinks and her attitude was absolutely, Don't Want to Know. She ignored the points we tried to make, instead of addressing them, and walked off. After the meal, we were sitting in front of empty plates for about fifteen minutes - while she chatted to the people at the next table. Our table was never cleared and we left without ordering dessert or coffee, which we had been going to - and said so (she wasn't bothered!) When I paid the bill, I told her we'd had a most disappointing evening: she was absolutely unconcerned and while she eventually did apologise (as there was a guest within earshot!), it was in the most perfunctory way and said that because we were late the waitress had been 'flustered' and that as they were only used to 'a nice clientele', the girl was not used to be told that she was doing anything wrong... Needless to say, it was a shame for our guests and I wouldn't advise anybody to risk trying to celebrate any sort of special occasion at the Bein Inn.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Desi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glenfarg hotels

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

First visit to the Bein Inn...and am very pleased to say that I recently enjoyed a superb dinner at this hidden gem in Perthshire.... The menu is most interesting with plenty of choice..(truth is I could have gone for almost any item listed!..they all looked really good). Decided to start with seared scallops which were absolutely perfect and beautifully presented, generous rib eye steak was cooked exactly medium to rare as ordered, and a delightful creme brûlée to finish....all washed down with several pints of excellent Guinness....all made for a brilliant meal.
Accomodation is basic but clean and tidy, very good shower, complimentary shampoo,shower gel comfortable bed...and plenty of tea , coffee, chocolate and biscuits in the room...although decor is a little tired, it was certainly no hardship staying here. Staff were friendly, very helpful and courteous.
Plenty of choice for breakfast...finally opted for the full Scottish cooked which was just perfect...served very hot, and comprised excellent quality bacon, sausage, black pudding, field mushrooms, tomato, 2 eggs and scone...tea and toast.
No hesitation recommending the Bein Inn, particularly for the superb food served here, and will certainly return when next travelling in Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We decided to go here as a birthday meal for my daughter, so booked in advance as there were 8 of us in our party.
Arrived to be greeted with "you can dine in the bar although table offered was very small and not enough room for 6adults and two young children ,or in the dining room" which was much quieter as no other guests present!
We arrived at 6.15pm,got seated and after a long wait,waitress came with menus(no offer of taking drinks order)when prompted,that was done.

Then the fun began.

Drinks arrived , to be presented with black specs in every drink ,except two, when we challenged them they said "that's strange,but would change"could be due to someone not rinsing out the coffee cups before putting them into the dishwasher ,so when they bring you new drinks you would expect them to be crystal clear............. you guessed it ,no still the same in one of the glasses.Yet again,back to the kitchen to rectify,AGAIN!!

The kids food arrived at the same time as our starters as requested,about 45mins after we arrived ,by this time everyone was starving ,bearing in mind we had a 4& 8 year old with us. My grandson asked for carrots with his meal and they forgot to bring them and had to be reminded, as for the starters they all arrived at a similar time apart from the prawn cocktail which arrived just as everyone was finishing theirs. Nobody came to clear the plates for some time and had to be prompted again for more drinks.

The main meals finally arrived about an 1 1/2 hrs after arriving which were all delivered at the same time, but they forgot the order and tried to give one of the party a burger when he asked for chicken. We then had to prompt them for the side orders of onion rings and chips, which eventually came when the main meals were finished.

When we challenged who appeared to be the owner , she had severe attitude problem and tried to justify the errors on the till not picking up the meals properly and that they were busier than they expected. Let me tell you ,they were not busy with meals anyway ,and remember we had booked in advance so therefore surely the least you would expect would be common courtesy and an apologetic explanation which we would have totally accepted and understood.

There was no apology for the distinct lack of service and organised chaos throughout the meal.

So if you are thinking about going for a meal, I wouldn't recommend it.Have eaten in most of the restaurants in and around Perth, and this by far has been the worst experience for service we have ever come across,was really disappointed as this was for a birthday celebration and totally ruined our night out.........Never Again,felt like we were appearing in a comedy sketch,shocking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has just been taken over by Theresa and Jim. I have been staying here on business for 2 weeks. A most charming, lovely couple newly returned from Australia. Scottish themselves, they are transforming this green belt hotel into the modern age. Keeping its charm and in keeping with its urbanity, you can already see changes taking shape in the small time they have been there.
You enter the hotel to a warm reception, where you can relax with a pint in front of the TV, or peruse your favourite novel whilst munching on something from their menu. The restaurant is stunning and worthy of a visit to have a candlelit dinner or even a social event. The bar restaurant, The McGreggor Bar, itself is a cozy affair with ample seating. The range of Whiskeys and other drinks on offer is impressive to say the least.
There is another bar also downstairs called the 'Down Under' bar. This is a bar available for private functions and can hold upto about 30 people.
The rooms themselves are all on the first floor. Very spacious and modern. There are flat screen TV's and plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. The rooms are airy and not hot which is a blessing. You can control the temperature of your radiators too, so putting one on in the bathroom acts as a nice towel airer for example.
The hotel is within easy reach (an hour) of the highlands - Pitlochry, Kinloch Rannoch, Loch Lomond etc
I love this hotel and the staff make it feel like a home from home. Another important thing to note is that a packed lunch is available to anyone who requires one.

Excellent place and well deserves a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren_R_Beckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stopped at the Bein Inn today for dinner and were not disappointed. I had venison and anna potatoes ( which I love) and they are very seldom on menus. Husband had rib-eye steak with trimmings (which he loved) thought it was a lot to eat. So if you like good quality food served with a little flair this is the place for you. We had super service from a very handsome and efficient young waiter, who unbelievably has only been there 3 weeks. He was handling a busy dining room on his own very well. We finished with coffees and tablet. Yummie!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A warm welcome awaited us from the owner. BedRoom was spotless clean and comfortable. Staff very attentive. Food was not great- fishcake sat in a bowl of what looked like thick soup- tasted ok. Apple crumble came oddly presented too... Breakfast was disappointing (not convinced that the chef cooked it- day off?) fried eggs were badly presented, scrambled eggs overdone, potato scone still cold inside- not worth 9.50. No atmosphere in dining room. Dinner in the Bistro which was a bit confusing- bar staff dressed for a wine bar, mixture of light/dark wood and mixture of traditional and contemporary spotlights... Currently being refurbished so maybe the new owners will decide the style and stick to it. Tried to sit by the fire before bed time but couldn't as the owners and their friends had hijacked it for themselves. Bit disappointing on the whole.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizardsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenfarg
7.0 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.9 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Famous Bein Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Famous Bein Inn

Property: The Famous Bein Inn
Address: A912 at intx B996 | Perth and Kinross, Glenfarg PH2 9PY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glenfarg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenfarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Famous Bein Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Famous Bein Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Famous Bein Hotel Glenfarg
Bein Hotel Glenfarg
The Famous Bein Inn Glenfarg, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing