We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb way to enjoy the loch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Fillans Boat Hire - CLOSED

St. Fillans Boat Hire
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hey, we are a small family run Boat Hire Business in the heart of St Fillans. We welcome all visitors, from babies to the elderly from experienced to novice and we even welcome well behaved dogs! We actually build and sell these boats too so we know our stuff. Whether you want to potter about or try your hand at fishing you can hire for 2, 4 or 8 hours and we even include all of the fuel. All life jackets are supplied free of charge. Please note that we pride ourselves on being a friendly, very safety conscious business and with the latter in mind, please note that if we do not think that weather conditions are safe enough for a trip out ..The boats will not be hired our until calmer conditions return. We have a Facebook page.....Check our some of our customers comments (the ones we remembered to tell that we were on Facebook!) Search St. Fillans Boat Hire............And for a good look at our Arran 16 Search Arranboats. Hope to see you all very soon.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb way to enjoy the loch”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Booked with the owner at the last minute....couldn't of been more helpful. We were camping at comrie croft (only 6miles away) and needed something different to do....so glad we chose this. Lovely trip up the loch on "Iona" after a brief safety chat with Dave we were left alone to enjoy the 2 hours we had booked for. Easy controls and great views as you chug along. Returned to be met by Dave in his chest waders to help "park" the ship....a wonderful time with great hosts....and yes i will be back.
Thanks and see you again Jon and Ollie from Auchterarder.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainand1stmate, Owner at St. Fillans Boat Hire, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
So happy you found the whole experience enjoyable, I think that sometimes people think the driving of the boat will be too difficult....and that couldn't be further from the truth! You have now seen our Loch from a totally different perspective.....great isn't it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome way to spend the day”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Booked with only a couple of days notice. Very friendly owners met our party of 4 at the jetty gave safety briefing and provided us with life vests and all equipment needed. Hadnt intended on fishing but thought we'd give it a go at the last minute and this wasnt a problem at all licences available 2 mins from the jetty and rods etc provided then and there. We paid for 4 hours and were very happy with the price and all round service provided the loch was stunning and I would quiye happily do this every day if I could. Although id prefer not to brag about this boat hire so we could have it all to ourselves it would be impossible not too. Definitely recommend to anyone who wants to see the loch in all its grandeur cant recommend this company enough. Thanks for a great day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cloudsoffury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainand1stmate, Owner at St. Fillans Boat Hire, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
So glad you enjoyed your trip.....set up the business so that people can see what we see every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had an amazing afternoon out on one of the boats on Loch Earn- very clean boat, lovely friendly owners and all set in a beautiful location, what more could you ask for?!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainand1stmate, Owner at St. Fillans Boat Hire, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
We are very fortunate to live in such a beautiful spot! So happy that you enjoyed your trip.......it's such a calming experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
““Amazing - couldn't of been better!!””
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at st fillans last year and we had such a nice time. The weather was great and so was the boat owner, going down the lake seeing the sights bring the past back as i used to come here on holiday as a child, will be returning again soon

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dougie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainand1stmate, Owner at St. Fillans Boat Hire, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking time out to be our first Tripadvisor Reviewer! So glad that you enjoyed your trip on the boat........the area is stunning, that's why we moved here. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what was required”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Had a great day out on Loch Earn, with our hired boat from St Fillans Boat Hire. We were met at the jetty side by the very friendly owner, quick safety chat, guidance on where not to go, and off we went.
The boat was immaculately clean, and had everything we would need incl life jackets & first aid kit. We took our picnic and a rod (licence available from the PO near the jetty).
The weather was absolutely stunning (although I don't think that had been organised by St Fillans Boat Hire).
Tied up for lunch at the Lochearn Water Sports centre, somewhat disappointed over-priced and nothing special, but they do serve Earl Grey tea, and allowed our dog to sit with us.
We hired the boat for 8 hours, but decided to return an hour early only because the heat was unbearable (yes, I know unknown in Scotland in July!), but we had a lovely relaxing day pottering about the Loch watching the watersports, geese, other birdlife and pretending to fish.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bikechick1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainand1stmate, Owner at St. Fillans Boat Hire, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thanks so much for your review. Some people never see our Loch from the water, and I'm sure you will agree that they don't know what they are missing, especially if the Ospreys are hunting. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Fillans Boat Hire also viewed

St Fillans, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing