We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A first class small hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Archray House Hotel in May (Room 1) and enjoyed an exceptionally comfortable and enjoyable time there. The room was excellent, tastefully decorated and furnished, and well equipped.
The meals were faultless - sensible portions, high-quality, locally sourced food which was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. The wine list is varied, interesting and sensibly priced. I rate the meals as some of the best we have ever had.
The hotel owners and staff were thougthful, responsive and caring and the ambience delightful.
Excellent value for money. We shall certainly return.

R.M. Gloucestershire.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert444_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Manager at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thanks for your review. You have succinctly summarised what we strive to achieve at Achray House, and Jane and I look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    115
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
444
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend purchased a 2 night stay at the Achray house from itison and after reading some of the reviews (particularly about the food) we were really excited. We were placed in room 7 on the ground floor which was next door to the laundry room. This caused a small problem where early in the morning the staff were in and out this room several times, allowing the door to slam shut every time, this becomes increasingly irritating when trying to have a long lie. The most annoying aspect of this was the fact that on arrival I was told that the hotel was only half full so why put us in that room? Room was also cold on arrival.

The deal also stated we would receive a free cocktail on arrival which to me was a glass of sparkling wine mixed with fruit juice. Not quite like the cocktails I've had in the past.

We decided to dine in the restaurant which was priced at £17 for one course (supplement charge for steak, as If £17 isn't expensive enough for a steak), £23 for two courses and £27 for three courses. So we opted for three courses and were extremely disappointed!!! Smoked salmon for starter with a serving of bubble bath on top of a thumb size portion of salmon. We both had chicken in a mushroom/cream sauce With fries which was not worth £10 let alone £17, bland!! (We appreciate good food and dine out every week). Because we ordered three courses we were entitled to a cocktail the following night which we never received.
(The following night we dined at the Tower restaurant/bar which was homemade locally sourced food, was delicious and well priced).

On leaving the hotel we told the owner that we were not overly happy with our room being next door to the laundry room and the fact we heard BANG BANG BANG all morning and her response was "hm", fantastic customer service.

The location of the hotel is outstanding and we hired bikes and went exploring which was fantastic, especially as we had the weather.


  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherylbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
As you have written such a detailed review I would like to address each of your points in turn.

Firstly, the laundry next to the room. We only work the laundry between 10:00 and 16:00 so as not to disturb guests, but after reading your review I have found that the door closer on the door needs replaced and this would have been the noise you heard when one of our staff went into the laundry for fresh towels for the kitchen in the morning. Sorry for that: we will have it replaced, but I know that's not much consolation to you.

On the day you arrived we were only half full, but in the second day of your stay we were full so there was no other room to put you in for both days. The room was slightly cold on your arrival. That was because the guest before you had turned the heating off as they were too warm, and although we did pick this up during housekeeping and turn the radiator up full again, you arrived over two hours before our earliest check in time and the room had not had time to not fully warm again.

The deal stated that you would receive and Achray Cocktail on arrival, and on our web site this is described in detail. It is our house cocktail, sparkling wine with the addition of a raspberry liqueur (not fruit juice), and is based on a Kir Royale, but using raspberries rather then blackcurrants to give it a Scottish aspect. I don’t know what else you would call it other then a cocktail. ( Kir and Kir Royale are both listed as Before-Dinner Cocktails by the International Bartenders Association, the recognised world authority on cocktails.) Certainly it is not laced with hard liquor and decorated with a paper umbrella, but it is a cocktail none the less.

As to the prices of the food, we are the cheapest of the three comparable local restaurants, and for the standard and type of food I don't think £28 for three courses is expensive. There is nowhere in rural Perthshire I know of serving good quality sirloin steak for £17, and even quality Glasgow steakhouses typically charge £22 to £25 for a sirloin steak with a sauce. Our steaks are all sourced from Simon Howie, one of the best butchers in Scotland, and I will let the reviews on this site attest to what our customers think of the steaks.

Our food is contemporary, and some of it is quite adventurous. The bubble bath you describe on the salmon is an air made with wasabi, a hot Japanese form of horseradish, intended to contrast with the taste and texture of the salmon and accompanying jelly. As for the chicken, as our menu is quite adventurous, we do ensure we have choices that are not spicy, powerful tasting or challenging, and the chicken is one of them. Although we don't think it is bland, it was the least powerfully flavoured of the six main courses on the menu the night you dined. As you chose not to have the potato which was part of the dish (crushed new potatoes enriched with hollandaise, and mixed with chopped flat leaf parsley), and to have chips instead, it would have been more plain tasting than we planned. (Incidentally, the 26 mile round trip to the pub in Crieff to eat would have cost you more than any cost differential in the food)

As to the cocktail, as you say you were not in the hotel the following day after breakfast, and went straight to your room when you arrived back in the evening, so we didn’t have the opportunity to serve it to you. We would have given it you at breakfast had you asked.

I think you misinterpreted my wife's reaction to your comments on the noise. It was puzzlement, as she knew the door had a closer on it, but didn't know it had developed a fault.

I'm sorry the stay didn't work out for you.

Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My Fiance and I stayed for three nights bed, breakfast and evening meal In April 2012. The room was delightful and although we were not in a room with a loch view, the view from the dining room, lounge and breakfast room were wonderful. The owners and their staff could not have been more genuinely charming and helpful. The food was absolutely great. It tasted wonderful and was beautifully presented. The guest lounge was relaxing with lovely large sofas and an open fire which created an atmosphere of peace and tranquility - a place to relax and read or share a drink and meet like minded travellers. If it's dancing and loud music you want then maybe it's not for you. A perfect base for exploring the wonderful scenary Scotland has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thanks for your kind review.

Your review describes us perfectly: if you want to spend your days walking or exploring the dramatic scenery, and your evenings relaxing over a good meal and a dram in front of the log fire then we are for you; if you want lively night life you'll need to look elsewhere.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Achray House Hotel in room 2.
We arrived and where shown around the lounge and dining room before going up to our room.
The room is spacious with a built in wardrobe and dressing table. Hairdryer supplied so no need to take one. Lovely big comfy bed and a bathroom with a shower and a bath.
A pre dinner drink in the lounge with a lovely log fire burning while studying the menu = chilled
The dining room looks over the loch and the the food is first class and well presented. Breakfast is cooked to order and sets you up for the day walking in the hills.
The weather was very kind for us we even managed to sit out on the decking with a drink or 2 which was lovely and relaxing,
Need a break, make sure its here its just what the doctor ordered.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thanks for your generous review, and I'm glad we were able to help make your two days a relaxing break.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

First of all, apologies for the late review but I'm only just getting round to writing them up!

We stayed here on a 2 night deal through one of the vouchers websites in November 2011 (£119 for 2 nights B&B).

The hotel is a fabulous little place in an excellent location overlooking the loch. On our arrival we were shown to our loch view room and found our bottle of sparkling wine waiting nicely chilled for us. We spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing before we went to eat in the restaurant and I have to echo what others have said - the food is fabulous! Our order was taken in the drawing room and then we were shown through to our table, 3 wonderful courses of home cooked food, and then back to the drawing room for us. Due to it being a small hotel we could sit and chat with other guests, relax, read a book from the large selection, or play one of the games provided.

Due to the time of year there was not a great deal to do in the area - take your walking boots or bikes and explore roundabout! We went to Comrie and the local wildlife park and did plenty of walking and then had another excellent meal at the hotel.

Fabulous attention to detail, the staff were excellent and welcomed you as if you were coming into their own home. I have recommended the hotel to others and I'm sure we will be back on our travels at some point in the future - even if it's just for the food!

Room Tip: It's worth having the extra for a loch view room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekerkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay last year: I'm impressed that you remember so much about us, and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I have spent a relaxing 3 nights at this hotel. We had a good size grounfloor double at the front with two windows looking out to the loch. Everything was spotless and comfortable and the food was very good. Plenty of hot water although the water pressure in the shower wasn't too good, however there was a bath as well. We had dinner, bed and breakfast. The surrounding scenery is majical in any kind of weather and the hotel nice and warm. There are lots of nice walks, short or long and plenty of places to visit close by.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishlass062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thanks for the positive review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your two days (and had good weather).

You mention the water pressure in the shower in the Loch View room you stayed in. We are working around the showers replacing those that have limited flows, but unfortunately didn't get all of them completed before we opened for the year in February, so plan to complet them at the end of this year.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our family have just spent a lovely night at the Hotel, celebrating Mum's 80th Birthday. Setting is beautiful, the hotel is lovely, relaxing and friendly. The food is excellent, very high standard. Alan and Jane couldn't have done anymore for us, from the first enquiry until we arrived. We will be back, keep up the excellent work, go visit Achray House, it won't disappoint.

Room Tip: We had six rooms all lovely anyone you will love
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wado444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thanks for the review of your Mum's 80th birthday at Achray House: I'm glad you all enjoyed it and that we were able to give you the setting to let you celebrate in style.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
897 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
10.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
395 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
172 reviews
19.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Achray House Hotel and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Achray House Hotel and Lodges

Property: The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Address: Loch Earn, St Fillans PH6 2NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St Fillans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Achray House Hotel and Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want action packed activity, or just to relax and unwind, the Achray House Hotel and Lodges are ideal for a break away from the stresses and strains of modern life. With a choice between comfortable bedrooms in the hotel, or well appointed self catering lodges, you can choose accommodation to suit your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Achray House Hotel and Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Achray House Hotel St. Fillans
Achray Hotel St Fillans
The Achray House Hotel And Lodges St Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing