We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We came here in a party of six as part of a deal for an overnight stay and the Taster menu. The room was fabulous and the Taster menu was in the main very good. The hotel is spotless and the views over Loch Earn and the mountains are beautiful. However, we felt as if we were an imposition on the owners. We were there as part of a 'deal' and prepared to spend more as a result, but we were rushed into the restaurant at half seven ('I won't offer you pre-dinner drinks so we can get you to your table'), although we said we'd have more wine we never got the chance to order any. Our coffee was served very quickly and we had to suggest that we might have liqueurs, the bar shut at half ten, and at quarter to eleven the owner said he was going to bed, put all the lights off in the surrounding rooms and told us to 'keep the noise down' as there were bedroom upstairs. The 'noise' was us laughing as we played a board game supplied by the hotel! The owners missed an opportunity not only for us to spend considerably more that we were able to, but also for us to go away feeling that we mattered and thus give a better review.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch side view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EAber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and I'm glad you enjoyed the food, room and location.

I must take issue with the idea you were an imposition on us, and point out a few things.

As small hotel owners my wife and I work hard to make our guests' stays enjoyable in what we hope is a relaxed and informal environment. However, as with all public places, that means that guests also need to respect each other's rights to enjoy their stay. Generally this is accepted by everyone, but very occasionally we need to intervene to ensure that all our guests can enjoy their stay, as we did with you.

Firstly, when we agreed with you a time to dine, we pointed out that this was the time that we aimed to have the first course of the six course menu ready on your table, and that if you wanted a drink beforehand to come to the lounge half an hour or so before. You were happy with this, but in the event, you were half an hour late for the time you had booked the table, so we took you straight to your table.

I am surprised you felt the meal rushed as you spent over two and a half hours at the table, and were still there an hour after the last guests who arrived later than you had left.

As to drinks, I asked you twice over half an hour if you wanted any more drinks, which you did not, and then said at ten thirty that I would close the bar in another fifteen minutes if you did not want any more drinks, again which you did not. If there had been any other guests there, or if you had wanted more drinks I would not have closed the bar. In any case I was then in reception until well past eleven o'clock had you needed anything.

We had to ask you three times to keep the noise down. Obviously we want our guests to enjoy themselves, but we want all our guests to enjoy themselves, and if a group is rowdy and likely to disturb other guests we will ask them (politely) to keep the noise down. The hotel is small, and the lounge in which you were sitting is directly underneath a bedroom in which other guest were trying to sleep.

This is only the second time in five years of running Achray House I have had to ask anyone to keep the noise down, and it is the first time I have had to ask more than once, which I think says more about you than me.

Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Easy to find with plenty of parking in front of the hotel. Helpful friendly staff with good local knowledge. A pleasant drink in the residents' lounge with log fire before dinner followed by a first rate four course meal. We stayed for two nights and will come back. Comfortable room. You don't need to look elsewhere. And don't wait until your birthday.
Spectacular scenery all visible in a short walk round the village.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view over the loch.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thanks for your generous review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your birthday.

Hopefully we will see you back before your next birthday.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just back from a two night stay at Achray House hotel. Very comfortable, owners friendly and helpful.. and the food! Amazing doesn't cover it. Recommend the taster menu - it was fabulous - ate foods I wouldn't normally order and all cooked to perfection. All with a wonderful view of the loch from the restaurant.. We'll be back!

Room Tip: If you would like a bit of extra space go for the suite very comfortable with a wonderful view of th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thanks for your kind review, and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this little gem of a place on Sunday 23rd March.
Externally it is a work in progress, internally it is nicely modern but traditional.
The room was sizeable and well appointed.
The 6 course tasting menu was stunning. We have eaten in some great places and this was up there with them all, fantastic!! Service was attentive and efficient.
You must visit soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank colinbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thanks for your generous comments, particularly on the food.

As you say, the outside is a work in progress. We remodelled the car park and put in a path to the hotel entrance in January, but still need to do some turfing and planing in the garden, which we plan to do as soon as the weather permits (hopefully soon).

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Jane and Alan are very friendly down to earth people who provide a very homely feel to the hotel and cannot do enough to help you enjoy your stay.
Log fire burning and a beautiful sitting room to enjoy one (or two) drams from their vast array of whiskies on offer from the whisky menu and both Jane and Alan are very willing to share their wealth of knowledge with you.
The food, what can I say? Was out of this world and we tried everything on offer with clean plates every time. The seven course sampler menu was great because it introduced us to new foods and flavours we might never have tried. Breakfast was just as good from a healthy bowl of fruit to a full Scottish platter with homemade bread and lots more besides all cooked to perfection.
The room was very comfy with a very large bed and a seating area, not forgetting the large shower and bath, bliss after a day’s walking or shopping (harder than a day’s work according to my husband).
We loved our stay in every way and would recommend the Achray House Hotel
Looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for your generous review.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your three day stay, and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014


Achray is a lovely place to base for visiting Scotland both food and service were first class. I have stayed in 4&5 star hotels that struggle to match the food and beverage quality on offer here. I will look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thanks for your kind review. We used to have an AA rosette, but we dropped the scheme as it was very expensive, and we now prefer to let our food stand on its own merits rather than go for awards.

Hoping to see you again.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Booked an overnight stay 15 March that included 6 course taster menu and a full Scottish breakfast. Loved our stay from start to finish. Alan welcomed us at reception and took us to room 8. We had a lovely spacious room that overlooked the loch, loved the colour scheme and furnishings . The room had everything you'd need and could tell it was well maintained. The food was gorgeous and opened my eyes to trying things I would never normally consider. In normal circumstances perhaps i'd turn my nose up at Wood Pigeon and Venison but they were both absolutely delicious. Jane had everything running like clockwork in the restaurant/bar lounge area and left the right amount of time in between courses. I couldn't fault a thing and the food alone would bring me back in an instant. The breakfast the next morning was cooked fresh to order and you helped yourself to cereals and fruit juices. It was a very relaxed place to stay with the most beautiful scenery on its doorstep. Jane and Alan are excellent hosts.

Room Tip: Rm 8 is a twin room overlooking Loch Earn. Beautiful view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thanks for your generous review. You have summarised exactly what we are trying to do at Achray House, so I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Hopefully we will see you again later in the year.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
923 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
10.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
802 reviews
11.1 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Achray House Hotel and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Achray House Hotel and Lodges

Address: Loch Earn, St Fillans PH6 2NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St Fillans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Price Range: £87 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Achray House Hotel and Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want action packed activity, or just to relax and unwind, the Achray House Hotel and Lodges are ideal for a break away from the stresses and strains of modern life. With a choice between comfortable bedrooms in the hotel, or well appointed self catering lodges, you can choose accommodation to suit your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Achray House Hotel and Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Achray House Hotel St. Fillans
Achray Hotel St Fillans
The Achray House Hotel And Lodges St Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing