We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned from a 6 night stay at arch ray house,this is small hotel in a great location.
We had a room overlooking Loch Earn which was lovely, we had dinner every evening the food and service was excellent with a varied menu.
The owners Alan & jane were very welcoming and friendly and work very hard in making your stay enjoyable.

Definitely Recommend

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAYMOND W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for your generous review and recommendation.

Hopefully we will see you again next year.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    108
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
409
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed in St Fillans at the end of July as part of a trip to Scotland to see the Commonwealth Games. Overall very impressed - friendly staff who were never too busy to have a chat and give us advice on the local attractions / surroundings and lovely big rooms complete with wifi (although a bit hit and miss depending on where you were trying to access it), TVs, en suites etc. The hotel is situated in an absolutely stunning area - beautiful scenery and plenty of space for walks / runs and if the weather is good, hours can be spent exploring the local surroundings. Definitely would recommend bringing a car as we made the mistake of relying on public transport and wasted two whole days waiting for buses / trains / taxis and trying to find a hire car at last minute was just impossible. Buses come very infrequently and as there are no large and fairly priced shops / restaurants in the area the lack of car meant we had to make do with entertaining ourselves in the hotel. We were a bit disappointed with the menu in the restaurant within the hotel - finding things like 'wild boar' and 'venison' burgers instead of the regular chicken / beef made it difficult to find anything that young children would eat and in the end we gave up and went elsewhere. Overall brilliant hotel and perfect for a peaceful get-away but would recommend planning transport in advance!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor_Morris333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for your review.

Your description of the village as having infrequent buses and no large shops or restaurants is indeed right. We are a rural village at the start of the Scottish Highlands, so obviously in common with other similar places we don't have the facilities found in more populated places: that is much of the charm of the place, and is made clear on our web site. (We also advised you when you called that a car was highly desirable if you are staying for a few days.)

As to the food, again we make clear on our web site the type of food we offer. Your “children” were advanced teenagers, so I can't see why they would not eat off an adult menu. If they were in France, Spain or Italy they would have no choice, as children's menus are a very Anglo Saxon concept. Often what is offered is unhealthy processed food, rather the the home made food from reliably sourced ingredients we offer. Yes, it is a bit beyond the everyday, but a venison burger tastes quite similar to a beefburger, although it is much healthier, and wild boar tastes like rare breed pork, so again not a big step beyond ingredients your children would be familiar with. Chicken, leek and mushroom pie (home-made of course) is not exactly exotic, nor are desserts such as cheesecake or apple parfait offered on our bar menu.

True, we don't offer fish and chips or beefburgers, but what a dull place the world would be if everybody served the same food all the time.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed in the lodges at Achray on a couple of occasions. They really are a home from home with everything you need for a great break. We chose the lodges as we have a dog who we tend to take with us when we visit Scotland and the area is absolutely brilliant for walking. In terms of geography St Fillans is around 60 minutes from Glen Coe, 50 minutes from Stirling, 20 minutes from Crieff and 30 minutes from Callander, so lot's to see and do and getting around is easy. Don't expect lot's of bar's and restaurants, but the Hotel sells great, restaurant quality, food and there are other bars within walking distance. We'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t0nytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks for your kind review, which succinctly describes the area and what it has to offer (and does not offer).

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This little hotel was a real hidden gem; it far exceeded our expectations with its quirky and unconventional room shape and exquisite location. The furniture was amazing- it felt very homely.

Jane and Alan were always on hand and helped us to store our bikes and get around locally; ensuring we were aware of some of the less travelled and beautiful walks nearby.

The hotel is right over the road from the loch which means that it offered wonderful views from our window, the verandah and the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was excellent offering a more interesting menu than I have seen in many other hotels with excellent choice for us as vegetarians also.

I am certain that we will return, and can highly recommend a stay here as a little therapy for the soul, particularly if you need to escape the town / city life for a while.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.

I was especially pleased that you enjoyed our vegetarian food. I'm not a vegetarian, although I often revert to vegetarian food when travelling, and it is disheartening to see the same old dishes trotted out all the time, so we try to bring a bit of originality to our (short) vegetarian menu.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

After having been caught in traffic problem and delayed considerably on the way up - it was a welcome relief to see the room - it was very well done. I had asked for ground floor room because of mobility issues - and that was fine - but there were about 6 or 8 steps up into the hotel - which i can manage but suspect the property wouldnt work that well for wheelchair users.
I didnt bother with evening meal but breakfast next day was probably the best ive had since ive been touring around - just devine (despite forgetting to bring my coffee)
the toiletries in the bathroom were very special - i couldnt read the labels so not sure if they were sourced locally - but very nice
this is an old property that has had the rooms done up very nicely and would certainly tyr and find an excuse to return.. probably the only property I stayed at in Scotland that I would bother returning to

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks for your generous review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

You mention difficulties of access for wheelchair users, but in fact the hotel is wheelchair accessible from the lane at the side, which gives access to three room, the restaurant, bar and lounges with any steps, and we regularly welcome guests in wheelchairs, as we did the day you checked out.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pau
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We appreciated the food, especially the breakfast, and the comfortable accommodation. The walking and view from the hotel were great. The room was comfortable and clean and the welcome was warm and friendly

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annPau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the walking, and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

just returned home from a 2 night stay at the achray house and the whole experience has been fantastic! we dined in on both evenings,trying both the bar menu and the four course set menu and both were great. interesting dishes including wild boar and venison were all fantastic. The irn bru chilli jam beneath the haggis hon bons was something else. Delicious food all round. The sparkling wine and champagne on offer is great too. The hotel itself is in a lovely area and the room ( we had the mackintosh room..room 2) was very clean and overall a nice room. Some tlc is needed in the bathroom, the shower particularily, but is still of an good standard and there was some maintenance going on at the hotel during our stay, so i am sure this will be next on the list. The owners Jane and Alan are very attentive and genuinely nice people, always looking to help out in any way they can. This is a special hotel and youd struggle to find better. I would certainly return, hoping the shower had been renewed. Being 6.4 it was a bit restictive but overall we enjoyed everything. Thanks

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jamie3893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlantheTrekker, Owner at The Achray House Hotel and Lodges, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks for your kind review.

I'm glad you enjoyed the Irn Bru Chilli jam. I have always believed that good food does nor need to be over serious, and our haggis bonbons are a light hearted take on two Scottish favourites (or really three, including the pickled neep spaghetti).

Regards
Alan Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
10.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
17.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Achray House Hotel and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Achray House Hotel and Lodges

Property: The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Address: Loch Earn, St Fillans PH6 2NF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St Fillans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Achray House Hotel and Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want action packed activity, or just to relax and unwind, the Achray House Hotel and Lodges are ideal for a break away from the stresses and strains of modern life. With a choice between comfortable bedrooms in the hotel, or well appointed self catering lodges, you can choose accommodation to suit your mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Achray House Hotel and Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Achray House Hotel St. Fillans
Achray Hotel St Fillans
The Achray House Hotel And Lodges St Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing