We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were here on a Living social deal, an excellent deal we paid for an upgrade and had a lovely room with a view over the loch. saw the sunrise and sunsets magic.
The room was very comfortable, cosy and clean.
Well equipped bathroom heated towel rail and thick towels, toiletries provided.
Offered tea on arrival which was nice, choice of comfortable lounges.
The dinner which was included on the first night was first class. Well presented and delicious
Second night we ate in the Tarken Restaurant another bar area and dining room overlooking the Loch the bar area nice and warm.
Breakfast help yourself to cereals etc. then table service the porridge delicious served with cream, brown sugar, and Drambuie! a first for me but yummy. The breakfasts were freshly cooked to order.
Staff excellent friendly and worked well together.
will we be back I hope so.

Room Tip: Worth the extra to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLAYHOUSE068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
………” a lovely room with a view over the loch, saw the sunrise and sunsets magic”………Many thanks for taking the time to write a wonderfully positive review touching on so many of the great points in the Hotel. Also hope you will be back, another deal will be on offer soon I am sure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    223
    61
    36
    32
See reviews for
142
589
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Having visited this gem of a hotel in may we decided to come back with our parents.
We stayed once again in the hotel with the most wonderful view of the loch from our window. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean and the attention to detail, excellent. Our parents had a chalet each and once again everything was perfect, my mum said her 2 little dogs had never settled so well away from home.
We ate both nights in the hotel and the food was of an excellent quality both in the restaurant and the bar. Gemma our waitress had only started but was so friendly and polite ,nothing was a problem for her.
The breakfast menu is extensive with enough choice to cover everyone's tastes .
We will be back and would advise anyone to visit this hotel and relax with a drink, a meal and take in the view of loch Earn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
……….” We ate both nights in the hotel and the food was of an excellent quality both in the restaurant and the bar. Gemma our waitress had only started but was so friendly and polite, nothing was a problem for her”………So good we came back is indeed a great compliment to the Hotel and Team. Many thanks for such a great review, as especially highlight one individual member of staff. We look forward to seeing you soon again…how about a wine tasting or great three for two offers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked one night in a chalet, arrived and immediately liked it so much we ran down to reception to book for a second night. The chalet was wonderful and I highly recommend a stay in any one of the chalets, all in wooded surrounds. They are clean, cosy and ours (no1) had the most lovely view down Loch Earn, in fact I think they may all have good views. Our breakfast was included, taken in the main hotel, it was lovely.
If your a music fan from the 60's your in for a great surprise and a treat if you should stay in chalet 1!
Anyway we found two nights was not long enough and ran to reception again, the chalets were all booked, but no matter the owner found room in the hotel, another fantastic view of Loch Earn and a four poster bed, generously for the same price as the chalet, to which I thank Andrew Low very much.
The hotel is decorated with many photos and items brought back from the owners travels, I found them fascinating. A good selection of DVDs is available (no charge), to take to your room to watch, just ask for the list.
We look forward to another stay at this lovely hotel, a refreshingly good place to be.

Room Tip: Probably all good, though a few do not have Loch views, worth asking. The chalets are wonderful, I l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancastrianUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
………. “A wonderful hotel, a place to remember and come back to”………delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so. Great benefits of the chalets are the views and that little bit of seclusion that you don’t get in the hotel. Of note Beatles Chalets are No 1 and 6. Next time book a three for two ahead, this includes Dinner in either Restaurant as well, such a remarkable bargain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for three nights in a chalet which was perfect for the dogs - open the door and they were in the woods at the back. The chalet was very comfortable with a lovely shower. Quite a steep walk down to the hotel but no matter, the food there was excellent. So much so that after dining the first night in the restaurant we went nowhere else. The staff were very competent and friendly (we wish Irene all the best with her marathon in Spain!). The Chef must be congratulated as the food was 5 star. The menu was excellent and the flavours in each dish really complemented one another with nothing overpowering. We each took a different choice at each meal and all of them were superb. We particularly liked the way they used local produce where possible. This is a winning combination of fine chef, excellent staff, owner with a great sense of humour (see the wine list!) and a first class location - we certainly hope to return. Congratulations.

Room Tip: Chalets number 5 and 6 are the ones nearest the wood so may be better for those with dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
………” This is a winning combination of fine chef, excellent staff, owner with a great sense of humor (see the wine list!) and a first class location - we certainly hope to return. Congratulations. Thank you very much for your faabulous review, and the heart felt Congratulations. We also hope that you return, don’t forget our great value three for two deals that can only be booked direct with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for three nights in chalet 6 with our Labrador . Very comfortable and newly refurbished bathroom . Nice and private away from the hotel with a stunning view but easy to walk down into the hotel for a delicious breakfast and a drink and lovely evening meal. The food was imaginative and tasty. Couldn't fault any of it. The waitresses were really friendly and always helpful. I knew the area from childhood but we often heard reception giving other guests useful information on places to visit etc. We found the sheet of local walks handy for dog walking.
We shall certainly visit again in the future. It is a truly beautiful location and a great hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: The higher up chalets have an even better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartanlass17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
………” Nice and private away from the hotel with a stunning view but easy to walk down into the hotel for a delicious breakfast and a drink and lovely evening meal. The food was imaginative and tasty”……..Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review and we are all delighted to hear that no fault could be found. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I have just ended a 3 night break at this hotel with my sister and brother-in-law. We had a double and twin room overlooking the stunning loch. Both rooms were spacious with generous sized built in wardrobes and plenty of drawer space, something quite lacking in some hotels these days.

We had booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and once we had savoured the first night's gourmet dining experience we were so pleased to have done so. The Four Season's restaurant has a fine French chef serving up the most delicious cuisine. All four of us enjoyed every meal served up to us and were in agreement that this hotel's jewel in its crown is certainly it's fine dining. The waiting staff in the restaurant also deserve a mention.......very pleasant indeed and so willing to go that extra mile to make our stay enjoyable.

If we had to point out one downside to the hotel it would be its bar. On our first day my husband ordered two pints of lager and the beer was flat. No matter how the young barman tried he could not pull a decent pint. The beer was expensive (hubby said it was the most expensive he'd ever paid for in Scotland) and should have been up to standard. This was pointed out to the owner when we were vacating at the end of our stay and he said he would certainly take this complaint on board.

We will certainly return to this hotel and hope our next visit is every bit as pleasurable.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 especially good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
………” once we had savoured the first night's gourmet dining experience we were so pleased to have done so. The Four Season's restaurant has a fine French chef serving up the most delicious cuisine”……..Thank you very much for your great review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Award Winning Fine Dining Restaurant so much. I hope our beer problem has been resolved. Great alternative is a range of Scottish Beer from Inveralmond Brewery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at The Four Seasons hotel recently, breaking our journey from Newcastle to a weeks holiday in the West of Scotland. It was my partner's birthday and we both enjoyed a lovely meal, good wine and a comfortable ambiance. The waitress was excellent, just the right amount of friendly chat and the complimentary birthday biscuits were delicious and much appreciated! We chose this hotel as it was dog friendly and our labrador Ozzy was also very impressed. It was our first experience of staying in a hotel with our dog and on this evidence we would certainly do so again. Many thanks from Sheila, Geoff and Ozzy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
………” The waitress was excellent, just the right amount of friendly chat and the complimentary birthday biscuits were delicious and much appreciated!”……..Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed a lovely meal, good wine and the ambience. Also my thanks for the encouraging word about the great Team we have at the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Why book direct and take advantage of our great 342 offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
7.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
407 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
407 reviews
21.5 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,228 reviews
19.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Four Seasons Hotel

Property: The Four Seasons Hotel
Address: | Lochside, St Fillans PH62NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St Fillans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Earn, offering complimentary WI-FI and free parking, this hotel is surrounded by breath-taking scenery of the Scottish Highlands.The Four Seasons was built in the early 1800s and was converted into a hotel in the 1900s.The hotel is cosy, comfortable and well-presented with unique furnishings, with warm colours and light creating a fun and relaxed atmosphere for guests. Views across the Loch are ever-changing throughout the seasons: fresh new colours of spring, long, light summer's evenings, spectacular sunsets to the west, morning mists shrouding the loch and the snow covered Bens, making this one of the most beautiful locations in Scotland to visit. The 12 bedrooms are all en-suite and individually styled and spacious, with hairdryer, colour TV, direct dial telephone, radio/CD player and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms over-looking the Loch boast picturesque views whatever the weather. There are 6 chalets situated within a secluded hillside behind the hotel with double/twin beds and a bunk room for two, all have the same amenities as the rooms within the hotel. For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury.For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury. The Four Seasons has a choice of two restaurants, the stylish Meall Reamhar offers fine dining (evenings only) serving a contemporary Scottish cuisine, consisting of fresh fish, Scottish beef and lamb, and locally grown vegetables. The Tarken Bistro offers the same standard of cuisine in a more informal setting, providing light lunches, blackboard specials and suppers. A range of fine wines, champagne and whisky are available; enjoy a cool glass of Chablis on a summer's evening or malt by the warmth of the log fire in autumn! The hotel is the perfect location for that special occasion whether it is a traditional dinner party, birthday or wedding. Facilities for business meetings and conferences are available for up to 70 delegates. The location of the hotel makes it the perfect place to explore and admire the natural beauty of the Scottish highlands. Enjoy great dog walks in some of Scotland's finest scenery. The resident friendly canines welcome fellow pets free of charge. The beautiful village of St. Fillans has a 9-hole golf course and offers water sports, hill walking and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons St Fillans
Four Seasons Hotel
St. Fillans Four Seasons
The Four Seasons Hotel St Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing