We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very, very impressive”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here for 3 x nights recently. We stayed in one of the chalets and it was absolutely superb. We are very familiar with Scotland and we were very impressed with the location and view. The staff were excellent, helpful and friendly.

We ate in the Restaurant every evening (despite being determined to try the Tarken Room) because it was so good.
The Restaurant serves excellent food - both at breakfast and evening meal and we took the Dinner, B & B package. It was worth every penny. It is so nice to be able to walk your dogs around the glorious countryside during the day and yet still enjoy fine dining in the evening. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and we will definitely return.

A big thank you to all for making it a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Choose a chalet if you have dogs - its just that little bit more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy2925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
……… “Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and we will definitely return”………Thank you very much for writing this kind review. Particularly appreciate the staff feedback and that you found us to be such good value. Look forward to welcoming you back soon, have you considered a Gourmet Wine Tasting Weekend?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    222
    61
    35
    32
See reviews for
137
584
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We realy needed a break away.the four seasons was the best place to pick.wonderfull room and the best food ever. The staff were the most attentive with out being to much. The views are breathtaking. We plan another trip in the Autumn. great place to chill out.

Room Tip: if you have a living social deal upgrade your room it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bracken08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
………” The views are breathtaking. We plan another trip in the Autumn. great place to chill out”……… Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming back to enjoy our great views, and let’s hope you time it for our superlative Autumnal colors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Arrived at the hotel after a long trike ride in mixed weather and the sun was out ! The hotel sits in a very beautiful location over looking Loch Earn.We received a very warm welcome and were given the key to our 'chalet' , perched up on the hill behind the main hotel. As the sun was out for a short time we sat outside on our own little patio and enjoyed a glass of wine. I can highly recommend this hotel and the food is excellent. The only thing that stops me giving it a 5 rating is the fact that our tea/coffee cups were dirty as were the windows.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquamaria59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
………” I can highly recommend this hotel and the food is excellent”………Thank you for your constructive review, and my apologies for dirty cups. I hope your trip home was a dryer one than coming here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

We had booked this break to rest and relax wit our 2 dogs, but my partner had been hospitalised just before and we had to contact to say we would be a day later - reception staff could not have been more helpful. On arrival, we were stunned by the location on the loch. We know Perthshire quite well, but St Fillans was new to us - yes, there's not much to do - except relax, and enjoy the magnificent surroundings and lovely walks- just what we wanted. Personally, reading some of the more negative reviews, I think the team here do a wonderful job in being charmingly quirky, unobtrusive with attentive service and we loved all the nice extra touches - we do not want a mass consumrised chain feeling - its nice to feel as though you are a welcome guest, rather than a faceless number. Loved the anticipation of "what will be on tthis evenings menu" and all meals had thoughtful planning and execution by an inventive and skilled chef. Chalet no 5 suited us, for privacy, views and tranquility - never slept so well !! Just the thought of the drambuie and creamed porridge dragged me down to the main hotel in the mornings! A final word on the staff - it's always apparent that there is good leadership when staff come across as genuinely happy in their work and this was the case here - one really felt that the team were comfortable in their roles ad were delighted to serve - a huge tank you for a delightful re cuperative stay - have recommended to anyone ( but only folk we know that will appreciate the finer nuances of this piece of heaven. Loved it so much, have booked for an Autumn break and again over Hogmany.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
………” suited us, for privacy, views and tranquility - never slept so well !!” ………Thank you so much for taking the time to write an extensive Review. I am delighted that you appreciated the charm and quirks within the hotel. We do like to be individual, and are all delighted when guests understand and appreciate this. Thank you also for recommending us to “certain folk only”. Look forward to welcoming you both back later in the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We returned home , with our 2 dogs, after a 3 night stay in 1 of the chalets. Superb setting, even in the mist hovering over the loch! Staff are wonderful, the food in the restaurant is "out of this world" and the ambience is great. This was our 2nd stay and we shall certainly be going again and recommending the hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: The chalets are warm and cosy and the dogs loved being on holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
……… “the food in the restaurant is "out of this world" and the ambience is great” ………Thank you for your kind review, and also for taking the time to recommend us to friends and family. We look forward to welcoming you all back or to the Four Seasons soon. We have great Autumn Breaks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Looking over Loch Earn with a backdrop of hills, the hotel couldn't be better placed. We opted for the Vivaldi Apartment to give us a bit more space with our two dogs and weren't disappointed. Great view of the loch and comfortable rooms. The breakfast in the fine restaurant was enormous!

Room Tip: The apartment was set to the side of the hotel with a separate entrance and up a flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
………” Great view of the loch and comfortable rooms”………Thank you for writing this review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay, especially the traditional Scottish Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband and I and our cocker spaniel have just returned today after a three day stay at Four Seasons. We had such a good time I felt I wanted to write a review as soon as we got back. I agree with all the other reviews eg friendly service, stunning view, excellent food etc, As we had our dog with us we had thought perhaps we should have booked a chalet but we were in one of the Superior Double Rooms and this was no problem at all. We were made very welcome as dog owners and we made the decision to keep our dog with us rather than leaving him in the room on his own so as not running the chance of disturbing other guests. We were able to have our breakfast set up in the little bar and in the evening sat in the bistro at the sofas away from the dining tables which was more than acceptable to us without feeling we had been stuck away in a dingy corner as we have been in other hotels. We will certainly return again and will recommend this hotel in a quarterly magazine we receive "Out and About" for dog owners and have never done this before which in itself confirms how we felt after our holiday. Thanks to everyone especially to the very pleasant young man in the Bistro who was very helpful and made time to chat to us each evening not forgetting the other staff both in the morning at breakfast and in the evening at dinner. Well done to all in running this unique hotel which yes as mentioned before in some of the more discerning reviews is not a 5 star luxury hotel as some want but its worth 5 stars for being a cosy friendly Scottish Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
………” Well done to all in running this unique hotel”………Thank you very much for taking the time to write an in depth review, and also recommending us in ‘Out and About’. I am glad to see that you so appreciated what we try to achieve in our own individual way, as we never set out to be higher star rating than we actually are. Hope to see you soon again. How about one of our Festive Breaks ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
7.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
172 reviews
21.5 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Four Seasons Hotel

Property: The Four Seasons Hotel
Address: | Lochside, St Fillans PH62NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St Fillans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Earn, offering complimentary WI-FI and free parking, this hotel is surrounded by breath-taking scenery of the Scottish Highlands.The Four Seasons was built in the early 1800s and was converted into a hotel in the 1900s.The hotel is cosy, comfortable and well-presented with unique furnishings, with warm colours and light creating a fun and relaxed atmosphere for guests. Views across the Loch are ever-changing throughout the seasons: fresh new colours of spring, long, light summer's evenings, spectacular sunsets to the west, morning mists shrouding the loch and the snow covered Bens, making this one of the most beautiful locations in Scotland to visit. The 12 bedrooms are all en-suite and individually styled and spacious, with hairdryer, colour TV, direct dial telephone, radio/CD player and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms over-looking the Loch boast picturesque views whatever the weather. There are 6 chalets situated within a secluded hillside behind the hotel with double/twin beds and a bunk room for two, all have the same amenities as the rooms within the hotel. For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury.For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury. The Four Seasons has a choice of two restaurants, the stylish Meall Reamhar offers fine dining (evenings only) serving a contemporary Scottish cuisine, consisting of fresh fish, Scottish beef and lamb, and locally grown vegetables. The Tarken Bistro offers the same standard of cuisine in a more informal setting, providing light lunches, blackboard specials and suppers. A range of fine wines, champagne and whisky are available; enjoy a cool glass of Chablis on a summer's evening or malt by the warmth of the log fire in autumn! The hotel is the perfect location for that special occasion whether it is a traditional dinner party, birthday or wedding. Facilities for business meetings and conferences are available for up to 70 delegates. The location of the hotel makes it the perfect place to explore and admire the natural beauty of the Scottish highlands. Enjoy great dog walks in some of Scotland's finest scenery. The resident friendly canines welcome fellow pets free of charge. The beautiful village of St. Fillans has a 9-hole golf course and offers water sports, hill walking and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your The Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons St Fillans
Four Seasons Hotel
St. Fillans Four Seasons
The Four Seasons Hotel St Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing