We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Rural Retreat(St Fillans)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveller rating
554
135
20
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
135
20
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse taster menuloch earnvenisonlog fireloch viewsmall hotelwell stocked bardining roomlovely hotelbeautiful locationfantastic foodfirst classwine listwarm welcomerelaxing breakitison dealtwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 721 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Had a lovely time and the food was lovely.

We arrived before 3.00pm and asked if we could be allowed into the room a little early. We were told that the room wasn't ready. However, there was only one other couple in the hotel that day so really, there what was the inconvenience of letting us into the room an hour earlier if the whole hotel was empty?.

Although we had a drink after dinner by the fire, I did feel that we were keeping the owners up although they were nice and certainly didn't do anything to make us leave.

Not much in the way of smiles but a lovely clean hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the food.

Obviously we would have given you access to the room if it was ready, but it was not. The number of guests in the hotel on the night you stayed is irrelevant: the hotel was full the night before and we were still in the process of cleaning the rooms from previous guests when you arrived, not a little early, but over two hours before our check in time. Despite and email asking you to let us know if you planned to arrive early, you did not let us know in advance that you would do so (in which case we could have cleaned your room first). #

Our check out time is 11:00 (which is not always adhered to). That gives us four hours to clean eight rooms. If we were to increase our staffing to enable earlier check ins for anyone who turned up early without advance notice, we would also need to increase the prices for all guests to cover the costs, and we don't want to do this.

I'm nor sure why you thought you were keeping us up. One of us is in the bar every night until at least 23:00 unless everybody has left the bar and lounges before then, in which case we lock up.

I agree with your comments on not much smiles: you never smiled once in your stay.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We came here in a party of six as part of a deal for an overnight stay and the Taster menu. The room was fabulous and the Taster menu was in the main very good. The hotel is spotless and the views over Loch Earn and the mountains are beautiful. However, we felt as if we were an imposition on the owners. We were there as part of a 'deal' and prepared to spend more as a result, but we were rushed into the restaurant at half seven ('I won't offer you pre-dinner drinks so we can get you to your table'), although we said we'd have more wine we never got the chance to order any. Our coffee was served very quickly and we had to suggest that we might have liqueurs, the bar shut at half ten, and at quarter to eleven the owner said he was going to bed, put all the lights off in the surrounding rooms and told us to 'keep the noise down' as there were bedroom upstairs. The 'noise' was us laughing as we played a board game supplied by the hotel! The owners missed an opportunity not only for us to spend considerably more that we were able to, but also for us to go away feeling that we mattered and thus give a better review.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch side view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EAber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and I'm glad you enjoyed the food, room and location.

I must take issue with the idea you were an imposition on us, and point out a few things.

As small hotel owners my wife and I work hard to make our guests' stays enjoyable in what we hope is a relaxed and informal environment. However, as with all public places, that means that guests also need to respect each other's rights to enjoy their stay. Generally this is accepted by everyone, but very occasionally we need to intervene to ensure that all our guests can enjoy their stay, as we did with you.

Firstly, when we agreed with you a time to dine, we pointed out that this was the time that we aimed to have the first course of the six course menu ready on your table, and that if you wanted a drink beforehand to come to the lounge half an hour or so before. You were happy with this, but in the event, you were half an hour late for the time you had booked the table, so we took you straight to your table.

I am surprised you felt the meal rushed as you spent over two and a half hours at the table, and were still there an hour after the last guests who arrived later than you had left.

As to drinks, I asked you twice over half an hour if you wanted any more drinks, which you did not, and then said at ten thirty that I would close the bar in another fifteen minutes if you did not want any more drinks, again which you did not. If there had been any other guests there, or if you had wanted more drinks I would not have closed the bar. In any case I was then in reception until well past eleven o'clock had you needed anything.

We had to ask you three times to keep the noise down. Obviously we want our guests to enjoy themselves, but we want all our guests to enjoy themselves, and if a group is rowdy and likely to disturb other guests we will ask them (politely) to keep the noise down. The hotel is small, and the lounge in which you were sitting is directly underneath a bedroom in which other guest were trying to sleep.

This is only the second time in five years of running Achray House I have had to ask anyone to keep the noise down, and it is the first time I have had to ask more than once, which I think says more about you than me.

Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Easy to find with plenty of parking in front of the hotel. Helpful friendly staff with good local knowledge. A pleasant drink in the residents' lounge with log fire before dinner followed by a first rate four course meal. We stayed for two nights and will come back. Comfortable room. You don't need to look elsewhere. And don't wait until your birthday.
Spectacular scenery all visible in a short walk round the village.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view over the loch.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thanks for your generous review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your birthday.

Hopefully we will see you back before your next birthday.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just back from a two night stay at Achray House hotel. Very comfortable, owners friendly and helpful.. and the food! Amazing doesn't cover it. Recommend the taster menu - it was fabulous - ate foods I wouldn't normally order and all cooked to perfection. All with a wonderful view of the loch from the restaurant.. We'll be back!

Room Tip: If you would like a bit of extra space go for the suite very comfortable with a wonderful view of the loch.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thanks for your kind review, and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this little gem of a place on Sunday 23rd March.
Externally it is a work in progress, internally it is nicely modern but traditional.
The room was sizeable and well appointed.
The 6 course tasting menu was stunning. We have eaten in some great places and this was up there with them all, fantastic!! Service was attentive and efficient.
You must visit soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank colinbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at Achray House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thanks for your generous comments, particularly on the food.

As you say, the outside is a work in progress. We remodelled the car park and put in a path to the hotel entrance in January, but still need to do some turfing and planing in the garden, which we plan to do as soon as the weather permits (hopefully soon).

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Alan Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews